Suspend doesn't work

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Suspend doesn't work

Postby kingnick42 on Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:36 am

Linux Mint 13 Mate 64 bit. I have a swap file, larger than my ram. I've used ubuntu, fedora, opensuse, centos, pinguy os, and pc linux os, and suspend has worked fine in all of those. But, it doesn't work in Mint. It won't wake up from suspend, instead showing a black screen with a underscore in the top left corner.

Any ideas as to how to fix this would be appreciated.
kingnick42
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:05 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Suspend doesn't work

Postby xenopeek on Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:59 am

That is a problem specific to your hardware. If you want support on that (and assuming this is a laptop), please share your laptop brand and model.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15053
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Suspend doesn't work

Postby kingnick42 on Wed Dec 19, 2012 2:50 am

Ok, thanks for moving it then :)

http://www.asusnotebooks.com.au/noteboo ... ished.html This is my computer. Note - mine isn't refurbished, that was just the only site I could find with the exact model.
kingnick42
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:05 pm

Re: Suspend doesn't work

Postby xenopeek on Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:29 am

Your laptop has two graphics cards (Intel and Nvidia), possibly not having the right drivers loaded may be an issue. I couldn't find anything else on http://www.linlap.com/asus_k53sd. Could you open a terminal and share the output of the following command? You can copy text to/from the terminal, see its Edit menu.
Code: Select all
inxi -Fxz
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15053
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Suspend doesn't work

Postby kingnick42 on Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:45 am

Code: Select all
System:    Host: Nick-PC Kernel: 3.2.0-23-generic x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.6.3) Desktop: N/A Distro: Linux Mint 13 Maya
Machine:   System: ASUSTeK (portable) product: K53SD version: 1.0
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: K53SD version: 1.0 Bios: American Megatrends version: K53SD.202 date: 11/02/2011
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5-2450M CPU (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 9978.24
           Clock Speeds: 1: 2501.00 MHz 2: 800.00 MHz 3: 800.00 MHz 4: 800.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Card-2: NVIDIA Device 1058 bus-ID: 01:00.0
           X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: vesa,fbdev) Resolution: 1366x768@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Sandybridge Mobile GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 8.0.4 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card: Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: 1.0.24
Network:   Card-1: Atheros AR8151 v2.0 Gigabit Ethernet driver: atl1c ver: 1.0.1.0-NAPI port: 9000 bus-ID: 05:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Intel Centrino Wireless-N 100 driver: iwlwifi ver: in-tree: bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 750.2GB (5.4% used) 1: /dev/sda TOSHIBA_MK7559GS 750.2GB
Partition: ID: / size: 43G used: 5.9G (15%) fs: ext4 ID: /home size: 187G used: 32G (19%) fs: ext4
           ID: swap-1 size: 8.60GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 48.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 186 Uptime: 7 min Memory: 1001.9/3731.9MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.6.3 Client: Shell inxi: 1.7.33
kingnick42
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:05 pm

Re: Suspend doesn't work

Postby Xsabre on Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:33 pm

I am experiencing the exact something but I am on a desktop. I am also having issues shutdown. See specifics below.

Code: Select all
System:    Kernel: 3.6.9-030609-generic x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.6.3)
           Desktop: Xfce 4.10.0 (Gtk 2.24.13) Distro: Linux Mint 14 Nadia
Machine:   Mobo: ASRock model: Z77 Extreme4 Bios: American Megatrends version: P2.50 date: 10/31/2012
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i5-3570K CPU (-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 27198.6
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1600.00 MHz 2: 1600.00 MHz 3: 1600.00 MHz 4: 1600.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           X.Org: 1.13.0 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1680x1050@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Desktop GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 9.0 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card: Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: 1.0.25
Network:   Card: Broadcom NetLink BCM57781 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe driver: tg3 ver: 3.124 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 788.2GB (14.3% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: ST3160811AS size: 160.0GB
           2: id: /dev/sdb model: M4 size: 128.0GB 3: id: /dev/sdc model: ST3500630AS size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID: / size: 23G used: 4.3G (20%) fs: ext4 ID: /home size: 95G used: 606M (1%) fs: ext4
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 32.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 185 Uptime: 1:48 Memory: 949.8/7681.7MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.7.2 Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4
Xsabre
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:07 pm

Re: Suspend doesn't work

Postby kingnick42 on Tue Dec 25, 2012 1:28 am

Ok, been a few days, so I'm bumping. This problem is really annoying me.
kingnick42
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:05 pm

Re: Suspend doesn't work

Postby Xsabre on Wed Jan 30, 2013 4:07 pm

Bump, still no solution. I am also having issues with shutting down. The system completes the shutdown process but power is not switched off.
Xsabre
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:07 pm

Re: Suspend doesn't work

Postby J3niik on Sat Feb 23, 2013 12:04 pm

Hello,

i do have the same problem, except im having this problem on an old netbook and with 32bit distro of Linux Mint 14. Swap is around 1GB, should i increase?

Code: Select all
System:    Host: misa-NTB Kernel: 3.5.0-17-generic i686 (32 bit, gcc: 4.7.2)
           Desktop: Xfce 4.10.0 (Gtk 2.24.13) Distro: Linux Mint 14 Nadia
Machine:   Mobo: SAMSUNG model: N145P/N250P/N260P Bios: Phoenix version: 01GC.M002.20100818.RHU date: 08/18/2010
CPU:       Single core Intel Atom CPU N450 (-HT-) cache: 512 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3) bmips: 3324.93
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1667.00 MHz 2: 1000.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Atom Processor D4xx/D5xx/N4xx/N5xx Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           X.Org: 1.13.0 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1024x600@60.2hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel IGD x86/MMX/SSE2 GLX Version: 1.4 Mesa 9.0 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: 1.0.25
Network:   Card-1: Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) driver: ath9k bus-ID: 05:00.0
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Marvell 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller driver: sky2 ver: 1.30 port: 2000 bus-ID: 09:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 160.0GB (2.6% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: Hitachi_HTS54501 size: 160.0GB
Partition: ID: / size: 146G used: 4.0G (3%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 1.06GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 49.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 131 Uptime: 8 min Memory: 129.0/992.8MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.7.2 Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4


thank you for any suggestions
J3niik
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: Suspend doesn't work

Postby kingnick42 on Wed May 01, 2013 8:07 pm

No, 1gb of swap should be fine.
kingnick42
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:05 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests