LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) -{CLOSED}

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby karashata on Sun Dec 30, 2012 8:49 pm

Thanks, but none of those packages look like they'd block GDM and GNOME Shell from starting properly.

I'm just gonna revert to m backup and do all of the updates again without installing Steam, then see if things break or not. If not, then it's related to my installing the Steam client that's ultimately breaking things... If the problem does appear, then I'll try downgrading libfreetype6 back to Testing version (if I don't skip updating it in the first place...) and see if it works then. If the problem still persists after that then I don't know what could be causing it and I'll just have to hold off on updating anything for a while.
Linux Mint user since 2010, fluffy dragon forever!
Registered Linux User #473695
Image
User avatar
karashata
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:53 pm
Location: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GeneC on Sun Dec 30, 2012 8:56 pm

This may be of more help
Its from my LMDE/SID Gnome Shell/Cinnamon install
(the other was LMDE/SID/XFCE).

Dec 29
Code: Select all
Commit Log for Sat Dec 29 15:06:44 2012

Upgraded the following packages:
cups (1.5.3-2.11) to 1.5.3-2.11.1
cups-client (1.5.3-2.11) to 1.5.3-2.11.1
cups-common (1.5.3-2.11) to 1.5.3-2.11.1
cups-ppdc (1.5.3-2.11) to 1.5.3-2.11.1
libcups2 (1.5.3-2.11) to 1.5.3-2.11.1
libcupscgi1 (1.5.3-2.11) to 1.5.3-2.11.1
libcupsdriver1 (1.5.3-2.11) to 1.5.3-2.11.1
libcupsimage2 (1.5.3-2.11) to 1.5.3-2.11.1
libcupsmime1 (1.5.3-2.11) to 1.5.3-2.11.1
libcupsppdc1 (1.5.3-2.11) to 1.5.3-2.11.1
libnspr4 (2:4.9.4-1) to 2:4.9.4-2
libnspr4-0d (2:4.9.4-1) to 2:4.9.4-2
cups (1.5.3-2.10) to 1.5.3-2.11
cups-client (1.5.3-2.10) to 1.5.3-2.11
cups-common (1.5.3-2.10) to 1.5.3-2.11
cups-ppdc (1.5.3-2.10) to 1.5.3-2.11
grub-common (1.99-23.1) to 1.99-24
grub-pc (1.99-23.1) to 1.99-24
grub-pc-bin (1.99-23.1) to 1.99-24
grub2-common (1.99-23.1) to 1.99-24
libcups2 (1.5.3-2.10) to 1.5.3-2.11
libcupscgi1 (1.5.3-2.10) to 1.5.3-2.11
libcupsdriver1 (1.5.3-2.10) to 1.5.3-2.11
libcupsimage2 (1.5.3-2.10) to 1.5.3-2.11
libcupsmime1 (1.5.3-2.10) to 1.5.3-2.11
libcupsppdc1 (1.5.3-2.10) to 1.5.3-2.11
libfreetype6 (2.4.9-1) to 2.4.9-1.1


Dec 28
Code: Select all
Commit Log for Fri Dec 28 06:42:04 2012


Upgraded the following packages:
acpid (1:2.0.17-1) to 1:2.0.17-2
console-setup (1.88) to 1.89
console-setup-linux (1.88) to 1.89
debconf (1.5.48) to 1.5.49
debconf-i18n (1.5.48) to 1.5.49
eject (2.1.5+deb1+cvs20081104-12) to 2.1.5+deb1+cvs20081104-13
keyboard-configuration (1.88) to 1.89
libgc1c2 (1:7.1-9) to 1:7.1-9.1
libilmbase6 (1.0.1-5) to 1.0.1-6
libnspr4 (2:4.9.3-1) to 2:4.9.4-1
libnspr4-0d (2:4.9.3-1) to 2:4.9.4-1
libnss3 (2:3.14-2) to 2:3.14.1-1
libnss3-1d (2:3.14-2) to 2:3.14.1-1
libsqlite3-0 (3.7.15-1) to 3.7.15.1-1
os-prober (1.56) to 1.57
python-xdg (0.19-4) to 0.19-5
xkb-data (2.5.1-2.1) to 2.5.1-3
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
Sparky Gnome 3.14 (SID)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1565
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby autocrosser on Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:12 pm

Hmmm---I'm running the new Grub 2.00-9---thought it was the problem, but I installed the new grub to my backup Debian-Expermental without any problems...Right now I'm holding:
Selection_001.png
Not sure which one is the problem....
Selection_001.png (47.8 KiB) Viewed 3164 times
Pretty sure debootstrap is not the problem...also fairly sure libusbhib-common is not either.... I'd say libnss3 "shouldn't" be either......Don't like the Mesa update & I question libfreetype & libproc-processtable-perl....
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby wayne128 on Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:37 pm

d-u just now on my linuxbbq.
root@linuxbbqxfce:/home/wayne# apt-cache policy libfreetype6 gdm lightdm
libfreetype6:
Installed: 2.4.9-1.1
Candidate: 2.4.9-1.1
Version table:
*** 2.4.9-1.1 0
500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ unstable/main i386 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
gdm:
Installed: (none)
Candidate: (none)
Version table:
lightdm:
Installed: 1.2.2-4
Candidate: 1.2.2-4
Version table:
1.4.0-1 0
1 http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ experimental/main i386 Packages
*** 1.2.2-4 0
500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ unstable/main i386 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status


no issue reboot.

my list of changes today

Code: Select all
Start-Date: 2012-12-31  09:16:13
Commandline: apt-get upgrade
Upgrade: gir1.2-polkit-1.0:i386 (0.105-1, 0.105-3), xulrunner-18.0:i386 (18.0~b4-1, 18.0~b6-1), libsystemd-journal0:i386 (44-6, 44-7), libc-bin:i386 (2.13-37, 2.13-38), libnm-glib-vpn1:i386 (0.9.4.0-6, 0.9.4.0-7), libpolkit-gobject-1-0:i386 (0.105-1, 0.105-3), debootstrap:i386 (1.0.44, 1.0.46), libnss3:i386 (3.14.1~beta2-1, 3.14.1-1), xchat-common:i386 (2.8.8-7, 2.8.8-7.1), network-manager:i386 (0.9.4.0-6, 0.9.4.0-7), qdbus:i386 (4.8.2+dfsg-5, 4.8.2+dfsg-6), systemd-gui:i386 (44-6, 44-7), xchat:i386 (2.8.8-7, 2.8.8-7.1), libqt4-dbus:i386 (4.8.2+dfsg-5, 4.8.2+dfsg-6), libnm-util2:i386 (0.9.4.0-6, 0.9.4.0-7), grub2-common:i386 (1.99-23.1, 1.99-25), libc-dev-bin:i386 (2.13-37, 2.13-38), libnspr4-0d:i386 (4.9.3-1, 4.9.4-2), libsqlite3-0:i386 (3.7.15-1, 3.7.15.1-1), policykit-1:i386 (0.105-1, 0.105-3), linux-libc-dev:i386 (3.2.35-1, 3.2.35-2), live-config:i386 (3.0.14-1, 3.0.15-1), grub-pc:i386 (1.99-23.1, 1.99-25), systemd:i386 (44-6, 44-7), xkb-data:i386 (2.5.1-2.1, 2.5.1-3), vbetool:i386 (1.1-2, 1.1-3), libc6-i686:i386 (2.13-37, 2.13-38), live-boot:i386 (3.0~b9-1, 3.0~b10-1), locales:i386 (2.13-37, 2.13-38), iceweasel:i386 (18.0~b4-1, 18.0~b6-1), libcups2:i386 (1.5.3-2.10, 1.5.3-2.12), libqtcore4:i386 (4.8.2+dfsg-5, 4.8.2+dfsg-6), python-xdg:i386 (0.19-4, 0.19-5), libnm-glib4:i386 (0.9.4.0-6, 0.9.4.0-7), libmozjs18d:i386 (18.0~b4-1, 18.0~b6-1), libsystemd-id128-0:i386 (44-6, 44-7), multiarch-support:i386 (2.13-37, 2.13-38), libqt4-sql:i386 (4.8.2+dfsg-5, 4.8.2+dfsg-6), libnspr4:i386 (4.9.3-1, 4.9.4-2), libsystemd-daemon0:i386 (44-6, 44-7), libdv4:i386 (1.0.0-5, 1.0.0-6), live-build:i386 (3.0~b2-1, 3.0~b4-1), live-boot-initramfs-tools:i386 (3.0~b9-1, 3.0~b10-1), os-prober:i386 (1.56, 1.57), libqt4-xml:i386 (4.8.2+dfsg-5, 4.8.2+dfsg-6), grub-pc-bin:i386 (1.99-23.1, 1.99-25), keyboard-configuration:i386 (1.88, 1.89), libsystemd-login0:i386 (44-6, 44-7), libqt4-network:i386 (4.8.2+dfsg-5, 4.8.2+dfsg-6), console-setup:i386 (1.88, 1.89), sysvinit-utils:i386 (2.88dsf-34, 2.88dsf-35), libfreetype6:i386 (2.4.9-1, 2.4.9-1.1), live-config-sysvinit:i386 (3.0.14-1, 3.0.15-1), libc6-dev:i386 (2.13-37, 2.13-38), libqtgui4:i386 (4.8.2+dfsg-5, 4.8.2+dfsg-6), libpolkit-backend-1-0:i386 (0.105-1, 0.105-3), debconf:i386 (1.5.48, 1.5.49), console-setup-linux:i386 (1.88, 1.89), resolvconf:i386 (1.68, 1.69), libgc1c2:i386 (7.1-9, 7.1-9.1), php5-cgi:i386 (5.4.4-10, 5.4.4-11), grub-common:i386 (1.99-23.1, 1.99-25), sysv-rc:i386 (2.88dsf-34, 2.88dsf-35), libqt4-script:i386 (4.8.2+dfsg-5, 4.8.2+dfsg-6), libc6:i386 (2.13-37, 2.13-38), inxi:i386 (1.8.20~siduction.1, 1.8.24~siduction.1), initscripts:i386 (2.88dsf-34, 2.88dsf-35), php5-common:i386 (5.4.4-10, 5.4.4-11), eject:i386 (2.1.5+deb1+cvs20081104-12, 2.1.5+deb1+cvs20081104-13), libnss3-1d:i386 (3.14.1~beta2-1, 3.14.1-1), libpolkit-agent-1-0:i386 (0.105-1, 0.105-3), sysvinit:i386 (2.88dsf-34, 2.88dsf-35)
End-Date: 2012-12-31  09:30:47
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby autocrosser on Sun Dec 30, 2012 11:16 pm

Hmmm--looks like I found my problem--from the GDM Greeter log: gnome-shell: error while loading shared libraries: libtelepathy-logger.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Verified--There was a update to libtelepathy-logger2 in experimental that went from 0.4.0-1 to 0.6.0-1--I just grabbed the older version in my backup install & put it where where it goes (usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu)--restarted my system & GDM worked as normal....bug report time................
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby autocrosser on Mon Dec 31, 2012 12:00 am

karashata wrote:@GeneC: Wow, that's... shorter than I expected.

The only thing on that list that apparently caused problems for one person here so far is libfreetype6, but downgrading that didn't fix the issue I'm having (which seems similar, but apparently must be caused by something else...)

I guess I'm going to have to revert to my backup again after all and try updating everything again (possibly avoiding that package, just in case) and see if my system still boots properly.

I can only think of one other thing I've done today that I also did yesterday and that was install the Steam for Linux beta client after fixing a couple dependencies in the package to match Debian package versions, it's possible that some of the dependencies it pulled in, while appearing to install cleanly enough, conflict with other packages on my system and cause it to fail to launch GDM and GNOME Shell after logging out or rebooting... I'll do the updates before bothering with that again and make sure everything still works properly, and if so, I may have to skip trying to use the Steam client on Debian until a proper package is built for it.


OK--My problem was to do with libtelepathy-logger.so.2 It breaks Gnome-Shell 3.6 in a rather major way...I found the bug report: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=697036 & added to it.

I found that just manually installing the old version next to the new one in /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu & rebooting makes everything "happy" again....Looks like someone needs to change the Gnome-Shell 3.6 package a bit...this one "should" not have been able to install.....Shell's depends asks for libtelepathy-logger2 >= 0.2.0 & that's how this got by......
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby karashata on Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:47 pm

Ah, maybe that was my problem too then, I'll check the list of updates on my LMDE install and avoid that package if it shows up. Wish me luck, I'd hate to have to revert to my two-week-old backup once again if something breaks, it's not very fun trying to update it when a more recent update's the cause of the break and the other packages should be fine... I wish there was a way to just get a list of recent changes in the repos on a day-to-day basis or something so one could at least update packages prior to the day a bad package was installed and broke things...

EDIT: Well, there we go, that was the problem. Everything else is updated and working nicely,
Linux Mint user since 2010, fluffy dragon forever!
Registered Linux User #473695
Image
User avatar
karashata
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:53 pm
Location: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby autocrosser on Mon Dec 31, 2012 4:54 pm

karashata wrote:Ah, maybe that was my problem too then, I'll check the list of updates on my LMDE install and avoid that package if it shows up. Wish me luck, I'd hate to have to revert to my two-week-old backup once again if something breaks, it's not very fun trying to update it when a more recent update's the cause of the break and the other packages should be fine... I wish there was a way to just get a list of recent changes in the repos on a day-to-day basis or something so one could at least update packages prior to the day a bad package was installed and broke things...

EDIT: Well, there we go, that was the problem. Everything else is updated and working nicely,


Good to see----I thought that my new SSD was the problem at first..drove me crazy until I found the bug report....
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby zerozero on Tue Jan 01, 2013 9:58 pm

:shock: one oops tonight with
Code: Select all
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  libqtdbus4

the classic overwrite problem
Code: Select all
Unpacking libqtdbus4:amd64 (from .../libqtdbus4_4%3a4.8.2+dfsg-7_amd64.deb) ...
dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/libqtdbus4_4%3a4.8.2+dfsg-7_amd64.deb (--unpack):
 trying to overwrite '/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libQtDBus.so.4.8.2', which is also in package libqt4-dbus:amd64 4:4.8.2+dfsg-6
dpkg-deb: error: subprocess paste was killed by signal (Broken pipe)

further down the clue
Code: Select all
Errors were encountered while processing:
 /var/cache/apt/archives/libqtdbus4_4%3a4.8.2+dfsg-7_amd64.deb

for the solution
Code: Select all
dpkg -i --force-overwrite  /var/cache/apt/archives/libqtdbus4_4%3a4.8.2+dfsg-7_amd64.deb

but this time it wasn't over :lol:
Code: Select all
(Reading database ... 395566 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking libqtdbus4:amd64 (from .../libqtdbus4_4%3a4.8.2+dfsg-7_amd64.deb) ...
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of libqtdbus4:amd64:
 libqtdbus4:amd64 depends on libqt4-xml (= 4:4.8.2+dfsg-7); however:
  Package libqt4-xml:amd64 is not configured yet.
 libqtdbus4:amd64 depends on libqtcore4 (= 4:4.8.2+dfsg-7); however:
  Package libqtcore4:amd64 is not configured yet.

dpkg: error processing libqtdbus4:amd64 (--install):
 dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
Errors were encountered while processing:
 libqtdbus4:amd64

luckily one
Code: Select all
apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade
more cleared the mess 8)
Code: Select all
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
14 not fully installed or removed.
After this operation, 0 B of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? Y
Setting up keyboard-configuration (1.90) ...
Setting up console-setup-linux (1.90) ...
Setting up console-setup (1.90) ...
Setting up libparted0debian1:amd64 (2.3-11.1) ...
Setting up libqtcore4:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-xml:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqtdbus4:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-network:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqtgui4:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libgsf-1-common (1.14.25-2) ...
Setting up libgsf-1-114 (1.14.25-2) ...
Setting up libnfnetlink0 (1.0.0-1.1) ...
Setting up qdbus (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-dbus:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ..


who said sid was dormant? :lol:
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby autocrosser on Tue Jan 01, 2013 11:49 pm

Aww--He just threw one of his toys at you........and then tried to grab it back.
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GeneC on Wed Jan 02, 2013 9:24 am

Our old friend "apt-listbugs" found this one..... 8)
Retrieving bug reports... Done
Parsing Found/Fixed information... Done
serious bugs of libqtdbus4 (-> 4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) <unfixed>
#697147 - libqt4-dbus: Fails to upgrade from 4:4.8.2+dfsg-6
Merged with: 697159
Summary:
libqtdbus4(1 bug)
Are you sure you want to install/upgrade the above packages? [Y/n/?/...] n


Either apply "zz's" fix
viewtopic.php?f=198&t=70230&p=667896#p667750
OR hold this DU for a while.
(I am putting it on hold, just to see if it gets quickly fixed..).. :roll:

First real issue since last Jul 19th.. SID is AWAKENING..... :lol:

--------------------

EDIT:
Hmm. Putting libqt4-dbus on hold does nothing to prevent libqtdbus4 from being installed?
Code: Select all
Calculating upgrade... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  libqtdbus4
The following packages will be upgraded:
  console-setup console-setup-linux keyboard-configuration libnfnetlink0 libparted0debian1 libqt4-dbus libqt4-network libqt4-xml libqtcore4 libqtgui4 libreadline6
  libvcdinfo0 qdbus readline-common
14 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0 B/9,604 kB of archives.
After this operation, 134 kB disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? n
Abort.


Taking off hold, and using "zz's' fix.
Yes, that worked fine.. Thanks 'zz'.... :D
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
Sparky Gnome 3.14 (SID)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1565
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jan 2, 2013

Postby karashata on Wed Jan 02, 2013 3:06 pm

I noticed issues with that package too but it fixed itself after re-applying the updates in Synaptic a couple more times (once for the amd64 package and once for the i386 package, no doubt). It looks like there's a file in libqtdbus4 that was previously packaged in libqt4-dbus, and when the package manager tries to unpack libqtdbus4 prior to unpacking the new version of libqt4-dbus, it can't overwrite that file because it's still considered to belong to libqt4-dbus. it's only after libqt4-dbus gets unpacked that the other package can properly replace that file.

Though, I'm sure many of you already know that... I'm somewhat surprised Synaptic was still able to unpack libqt4-dbus without successfully unpacking libqtdbus4, though it did throw up the expected "cannot configure packages" error after the attempted updates, so...
Linux Mint user since 2010, fluffy dragon forever!
Registered Linux User #473695
Image
User avatar
karashata
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:53 pm
Location: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jan 2, 2013

Postby GregE on Wed Jan 02, 2013 6:34 pm

These days I generally only use "sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade" for updates. Apt has been holding back libqtdbus4 all on it's own, and still is.
User avatar
GregE
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jan 2, 2013

Postby zerozero on Wed Jan 02, 2013 6:41 pm

Greg,
was a DU that got me in that hassle.

==============

for the record here's the bug report Gene mentioned in the other post (found by apt-listbugs)
http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=697147
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jan 2, 2013

Postby jlsmith722 on Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:38 pm

Using sudo apt-get update, apt was holding back 16 packages all libqt4* The apt return suggested using -f to meet dependencies.
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get upgrade
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
You might want to run 'apt-get -f install' to correct these.
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 libqt4-dbus : Depends: libqtdbus4 (= 4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) but it is not installed
 libqt4-network : Depends: libqtdbus4 (= 4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) but it is not installed
 libqt4-script : Depends: libqtdbus4 (= 4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) but it is not installed
 qdbus : Depends: libqtdbus4 (= 4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) but it is not installed
E: Unmet dependencies. Try using -f.

