Shutdown Messages

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Shutdown Messages

Postby GaryN on Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:00 pm

I've looked and can't seem to find the answer to what I thought would be an easy question. I use the shutdown command to turn off my computer, and my old Ubuntu 10.04 used to give a message showing the time till shutdown, which would update every so often. With Mint kde 14 I get no messages, not even when I first issue the command, it used to say 'system will shoutdown in X minutes', or something like that, now it says nothing, which makes me wonder if it will really shutdown. I've tried the --verbose but it doesn't seem to make a difference.
Thanks for any advice!
GaryN
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:15 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Shutdown Messages

Postby viking777 on Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:17 pm

The shutdown command always requires a time element, that time element is usually 'now'. If you shutdown that way you will not get a countdown. However if you shutdown with:

Code: Select all
shutdown -h +5


Then you will (or at least I do)

NB +5 means shutdown in 5 minutes time.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Shutdown Messages

Postby GaryN on Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:28 pm

viking777 wrote:The shutdown command always requires a time element, that time element is usually 'now'. If you shutdown that way you will not get a countdown. However if you shutdown with:

Code: Select all
shutdown -h +5


Then you will (or at least I do)

NB +5 means shutdown in 5 minutes time.


Thanks viking777, but the problem was with 13 and not 14. I've used the shutdown -h 60, for example for ages, and it has always given me the "system will..." message, but on 13 it didn't, no biggie, just puzzled me. However, with 14 I get the message again, and at first glance, 14 is so sweet, I dont think I'll be using 13 anymore. Complements to the developers for sure!
GaryN
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:15 pm


Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests