cant find compiz.

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

cant find compiz.

Postby misswham on Thu Dec 27, 2012 10:41 pm

i downloaded compiz and i cant find it. Any ideas?
misswham
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:12 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: cant find compiz.

Postby sheepgazer on Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:58 am

Try this in a terminal session.

Menu > Terminal

Locate
Code: Select all
whereis compiz

Output
compiz: /usr/bin/compiz /usr/lib/compiz /usr/bin/X11/compiz /usr/share/compiz /usr/share/man/man1/compiz.1.gz


Launch?
Code: Select all
compiz &
sheepgazer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 11:30 pm

Re: cant find compiz.

Postby viking777 on Fri Dec 28, 2012 7:14 am

If you are looking for some gui to interact with compiz you need to install compizconfig-settings-manager.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: cant find compiz.

Postby homerscousin on Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:07 pm

This might be a little simple, but Compiz is not compatible with every desktop out there. Post some more details on what you have installed.
i5 3570k, ASRock z77 Extreme 4, 8 Gb Ripjaws 1600, Antec 430w psu, HVR 1600 tv tuner, custom case- marble top, oak face. Carver & DCM Time Window sound system. Mint 14 KDE.
homerscousin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Somewhere on planet Earth (mostly)

Re: cant find compiz.

Postby misswham on Sun Dec 30, 2012 12:30 pm

I have a sony vaio all in one with an nvidia GE FORCE GT240 graphics card. I have never been able to use compiz or cairo dock since helena 8. When I try to use compiz or dock, when I restart, I always have gotten a black screen or my desktop goes crazy and I have to reinstall the distro. I liked linux because I could tweak the OS. I have tried in mint 12 (all distros) 13 all distros now 14 and Im getting the same results. I have done this on 3 different pcs and I went and bought this pc last wk thinking that it would be fine and yet the same thing. So I left compiz alone and went 2 cairo dock. Got it working fine and as soon as I restarted the computer, I got the default screen with no panels and all of my files were gone and this was just with cairo dock. I have reinstalled mint14.1 3 times in one day trying to do this.

Should I go back to Ubuntu to be able to use cairo and compiz again? Everything worked fine in helena mint 8 but after that nothing.
misswham
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:12 am

Re: cant find compiz.

Postby abnvolk on Sun Dec 30, 2012 12:55 pm

If you're using Cinnamon, DON'T install Compiz. In MATE and Xfce you can.
And don't go back to Helena, you'll get very outdated softwares.
abnvolk
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 11:05 am

Re: cant find compiz.

Postby misswham on Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:03 pm

Im using mate 14.1 and thats whats happening.
misswham
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:12 am

Re: cant find compiz.

Postby abnvolk on Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:40 pm

I don't know why it doesn't work for you. On Maya MATE I installed Compiz as guided in this tutorial http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/919 and it worked perfectly.
abnvolk
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 11:05 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cattleman, Mute Ant, richyrich and 30 guests