how to connect Mint 14 xfce to existing WORKGROUP [SOLVED]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

how to connect Mint 14 xfce to existing WORKGROUP [SOLVED]

Postby Linux_usr_n_PA on Sun Dec 30, 2012 12:37 pm

My shift from Windows to Linux happened yesterday morning when I installed Mint 14 xfce (32 bit) on one of two hard drives on a six year old Dell (Dimension E510) with a 2.8 GHz Pentium 4 and 1GB of RAM. The other hard drive is running Windows XP Media Center Edition (SP3). This machine is connected wirelessly (workgroup=WORKGROUP) to a Linksys router. The router maintains a wired Ethernet connection to a 2TB Linux file server (WD My Book Live). And I've got three laptops all running Windows 7 and all connected to the same workgroup. The Dell, from Windows XP, and all laptops can see each other and the Linux file server. And the Dell, from Mint 14, is connected to the router and the Internet. But I can't get it to show me the other machines. I don't know whether the Dell (Mint OS) is connected to the other machines - I suspect it is because it's connected to the Internet - or whether I just don't have the Mint desktop configured correctly.

I've spent more than a dozen hours since searching here and elsewhere for how to connect the Mint desktop to WORKGROUP.

When I eventually get to where I want to go will I know it because I can see my Linux file server (the 2TB My Book Live) in File Manager? Currently all I see there is home, Desktop, File System and the 2nd Dell hard drive ("160 GB Volume").

Any help with be greatly appreciated.

Thanks much.
Last edited by Linux_usr_n_PA on Sun Dec 30, 2012 8:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Linux_usr_n_PA
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:46 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: how to connect Mint 14 xfce to existing WORKGROUP

Postby cwsnyder on Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:17 pm

I think you need to read from this thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=202605

Samba is the component you don't have installed to do peer-to-peer on a Windows network.
LMDE Mate 64-bit, LM16 Mate 64-bit
Debian Xfce 64-bit, Xubuntu 13.10 64-bit, Xubuntu Trusty Tahr 64-bit, Antergos Xfce 64-bit, PCLinuxOS LXDE 64-bit
cwsnyder
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Nappanee, IN, USA

Re: how to connect Mint 14 xfce to existing WORKGROUP

Postby altair4 on Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:52 pm

From the Mint14 machine you might want to post the output of the following commands so people here can see how you are set up:
Code: Select all
testparm -s

Code: Select all
smbtree

You also might want to go through the checklist first:

Samba Browsing Checklist: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=88146&start=0
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5521
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: how to connect Mint 14 xfce to existing WORKGROUP

Postby Linux_usr_n_PA on Sun Dec 30, 2012 5:40 pm

Thanks cwsnyder. Will do.

altair4, here it is.

Load smb config files from /etc/samba/smb.conf
rlimit_max: increasing rlimit_max (1024) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
Processing section "[printers]"
Processing section "[print$]"
Loaded services file OK.
Server role: ROLE_STANDALONE
[global]
workgroup = MSHOME
server string = %h server (Samba, LinuxMint)
map to guest = Bad User
obey pam restrictions = Yes
pam password change = Yes
passwd program = /usr/bin/passwd %u
passwd chat = *Enter\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *Retype\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *password\supdated\ssuccessfully* .
unix password sync = Yes
syslog = 0
log file = /var/log/samba/log.%m
max log size = 1000
dns proxy = No
usershare allow guests = Yes
panic action = /usr/share/samba/panic-action %d
idmap config * : backend = tdb

[printers]
comment = All Printers
path = /var/spool/samba
create mask = 0700
printable = Yes
print ok = Yes
browseable = No

[print$]
comment = Printer Drivers
path = /var/lib/samba/printers



WORKGROUP
\\MYBOOKLIVE My Book Live Network Storage
\\MYBOOKLIVE\Public Public Share
\\MYBOOKLIVE\Jim
\\MYBOOKLIVE\Susan
\\MYBOOKLIVE\TimeMachineBackup TimeMachineBackup
\\MYBOOKLIVE\SmartWare SmartWare
\\MYBOOKLIVE\IPC$ IPC Service (My Book Live Network Storage)
\\JIM-LAPTOP
\\SUSAN-LAPTOP
\\RUTH-LAPTOP
MSHOME
\\JIM-DELL-DM051 jim-Dell-DM051 server (Samba, LinuxMint)
\\JIM-DELL-DM051\Deskjet-F4100-series HP Deskjet F4100 series
\\JIM-DELL-DM051\print$ Printer Drivers
\\JIM-DELL-DM051\IPC$ IPC Service (jim-Dell-DM051 server (Samba, LinuxMint))
Linux_usr_n_PA
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:46 pm

Re: how to connect Mint 14 xfce to existing WORKGROUP

Postby Linux_usr_n_PA on Sun Dec 30, 2012 7:21 pm

cwsnyder,

Step 1 stopped me dead in my tracks.

1. Prerequisites [...] Your Linux box should have an static ip-address.

My router (Linksys wrt54g) is not setup to provide static IP addresses.

So the methodology you suggest won't exactly work for me if it means changing the DHCP server setting to disable.

I guess I could take a deeper dive into the world of network setup. But first I'd like to know, is there absolutely no way to connect a PC running Linux Mint to an existing WORKGROUP when the PC's IP address is not static?

Thanks.
Linux_usr_n_PA
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:46 pm

Re: how to connect Mint 14 xfce to existing WORKGROUP

Postby MartyMint on Sun Dec 30, 2012 7:35 pm

Linux_usr_n_PA wrote:cwsnyder,

Step 1 stopped me dead in my tracks.

1. Prerequisites [...] Your Linux box should have an static ip-address.

My router (Linksys wrt54g) is not setup to provide static IP addresses.

So the methodology you suggest won't exactly work for me if it means changing the DHCP server setting to disable.

I guess I could take a deeper dive into the world of network setup. But first I'd like to know, is there absolutely no way to connect a PC running Linux Mint to an existing WORKGROUP when the PC's IP address is not static?

Thanks.



You can assign a static IP address on your machine.
User avatar
MartyMint
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 10:50 pm

Re: how to connect Mint 14 xfce to existing WORKGROUP

Postby Linux_usr_n_PA on Sun Dec 30, 2012 7:47 pm

Thanks MartyMint. Can you direct me to a step-by-step tutorial?
Linux_usr_n_PA
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:46 pm

Re: how to connect Mint 14 xfce to existing WORKGROUP

Postby altair4 on Sun Dec 30, 2012 7:53 pm

smbtree shows you from your machines perspective how the samba client sees the network shares. It sees the MYBOOKLIVE host ( along with everyone else ) just fine without requiring static ip address.

If you run the following command from a terminal:
Code: Select all
thunar smb://

Do you not see the same hosts as the ones you see in smbtree? You may see the Workgroup cluster first but if you double click that don't you see the same hosts?

And if you run this command:
Code: Select all
thunar smb://mybooklive

Do you not see the same shares as smbtree?

BTW, I'm guessing that the Jim, Susan, and Ruth laptops are either Win7 machines, don't have any shared folders, or are blocked by a firewall? Or maybe a combination of the above?
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5521
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: how to connect Mint 14 xfce to existing WORKGROUP

Postby Linux_usr_n_PA on Sun Dec 30, 2012 8:34 pm

altair4,

Thanks so much. thunar smb:// returns a File Manager window showing MSHOME and WORKGROUP. Opening MSHOME shows me my connection to the Dell and its wired printer. Opening WORKGROUP shows me the laptops and the Linux file server (mybooklive).

Final question (for now): Is this the optimal way of getting access to these machines?

Thanks.

----

PS: Got it! From File Manager: Go > Open Location > smb:// > slect WORKGROUP and go...

Thanks again altair4.
Last edited by Linux_usr_n_PA on Sun Dec 30, 2012 8:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Linux_usr_n_PA
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:46 pm

Re: how to connect Mint 14 xfce to existing WORKGROUP [SOLVE

Postby altair4 on Sun Dec 30, 2012 8:49 pm

You know I never noticed this before :oops:

I run Xubuntu 12.04 not Mint so I was going to tell you to just click on the network bookmark on the left side panel of thunar.

I have Mint14 XFCE in a VBox guest on this system. In Mint there is no Network bookmark in thunar. Um ... I don't know if that's a bug or what.

I just did this and it survives a reboot so see if it works for you:

Open a terminal and type:
Code: Select all
thunar network://

Select the little "network" folder icon in the toolbar:
A-Toolbar.png
A-Toolbar.png (6.72 KiB) Viewed 3958 times

And drag it to the side panel:
aa-side.png
aa-side.png (14.17 KiB) Viewed 3958 times


When you want to see the network shares choose that bookmark.

Surely this must be a bug - I'll have to investigate.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5521
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: how to connect Mint 14 xfce to existing WORKGROUP [SOLVE

Postby Linux_usr_n_PA on Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:00 pm

Without having to deal with Terminal...

From File Manager: Go > Open Location > network:// > VOILA!!!

Thanks again altair. You've been a great help.

Problem solved!!!
Linux_usr_n_PA
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:46 pm

Re: how to connect Mint 14 xfce to existing WORKGROUP [SOLVE

Postby Linux_usr_n_PA on Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:54 am

altair4 wrote:Open a terminal and type:
Code: Select all
thunar network://

Select the little "network" folder icon in the toolbar:
A-Toolbar.png

And drag it to the side panel:
aa-side.png


When you want to see the network shares choose that bookmark.


Works like a charm. Thanks again.
Linux_usr_n_PA
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:46 pm

Re: how to connect Mint 14 xfce to existing WORKGROUP [SOLVE

Postby altair4 on Mon Dec 31, 2012 8:33 am

There is an alternative and it's something you can use to automount some or all of these samba shares - Gigolo:

Using Gigolo to Mount Remote Samba Shares: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=52144

You can use it as a share browser although it offers no advantages over the "Network" bookmark you now have. But you can set this little baby up to run in the background to have remote shares mount when you boot up so you don't have to go searching for them.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5521
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], W3C [Validator] and 37 guests