Any problem with going directly from UP4 to UP6?

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Any problem with going directly from UP4 to UP6?

Postby cb474 on Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:04 pm

I never updated to UP5 (for reasons of laziness). Should I anticipate any issues with going directly form UP4 to UP6?
cb474
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:01 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Any problem with going directly from UP4 to UP6?

Postby wayne128 on Mon Dec 31, 2012 11:35 pm

cb474 wrote:I never updated to UP5 (for reasons of laziness). Should I anticipate any issues with going directly form UP4 to UP6?


Yes, you should anticipate issues.

It is wise to clone your existing working OS partition onto usb drive, before a large dist-upgrade.
jumping from UP4 to UP6 is a large dist-upgrade.
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3267
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Any problem with going directly from UP4 to UP6?

Postby jjaythomas on Mon Dec 31, 2012 11:55 pm

Yes I would make sure have clone/backup.
But

I went from another distro (based on LMDE) that the ISO uses only UPack4 and I upgraded to UPack 6 (from ISO install) with out issue (that I know of :P ) It also used Icewm (WM) and I changed to Xfce (prefference).

J.Jay
jjaythomas
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: Any problem with going directly from UP4 to UP6?

Postby cb474 on Tue Jan 01, 2013 7:37 am

Thanks for the replies.

Yeah, the reason I never got around to doing the update from UP4 to UP5 is because I installed LMDE using encryption and LVM. This complicated my old way of doing backups with Clonezilla that was very easy. In principle Clonezilla should be able to handle LVM and encryption. In practice I couldn't figure it out and it seems others more advanced than me could not get it to work either.

So I was trying to find another way to do a clone/backup. The combination of LVM and encryption makes it a bit difficult. I finally settled on using fsarchiver but then never got around to figuring it out. So I guess I better do that before I find myself looking at an upgrade from UP4 to UP7.
cb474
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:01 am


Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests