Software Manager (mintinstall) not working from menu

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Software Manager (mintinstall) not working from menu

Postby iainrs on Mon Dec 24, 2012 4:06 pm

I've just run UP6 (726 files) and decided in view of lack of commitment to XFCE to give Cinnamon another try. I installed Cinnamon and while it isn't as easy to configure as XFCE it looks very nice. (I haven't worked out how to run jobs from the panel or applets yet)

Main problem - Software manager will not run from the menu but will run (sudo mintinstall) from the command line.
(this was also true when with XFCE before change)

Code: Select all
inxi -F
System:    Host dylan_mint Kernel 3.2.0-4-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Debian Edition
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i5 750 (-MCP-) cache 8192 KB flags (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips 21401.3
           Clock Speeds: (1) 2668.00 MHz (2) 2668.00 MHz (3) 2668.00 MHz (4) 2668.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card NVIDIA G94 [GeForce 9600 GT] X.Org 1.12.4 Res: 1280x1024@60.0hz, 1680x1050@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on NV94 GLX Version 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4 Direct Rendering Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio driver snd_hda_intel BusID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.24
Network:   Card Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI at port c800 BusID: 02:00.0
Disks:     HDD Total Size: 1280.3GB (13.1% used) 1: /dev/sdb WDC_WD6400AAKS 640.1GB
           2: /dev/sda WDC_WD6400AAKS 640.1GB
Partition: ID:/ size: 20G used: 15G (78%) fs: rootfs ID:/ size: 20G used: 15G (78%) fs: ext4
           ID:/home size: 241G used: 136G (60%) fs: ext3 ID:swap-1 size: 2.15GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
           ID:swap-2 size: 0.18GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 74.0C mobo: 33.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 2109 psu: 0 sys-1: 0 sys-2: 1188
Info:      Processes 190 Uptime 1:49 Memory 959.3/3965.3MB Runlevel 2 Client Shell inxi 1.4.23


Code: Select all
>inxi -r
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list
           deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
           deb-src http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import #Added by software-properties
           deb http://www.mirrorservice.org/sites/debian.linuxmint.com/debian/latest testing main contrib non-free
           deb http://www.mirrorservice.org/sites/debian.linuxmint.com/debian/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
           deb http://www.mirrorservice.org/sites/debian.linuxmint.com/debian/latest/multimedia testing main non-free
           deb http://debian.scribus.net/debian/ stable main
           deb-src http://debian.scribus.net/debian/ stable main
           deb http://debian.wgdd.de/debian squeeze main contrib non-free
           deb-src http://debian.wgdd.de/debian squeeze main contrib non-free
           deb http://www.bchemnet.com/suldr/ debian extra
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list
           deb http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
iainrs
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 5:14 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Software Manager (mintinstall) not working from menu

Postby Monsta on Tue Dec 25, 2012 2:24 am

Hmm, mintInstall wants to be run as root since version 7.4.1 and we have 7.4.4 here in LMDE. Somehow the menu entry hadn't been updated. Just edit it and add "gksu " before mintinstall, that should do it.
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2484
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Software Manager (mintinstall) not working from menu

Postby iainrs on Tue Dec 25, 2012 5:02 am

thanks - that's done it
iain
iainrs
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 5:14 pm

Re: Software Manager (mintinstall) not working from menu

Postby Qwerty_Dragon on Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:16 pm

Somehow I have two menu entries. One "mintinstall", lower case "i"; and the new one after updating to Service pack 6 is "mintInstall", with uppercase "I". My question is, is "gksu mintinstall" better or "gksu mintInstall"? Both work now, but will it cause any conflict in the future?
http://www.themanaworld.org/
Come to play. Stay and develop.
User avatar
Qwerty_Dragon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:09 am

Re: Software Manager (mintinstall) not working from menu

Postby grimalkin on Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:52 am

I've had exactly the same problem in mintInstall 7.4.8 using Olivia 15 at an upgrade from 14. I had multiple versions of menu entries and used edit to disable them. I then had the wonderful idea of just deleting them. When I deleted one of the two verions of mintinstall that were showing I did not check the properties just randomly picked one to remove. After that the software manager failed to load but would work in Terminal using a sudo mintinstall command.

Thanks for helping me as well. I've added gksu mintInstall in the command box and everything is working again. I'd also noticed 2 versions mintinstall and mintInstall (with the capital) and was also wondering what the difference was if anyone knows ?
grimalkin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:19 am
Location: UK

Re: Software Manager (mintinstall) not working from menu

Postby Monsta on Fri Jul 19, 2013 12:03 pm

grimalkin wrote:I'd also noticed 2 versions mintinstall and mintInstall (with the capital) and was also wondering what the difference was if anyone knows ?

It's not the only package with such a quirk :)
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2484
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am


Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests