64-bit, how to determine?

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

64-bit, how to determine?

Postby yonnie on Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:06 pm

How do you know when looking at a cpu number if it's going to run 64-bit software? I have an old Dell with an Intell dual-core hyper-threading cpu installed and it won't run 64-bit software. Is there another parameter I need to look for when buying new chips?

I thought that the HT was the key, could it be the MOBO?
You have your way. I have my way. As for the right way, the correct way, and the only way, it does not exist.”
- Friedrich Nietzsche
User avatar
yonnie
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:18 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: 64-bit, how to determine?

Postby eanfrid on Mon Dec 31, 2012 6:26 pm

It is only a matter of cpu architecture. Check Wikipedia about your cpu, for example.
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
True private storage on SpiderOak
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1747
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: U29tZXdoZXJlIG5lYXIgUGFyaXMsIEZyYW5jZQo=

Re: 64-bit, how to determine?

Postby mank_in on Mon Dec 31, 2012 11:37 pm

Image
Sorry for my bad English , I am Indonesian.
User avatar
mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: 64-bit, how to determine?

Postby homerscousin on Tue Jan 01, 2013 4:23 pm

I think I can safely say this: Almost all Intel multi-core cpu's are 64 bit. It might be the mobo. Post some specifics.
i5 3570k, ASRock z77 Extreme 4, 8 Gb Ripjaws 1600, Antec 430w psu, HVR 1600 tv tuner, custom case- marble top, oak face. Carver & DCM Time Window sound system. Mint 14 KDE.
homerscousin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Somewhere on planet Earth (mostly)

Re: 64-bit, how to determine? [SOLVED]

Postby yonnie on Wed Jan 02, 2013 6:59 pm

The ubuntu link was worthless. The intell wiki was slightly more helpful but not really. Apparently there is a huge plethora of pentium 4 chips out there and no clear means of determining which does what in terms a non-intell employee would recognize.

I have a computer pentium 4 dual core with HT in one system that runs 64-bit no problem. I have one another with a pentium 4 dual core with HT in another that won't run 64 bit. The only way I can determine which will run 64 in advance is to take the computer apart, remove the heat sink, read the number, look it up? That's stupid!

I found an easier way, just stick a live thumb-drive with 64-bit LM on it. If it says it needs a 64bit cpu and won't boot, then I need to investigate what cpu can be used to make it so.
You have your way. I have my way. As for the right way, the correct way, and the only way, it does not exist.”
- Friedrich Nietzsche
User avatar
yonnie
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:18 am

Re: 64-bit, how to determine?

Postby zerozero on Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:00 pm

actually the UB link was on the right track
Code: Select all
grep lm /proc/cpuinfo
(if you see lm outputed in red is 64bit)
or
Code: Select all
grep flags /proc/cpuinfo
(look for lm)

additional info >> http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/linux-how-to-find-if-processor-is-64-bit-or-not/
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6471
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 11 guests