trying this:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get -f upgrade
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Correcting dependencies... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  libqtdbus4
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
16 not fully installed or removed.
Need to get 0 B/219 kB of archives.
After this operation, 667 kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? y
(Reading database ... 248553 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking libqtdbus4:amd64 (from .../libqtdbus4_4%3a4.8.2+dfsg-7_amd64.deb) ...
Setting up libqtcore4:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-xml:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqtdbus4:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-network:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-script:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-sql:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-xmlpatterns:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqtgui4:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-declarative:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-designer:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-help:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-scripttools:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-sql-mysql:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-svg:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-test:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up qdbus (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...
Setting up libqt4-dbus:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-7) ...

I followed this with witha an update and DU and there were no longer any packages held or errors.
[size=85]Being intelligent is not a felony. But most societies evaluate it as at least a misdemeanor.
Robert Heinlein
User avatar
jlsmith722
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:38 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jan 2, 2013

Postby GregE on Wed Jan 02, 2013 9:23 pm

Mine has cleared with normal updates. The only package I now have held is gir1.2-telepathylogger-0.2, which is part of my Gnome-Shell 3.6 install.

A holiday flurry of activity in Sid.

:)
User avatar
GregE
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GregE on Wed Jan 02, 2013 9:34 pm

autocrosser wrote:I thought that my new SSD was the problem at first..drove me crazy until I found the bug report....


I wrote this a while back, when I got my first SSD. Might have some interest.

http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=76921

I now have just one 256gb OCZ Vertex 4 in my desktop and on 256gb Samsung 830 in my notebook.. Power on to a Gnome-Shell desktop is about ten seconds. I think everyone should get a cheap 64gb SSD (or even a 32gb if you can still find one) and install as root, with swap and home on a second HDD - an $80 supercharging of your system. Or spend another $100 and go the whole way.

:)
User avatar
GregE
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby autocrosser on Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:42 am

GregE wrote:
autocrosser wrote:I thought that my new SSD was the problem at first..drove me crazy until I found the bug report....


I wrote this a while back, when I got my first SSD. Might have some interest.

http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=76921

I now have just one 256gb OCZ Vertex 4 in my desktop and on 256gb Samsung 830 in my notebook.. Power on to a Gnome-Shell desktop is about ten seconds. I think everyone should get a cheap 64gb SSD (or even a 32gb if you can still find one) and install as root, with swap and home on a second HDD - an $80 supercharging of your system. Or spend another $100 and go the whole way.

:)


Very good info---The only thing I had not done was move the /.cache I need the log files to be able to backtrack a problem.....
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jan 2, 2013

Postby zerozero on Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:09 pm

this should now be fixed with the recent dfsg-8 updates
Code: Select all
Processing triggers for man-db ...
Setting up libpcre3:amd64 (1:8.31-2) ...
Setting up libpcrecpp0:amd64 (1:8.31-2) ...
Setting up libpcre3-dev:amd64 (1:8.31-2) ...
Setting up keyboard-configuration (1.91) ...
Setting up console-setup-linux (1.91) ...
Setting up console-setup (1.91) ...
Setting up libnss3:amd64 (2:3.14.1.with.ckbi.1.93-1) ...
Setting up libnss3-1d:amd64 (2:3.14.1.with.ckbi.1.93-1) ...
Setting up libqtcore4:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-8) ...
Setting up libqt4-xml:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-8) ...
Setting up libqtdbus4:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-8) ...
Setting up qdbus (4:4.8.2+dfsg-8) ...
Setting up libqt4-dbus:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-8) ...
Setting up libqt4-network:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-8) ...
Setting up libqtgui4:amd64 (4:4.8.2+dfsg-8) ...
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jan 2, 2013

Postby karashata on Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:34 pm

Except the i386 arch doesn't seem to have been updated to match yet... Though, I did already manage to get dfsg-7 installed without much of a hitch anyway, so...

I wonder why i386 QT library package updates seem to always lag behind the amd64 updates...
Linux Mint user since 2010, fluffy dragon forever!
Registered Linux User #473695
Image
User avatar
karashata
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:53 pm
Location: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests