Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many ways.

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby squiesuie on Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:42 am

Hello meteorrock,
No I'm not doubting your skill, I just thought I should try zerozeros advice first, I was just abit afraid following your instructions could interfere with zerozeros method in some way. I don't know, I don't have much skill at all about this, I am just trying and guessing. However i did try choosing different mirror servers as you suggested, I tried both searching the best, and randomly chosing some, still the output of
Code: Select all
apt update

seem to bee the same all the times I try.
I'm glad you are trying to help, thanks.
squiesuie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:19 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby zerozero on Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:51 am

let's see
Code: Select all
gksu pluma /etc/apt/sources.list
this will open your sources.list file as root, you have to delete line 2 to 6
to be precise these
Code: Select all
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ nadia main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ nadia-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ nadia-security main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ nadia partner
deb http://packages.medibuntu.org/ nadia free non-free
leave the rest as-is

save the file

Code: Select all
apt update
now you shouldn't see any 404 (if you do don't carry on and come back here posting again the output of inxi -r)

from here on save the outputs and share them with us
Code: Select all
apt purge flashplugin-installer

Code: Select all
apt install flashplugin-installer
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby squiesuie on Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:10 am

Ok zerozero,
After deleting the lines, the update worked without errors. After that the outputs
Code: Select all
user@user-desktop ~ $ apt purge flashplugin-installer
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following packages will be REMOVED:
  flashplugin-installer*
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 1 to remove and 11 not upgraded.
After this operation, 139 kB disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? Y
(Reading database ... 160774 files and directories currently installed.)
Removing flashplugin-installer ...
Purging configuration files for flashplugin-installer ...
Processing triggers for update-notifier-common ...
user@user-desktop ~ $ apt install flashplugin-installer
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Suggested packages:
  x-ttcidfont-conf ttf-xfree86-nonfree xfs
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  flashplugin-installer
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 11 not upgraded.
Need to get 0 B/7,532 B of archives.
After this operation, 139 kB of additional disk space will be used.
Preconfiguring packages ...
Selecting previously unselected package flashplugin-installer.
(Reading database ... 160757 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking flashplugin-installer (from .../flashplugin-installer_11.2.202.261ubuntu0.12.10.1_i386.deb) ...
Processing triggers for update-notifier-common ...
flashplugin-installer: downloading http://archive.canonical.com/pool/partner/a/adobe-flashplugin/adobe-flashplugin_11.2.202.261.orig.tar.gz
Installing from local file /tmp/tmpIWDYSD.gz
Flash Plugin installed.
Setting up flashplugin-installer (11.2.202.261ubuntu0.12.10.1) ...
user@user-desktop ~ $

Should flashplayer be working now? Atleast it didn't work in FF, I will keep trying.
squiesuie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby zerozero on Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:20 am

it's installing flash correctly from the output you gave us above (i'm at a loss)
what's the output of
Code: Select all
locate libflashplayer.so

reboot and try FF again
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby viking777 on Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:20 am

If you go to FF Tools/Addons/plugins and Shockwave Flash is listed then it doesn't matter how many times you reinstall it, it will not work, the problem is somewhere else, though I don't know where. This fact is reinforced by the fact that you have problems with multiple broswers not just FF and even say in your opening post that you have flash problems in windows also. This indicates a deeper problem than just the way Flash is installed or configured. I would love to know why this is but sadly I don't.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby squiesuie on Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:40 am

Ok, I tried reboting, still no working flash in any browser.
Code: Select all
user@user-desktop ~ $ locate libflashplayer.so
/etc/alternatives/libflashplayer.so.bk
/opt/mint-flashplugin-11/libflashplayer.so.bk
/usr/lib/flashplugin-installer/libflashplayer.so
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so.bk
/var/lib/dpkg/alternatives/libflashplayer.so.bk
user@user-desktop ~ $


Yes, in FF Tools/Addons/plugins Shockwave Flash is listed, and only once this time.
And yes I have had flashproblems in windows also, like flashplayer crashing often and sometimes distorted sound, but these problems have ususally been fixed with reinstalling flashplayer/updating/reinstalling browser etc. and in the end I have always gotten a working flashplayer, atleast for some months untill next problem. I didn't expext it would be any more difficult to get flashplayer working in this linux, but now it seems quite impossible. Do you think it can be connected to the install slideshow problem I had, can it be a problem with my hardware? Is there any way to check for that?

And thanks all for your patience with me, I really appreciate you trying to help.
squiesuie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby zerozero on Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:00 am

hardware can be one of the causes
share the output of
Code: Select all
inxi -Fc 0
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby squiesuie on Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:10 am

Ok, maybe after this you will consider this computer an antique?
Code: Select all
user@user-desktop ~ $ inxi -Fc 0
System:    Host: user-desktop Kernel: 3.5.0-17-generic i686 (32 bit) Desktop: N/A Distro: Linux Mint 14 Nadia
Machine:   System: Dacco product: N/A
           Mobo: MICRO-STAR model: MS-6570 Bios: Phoenix version: 6.00 PG date: 07/30/2003
CPU:       Single core AMD Athlon XP 2600+ (-UP-) cache: 256 KB flags: (sse) clocked at 2079.520 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA NV34 [GeForce FX 5200]
           X.Org: 1.13.0 drivers: (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) FAILED: nouveau Resolution: 1680x1050@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NV34 GLX Version: 1.5 Mesa 9.0
Audio:     Card: NVIDIA nForce2 AC97 Audio Controler (MCP) driver: snd_intel8x0 Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.25
Network:   Card: NVIDIA nForce2 Ethernet Controller driver: forcedeth
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 00:0c:76:3d:5e:5b
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 290.1GB (1.6% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD2500AAJB size: 250.1GB
           2: id: /dev/sdb model: ST340014A size: 40.0GB
Partition: ID: / size: 24G used: 4.5G (21%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 1.50GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 50.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 123 Uptime: 42 min Memory: 274.5/1003.0MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4
user@user-desktop ~ $
squiesuie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby zerozero on Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:52 am

it is not exactly state-of-the-art technology :wink:
the main problem (as far as i can see) is the graphics card (and yes that affects flash performance oddly)
- you have an old card
- that is not using the nvidia drivers but the open source ones

way around this?

if you open synaptic (package manager) > settings > repositories > additional drivers tab do you see there any option to install a driver for that card?
before you proceed, this has a risk involved, that card is old, backup any personal data first
- if you see one driver as an option install it;
- if you don't, sorry but i don't know what to suggest anymore.
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby squiesuie on Sat Jan 12, 2013 10:23 am

if you open synaptic (package manager) > settings > repositories > additional drivers tab do you see there any option to install a driver for that card?

Well I don't get any option to install additional drivers.

I guess we are close to the end of this now then.
So the old graphics card is the problem? Could you explain why (if possible without it getting to complicated), I mean the graphics seem to work fine otherwise and html5 video works fine and flash works in windows.
Anyway I probably have to forget flash on linx on this computer then.

Once again I thank you for your help.
squiesuie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby zerozero on Sat Jan 12, 2013 12:31 pm

to put it simple, flash now relies on hardware acceleration (which you don't have or is limited without the proprietary nvidia drivers)
some further reading of similar problems
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1080414
http://forums.opensuse.org/english/get- ... sucks.html
(just to give you an idea)

very last (i promise) option
Code: Select all
sudo mv /usr/lib/flashplugin-installer/libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/flashplugin-installer/libflashplayer.so.bk

Code: Select all
apt purge flashplugin-installer
(we could skip this one but just to avoid possible conflicts

now this is not really a solution (not even if it works which i honestly doubt :lol:) it's a workaround because this flash version we are going to try is old and out-dated and has security flaws >> could be used in "safe" sites but i would be very careful with its usage >> on the other hand is probably the last non-accelerated flash version
what i give bellow is a dry-run command, it won't do the installation itself, you can review the output and see if there's any pkg to remove: if yes post the output here, if not just remove the -s flag and run the real command and try a flash site again)
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get -s install mint-flashplugin-10.2
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby squiesuie on Sat Jan 12, 2013 12:59 pm

Ok, thanks

zerozero wrote:
very last (i promise) option
Code: Select all
sudo mv /usr/lib/flashplugin-installer/libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/flashplugin-installer/libflashplayer.so.bk

Code: Select all
apt purge flashplugin-installer
(we could skip this one but just to avoid possible conflicts

now this is not really a solution (not even if it works which i honestly doubt :lol:) it's a workaround because this flash version we are going to try is old and out-dated and has security flaws >> could be used in "safe" sites but i would be very careful with its usage >> on the other hand is probably the last non-accelerated flash version
what i give bellow is a dry-run command, it won't do the installation itself, you can review the output and see if there's any pkg to remove: if yes post the output here, if not just remove the -s flag and run the real command and try a flash site again)
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get -s install mint-flashplugin-10.2


I followed this and saw no package to remove with the dry run command so I removed -s and run it again, but got some kind of error, don't know what this means (again :D )
Code: Select all
user@user-desktop ~ $ sudo apt-get -s install mint-flashplugin-10.2
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  mint-flashplugin-10.2
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 11 not upgraded.
Inst mint-flashplugin-10.2 (10.2.153.1 linuxmint:14/nadia [i386])
Conf mint-flashplugin-10.2 (10.2.153.1 linuxmint:14/nadia [i386])
user@user-desktop ~ $ sudo apt-get install mint-flashplugin-10.2
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  mint-flashplugin-10.2
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 11 not upgraded.
Need to get 0 B/4,936 kB of archives.
After this operation, 12.2 MB of additional disk space will be used.
Selecting previously unselected package mint-flashplugin-10.2.
(Reading database ... 160757 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking mint-flashplugin-10.2 (from .../mint-flashplugin-10.2_10.2.153.1_i386.deb) ...
Setting up mint-flashplugin-10.2 (10.2.153.1) ...
update-alternatives: error: alternative link /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so is already managed by libflashplayer.so.bk
dpkg: error processing mint-flashplugin-10.2 (--configure):
 subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 2
Errors were encountered while processing:
 mint-flashplugin-10.2
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
user@user-desktop ~ $
squiesuie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby viking777 on Sat Jan 12, 2013 1:09 pm

If ZZ's latest suggestion doesn't work either here are another couple that will probably fail as well. Firstly try Flash Aid:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... d/?src=api

You can get this from the usual Tools>Addons page of FF.

And if that fails try gnash - the gnu open source flash player. You can install it from the repositories

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install browser-plugin-gnash


I have no idea how to configure it though I would probably start by trying the command I gave you earlier:

Code: Select all
sudo update-alternatives --config libflashplayer.so


To see if that recognises it. If it does it is supposed to present it as an alternative choice for you but I don't know if it will consider it as such, you may have to remove or rename the existing libflashplayer.so first (just add .old to the end of the name). I have no knowledge of this program.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby mank_in on Sat Jan 12, 2013 1:28 pm

Maybe my post is not related but i want to shared my experience with Ge force FX family.
Last time i am test geforce FX5xxx is with LM12( gnome and lxde version is installable ) but with KDE version i must add nomodeset in GRUB to access desktop. You can try reinstall LM14 MATE with add this option ( i don't know it will work or not )
In LM12 you can still install proprietary driver , with nouveau driver flashplayer performance is very poor.
I think you can try LM12 LXDE.

by the way this news related with FX family : http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n ... px=MTA5MDc
Image
Sorry for my bad English , I am Indonesian.
User avatar
mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby zerozero on Sat Jan 12, 2013 1:43 pm

viking,
but first our friend squiesuie has a broken package that needs to be fixed (and was my fault :oops: )

squiesuie,
first we have to remove (not just rename) that so.bk that is interfering
Code: Select all
sudo rm /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so.bk

now we have to fix the package that failed to install (the following should do it)
Code: Select all
sudo dpkg --configure -a

now checking if everything is correct
Code: Select all
apt update && apt upgrade
shouldn't return any error)


now check flash; if still doesn't work try setting the alternatives as viking was suggesting
Code: Select all
sudo update-alternatives --config libflashplayer.so
after this i'm done (for good)
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby squiesuie on Sat Jan 12, 2013 1:58 pm

Sorry zerozero,
I went ahead and tried flash aid as suggested by viking. This probably ruined what you were helping me to do, install old version flashplayer. Now your following commands didn't solve it.
zerozero wrote:
Code: Select all
sudo rm /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so.bk

now we have to fix the package that failed to install (the following should do it)

Code: Select all
sudo dpkg --configure -a


This returns:
Code: Select all
~ $ sudo dpkg --configure -a
Setting up mint-flashplugin-10.2 (10.2.153.1) ...
update-alternatives: error: alternative link /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so is already managed by libflashplayer.so.bk
dpkg: error processing mint-flashplugin-10.2 (--configure):
 subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 2
Errors were encountered while processing:
 mint-flashplugin-10.2


I don't know if you want to help me any more but it could be interesting to see if the old flashplayer could work
squiesuie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby zerozero on Sat Jan 12, 2013 2:02 pm

did you removed first the so.bk as from my first command?

if yes share this again
Code: Select all
locate libflashplayer.so
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby squiesuie on Sat Jan 12, 2013 2:04 pm

zerozero wrote:did you removed first the so.bk as from my first command?

Yes i did use the remove command,

Code: Select all
~ $ locate libflashplayer.so
/etc/alternatives/libflashplayer.so.bk
/opt/mint-flashplugin-11/libflashplayer.so.bk
/usr/lib/flashplugin-installer/libflashplayer.so
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so.bk
/var/lib/dpkg/alternatives/libflashplayer.so.bk
squiesuie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby zerozero on Sat Jan 12, 2013 2:27 pm

well it's still there
~ $ locate libflashplayer.so
/etc/alternatives/libflashplayer.so.bk
/opt/mint-flashplugin-11/libflashplayer.so.bk
/usr/lib/flashplugin-installer/libflashplayer.so
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so.bk
/var/lib/dpkg/alternatives/libflashplayer.so.bk

so something went wrong (and with rm commands nothing can go wrong)
you're using mate? go with caja (the file manager) to /usr/lib/mozilla open the plugins folders as root and delete libflashplayer.so.bk
do the same for all the others so.bk in the list above

delete also libflashplayer.so inside /usr/lib/flashplugin-installer/

once this is done
Code: Select all
sudo dpkg --configure -a
again
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Really can't get flashplayer to work, tried too many way

Postby viking777 on Sat Jan 12, 2013 2:36 pm

zerozero, I don't want to tread on your toes honestly, but using locate without running updatedb first will still show things installed even if they aren't - maybe that is the case in the post above.

Anyway, just wanted to say that zz and mank_in both have what I think are good ideas in that this problem is probably nothing to do with flash at all and more to do with your use of the nouveau graphics driver with the Nvidia card. Perhaps the way to proceed would be to install an Nvidia driver and see if that works. To my mind the easiest way to do that when additional drivers doesn't work is to use sgfxi. It is quite an old post now but there is an explanation its use here:

viewtopic.php?f=59&t=86154#p497881

I cannot guarantee this will make a difference, but you seem to have tried everything else.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests