Any way to center Cinnamon Windows ????

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

Re: Any way to center Cinnamon Windows ????

Postby d00med on Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:34 pm

nomko wrote:
viking777 wrote:The instructions to use gdevilspie are on the link I gave starting about half way down with the words "To add a new rule using gDevilspie". About the only thing is doesn't tell you is that you have to manually position/size the windows you want before clicking 'get' . Everything else is more or less automatic. (you do have to have the deamon running but that is just a checkbox in the gui). I repeat though I only use this to centre my terminal window when it starts up I haven't investigated the more complex functions.


Didn't worked for me... Only the terminal pops up in the screen centre now, but that's it! Firefox still opens at the left side of the screen...


You have to make a new rule for each individual app you want to be centered.
d00med
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 333
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:55 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Any way to center Cinnamon Windows ????

Postby nomko on Fri Jan 04, 2013 8:14 pm

d00med wrote:
nomko wrote:
viking777 wrote:The instructions to use gdevilspie are on the link I gave starting about half way down with the words "To add a new rule using gDevilspie". About the only thing is doesn't tell you is that you have to manually position/size the windows you want before clicking 'get' . Everything else is more or less automatic. (you do have to have the deamon running but that is just a checkbox in the gui). I repeat though I only use this to centre my terminal window when it starts up I haven't investigated the more complex functions.


Didn't worked for me... Only the terminal pops up in the screen centre now, but that's it! Firefox still opens at the left side of the screen...


You have to make a new rule for each individual app you want to be centered.


I did, but like i said, it doesn't work.
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)
Linux tips and tricks
User avatar
nomko
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2950
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: Any way to center Cinnamon Windows ????

Postby viking777 on Sat Jan 05, 2013 7:22 am

I did, but like i said, it doesn't work.


I investigated this some more by installing gdevilspie on Ubuntu. In that distro the settings which work perfectly well for me in Mint don't work at all. The reason for this (I think) is that Ubuntu is using Compiz and Compiz has its own settings for window placement (the Place effect in ccsm). So I guess I should ask you, have you installed compiz on Mint? (I don't even know if you can do that, but if you have done it that may be one reason that gdevilspie doesn't work for you).
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Any way to center Cinnamon Windows ????

Postby nomko on Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:39 am

viking777 wrote:I investigated this some more by installing gdevilspie on Ubuntu. In that distro the settings which work perfectly well for me in Mint don't work at all. The reason for this (I think) is that Ubuntu is using Compiz and Compiz has its own settings for window placement (the Place effect in ccsm). So I guess I should ask you, have you installed compiz on Mint? (I don't even know if you can do that, but if you have done it that may be one reason that gdevilspie doesn't work for you).


I don't have Compiz installed: http://www.wuala.com/nomko/Afbeeldingen ... e_004.png/.
I'm not sure if Compiz can be installed under Mint14+Cinnamon 1.6.7.
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)
Linux tips and tricks
User avatar
nomko
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2950
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: Any way to center Cinnamon Windows ????

Postby xenopeek on Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:49 am

nomko wrote:
twodogs wrote:Go to Cinnamon Settings and click 'Keyboard.'
Under 'windows' scroll down to the keyboard shortcut for centering windows.

I have Cinnamon 1.6 and when i open the keyboatrd settings in the Cinnamon settings menu i see 2 tabs: Typing and Keys (shortcuts). What do you mean with "Under windows scroll down...."??

You never got a follow up to that I think? On Cinnamon 1.6.7, open Cinnamon Settings and from there Keyboard. Go to the Keyboard shortcuts tab, and on the left list click on Windows. Scroll down in the right list till you get to Center window in screen. Then set a keyboard binding for that in the list beneath it. It works for every window, though you have to invoke it.

Image
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15449
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Any way to center Cinnamon Windows ????

Postby nomko on Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:58 am

Vincent Vermeulen wrote:
nomko wrote:
twodogs wrote:Go to Cinnamon Settings and click 'Keyboard.'
Under 'windows' scroll down to the keyboard shortcut for centering windows.

I have Cinnamon 1.6 and when i open the keyboatrd settings in the Cinnamon settings menu i see 2 tabs: Typing and Keys (shortcuts). What do you mean with "Under windows scroll down...."??

You never got a follow up to that I think? On Cinnamon 1.6.7, open Cinnamon Settings and from there Keyboard. Go to the Keyboard shortcuts tab, and on the left list click on Windows. Scroll down in the right list till you get to Center window in screen. Then set a keyboard binding for that in the list beneath it. It works for every window, though you have to invoke it.


Yes, i never got a follow up on my question. And thanks for this explanation Vincent!
But there's 1 thing. I set a keyboard binding to move the window to the right side of the screen and also a keyboard binding to centre a window. But when i press the shortcut for moving the windows to the right side of the screen, it also moves down a little bit. Why is that?
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)
Linux tips and tricks
User avatar
nomko
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2950
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: Any way to center Cinnamon Windows ????

Postby xenopeek on Sat Jan 05, 2013 12:20 pm

Confirmed; that sounds like a bug. I've taken the liberty to report it: https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon/issues/1573
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15449
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Any way to center Cinnamon Windows ????

Postby d00med on Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:07 pm

Gdevilspie has an option to center every window, whcih would be great as apposed to making a rule for each individual application. It centers conky and the dock I'm using if that option is set though, and there deosn't seem to be a way to exclude those. Has anyone else tried to do this and was able to exclude conky?
d00med
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 333
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:55 am

Re: Any way to center Cinnamon Windows ????

Postby mintystark on Thu Oct 17, 2013 3:48 am

Gdevilspie worked for me except that the window still showed at the top left for a split second then gets centered. That split second was enough to annoy me to remove Gdevilspie.

Still need a Valid solution.
mintystark
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 4:19 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Previous

Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests