Avro keyboard is not working

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Avro keyboard is not working

Postby kousantz on Thu Dec 27, 2012 3:28 pm

HI! I am new to linux world..Currently I am using LM14 Nadia kde 32bit version in my system having intel i3 processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB Hard disk.
I tried to install in this system Avro keyboard by following method specified in http://linux.omicronlab.com/ubuntu_12.10.html
But after hitting ctrl+space Bengali fonts are not coming. Please help :(
Attachments
snapshot2.png
snapshot of libreoffice after hitting ctrl+space...no bengali font printed
snapshot2.png (56.73 KiB) Viewed 456 times
snapshot1.png
this is the screen shot of ibus
snapshot1.png (44.95 KiB) Viewed 456 times
User avatar
kousantz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 3:04 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Avro keyboard is not working

Postby xenopeek on Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:36 pm

I found some reference that you should install the package qt4-ibus. Do that, then open your file manager and press Ctrl+H to show hidden files also. Edit the now displayed .profile file in your home folder with Kate, and at the end append this line:
Code: Select all
export QT_IM_MODULE=ibus

Save and close the file. Then from the menu open Autostart, and add the program IBus to be automatically started (you will find IBus in the System section). Then log out and log in again and Ctrl+Space should work if you have a program open that supports text entry. You should also have a new icon on your panel, which you can right-click to change which keyboard entry method is active.

I managed to type some Bengali, though I couldn't read what I was typing :lol:

Should IBus still not work, another suggestion was to install the package qt4-qtconfig, and then run qtconfig and configure on the Interface tab the Default Input Method to ibus. It may not have been set correctly, though for me it was and I didn't need to do this.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15257
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Avro keyboard is not working

Postby kousantz on Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:19 am

আপনাকে অসংখ্য ধন্যবাদ(many many thanks to you Sir). I did as per your instruction. after installing qt4-qtconfig it works thank you sir. thanks again Mr. Vincent Vermeulen.. :D :)
User avatar
kousantz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 3:04 pm

Re: Avro keyboard is not working

Postby xenopeek on Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:07 am

Then I'm happy to have included that last bit :wink:
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15257
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Avro keyboard is not working

Postby kousantz on Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:21 am

Hi sorry to bother you again but Avro stopped working again. i deleted and rewritten those code provided above but ctrl+space toggling is not working. please help me :(
User avatar
kousantz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 3:04 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JanSepp, Mute Ant, nerdtron, Pyro2577 and 36 guests