Odd behavior of gnome-terminal in Cinnamon

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Odd behavior of gnome-terminal in Cinnamon

Postby rderosier on Sun Jan 06, 2013 5:29 pm

I'm running LinuxMint 13 Cinnamon 64-bit. I've also installed backports using
Update Manager. I might also point out, I've just started using Cinnamon a
couple of days ago, and still in the process of getting things set up the way
I want things to work (as I've already done in Mate, which I've been testing
for a few months now).

In terminal, I do the following:
edit->profile preferences->general
to set a default terminal size to what I want the columns and rows to be.

Since 55 rows is what covers the entire height of my screen, I set rows
to 55. However, this creates a terminal with only 53 rows. I've experimented
with various "rows" values and it always produces a terminal with rows set to
rows-2. Rather odd behavior! In my case, setting rows to 57 now produces a
terminal with 55 rows.
rderosier
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 7:41 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Odd behavior of gnome-terminal in Cinnamon

Postby xenopeek on Sun Jan 06, 2013 5:45 pm

I'm on Linux Mint 14 and I can't reproduce this. Doing the same configuration as you have done, I get exactly 55 rows if I set it to 55 rows. Switching back to Linux Mint 13, without backports, I can also not reproduce this. Perhaps there is something else in your terminal profile that is causing this?
Forum Rules | IRC Channel Rules
Image
Arch Linux / 64-bit / Gnome Shell
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 13700
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Odd behavior of gnome-terminal in Cinnamon

Postby rderosier on Mon Jan 07, 2013 5:18 pm

Perhaps there is something else in your terminal profile that is causing this?

I can't imagine what that would be.

In case it makes a difference, here's how I came to have gnome-terminal 3.4.1.1.
I installed LinuxMint 13 Mate 64-Bit. After a few months of testing it, I thought I'd
play with Cinnamon. I used Synaptic to install meta-mint-cinnamon-dvd. During
my first Cinnamon login I noticed there was no terminal in the menu, so I posted
a note to that affect to this forum. It was pointed out to me that Cinnamon uses
gnome-terminal (which I did not have in /usr/bin) and that I should use Synaptic
to install it. This I did. Because of other issues with Cinnamon, I learned about
backports, which I installed. It was at this point that I started looking at why
terminal was only creating 53 row windows when I asked for 55.

I might later try installing LinuxMint 13 Cinnamon 64-Bit itself from the DVD
download that I have, to see if it makes any difference.
rderosier
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 7:41 pm

Re: Odd behavior of gnome-terminal in Cinnamon

Postby rderosier on Fri Jan 11, 2013 5:31 pm

rderosier wrote:I might later try installing LinuxMint 13 Cinnamon 64-Bit itself from the DVD
download that I have, to see if it makes any difference.

I did this, and the problem goes away.
I also did it again with LinuxMint 14 Cinnamon 64-Bit, and I don't see the
problem there, also.
rderosier
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 7:41 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests