Auto Mount Windows Disks [RESOLVED]

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Auto Mount Windows Disks [RESOLVED]

Postby bitbanger on Wed Dec 26, 2012 1:44 am

I have a dual boot system with Mint-13 and Windows XP. I would like to have the two windows disks mounted when Mint-13 boots. There is probably something I could put in the fstable or some similar file.

Any help would be appreciated.

- bitbanger
Last edited by bitbanger on Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bitbanger
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 2:46 pm
Location: California, U.S.A.

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Auto Mount Windows Disks

Postby lahirdenganselamat on Wed Dec 26, 2012 6:04 am

the filename is fstab. There's a lot of articles describing how to edit /etc/fstab so, i think you should give google/ddg a go :D

good luck bitbanger :)
ASUS 1215B AMD E-350 with Linux Mint 15 KDE, Precise Puppy, and Saluki
User avatar
lahirdenganselamat
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:30 pm
Location: Yogyakarta

Re: Auto Mount Windows Disks

Postby altair4 on Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:23 am

Templates!

Here is an NTFS template:
Code: Select all
UUID=DA9056C19056A3B3 /media/WinD ntfs defaults,nls=utf8,umask=000,uid=1000,windows_names 0 0


To use it:

[1] If you currently have the partition mounted unmount it.

[2] Run the following command to get the correct UUID number for your partitions:
Code: Select all
sudo blkid -c /dev/null

[3] Create a permanent home for the partition to live in ( Mount Point ). In this example I used /media/WinD:
Code: Select all
sudo mkdir /media/WinD

[4] Edit fstab as root:
Code: Select all
gksu gedit /etc/fstab

[5] Add the template with the correct UUID and Mount Point.

[6] Run the following command to test for errors and mount the partition without requiring a reboot:
Code: Select all
sudo mount -a
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6219
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Auto Mount Windows Disks

Postby bitbanger on Wed Dec 26, 2012 1:37 pm

Thanks for the replies.

The response from altair4 resolved a problem I was having with the swap file that I didn't know about. Thanks.

Unfortunately, altair4's suggestion didn't work, but I didn't give enough information. The particular situation I have is the Windows XP partitions are "vfat" rather than "ntfs". Even with simple minded modification I still get a failure. Since my directory is "fat32" perhaps linux needs another keyword in the /etc/fstab file. Perhaps the suggested information field that began with "defaults, ... " needs to change because it is not "ntfs".

After a lot of running around I have the following information/questions.

The problem seems to center on the provided mount point directory. When I use the GUI to do the mount, the system won't use these mount points but produces its own. The command "ls -l" identified the directory I produce as root:root where the usable one in owner:owner. A "chown" change doesn't help. The permissions were 766 in my creation but 700 in the usable ones. A"chmod" didn't help. The "ls -l" output also gives the next field after the ownership information as 4096 for my creation and 32768 for the usable directory. I don't know what this means or how to change/create it.
User avatar
bitbanger
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 2:46 pm
Location: California, U.S.A.

Re: Auto Mount Windows Disks

Postby altair4 on Wed Dec 26, 2012 2:23 pm

A fat32 template:
Code: Select all
UUID=C4DB-C1B0 /media/WinD vfat defaults,utf8,umask=000,uid=1000 0 2

Note: The permissions of the mount itself always replaces the permissions of the mount point before the mount. That's true for ntfs, fat32, ext4, etc..
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6219
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Auto Mount Windows Disks [RESOLVED]

Postby bitbanger on Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:09 pm

altair4,

You were right. I forgot that Linux is case sensitive, had hexidecimals in lowercase. Spending too much time in the Windows world. Sorry it took so long to respond, reality keeps interfering with my childhood.

- bitbanger
User avatar
bitbanger
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 2:46 pm
Location: California, U.S.A.


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kroule and 12 guests