LAN don't work after wake up from sleep/stand-by

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

LAN don't work after wake up from sleep/stand-by

Postby Marsjanin on Tue Jan 15, 2013 4:24 pm

Hello.

I use three network interfaces: wired LAN, wifi and 3G USB modem. Not at one time of course. All they works OK, but when i put my laptop into "sleep" mode (aka stand-by, suspend to RAM), the wired connection will not work anymore, till next boot. I still can use wifi and 3G. It doesn't matter was there LAN interface in use before sleeping or not.

To be more precise: before sleep, Mate connection manager shows me if I plugged RJ cable into socket, or not. After sleep, it doesn't matter is there the cable plugged or not. The computer always "see" the cable and tries to resolve IP from the LAN interface.

There's not a big issue, but if You know something about that, please help.

Hardware: MSI WInd U135DX netbook.
Software: LMDE 64-bit, UP6, MATE.

Onboard network card:
Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller
--
Pozdrawiam,
Marsjanin
User avatar
Marsjanin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 9:00 am
Location: Poznań

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LAN don't work after wake up from sleep/stand-by

Postby stuXnet on Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:36 am

Hey Marsjanin,

apparently I've the same problem, but I'm using Arch Linux and "Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 07)".
If I disable DHCP in my network settings and assign the IP manually, the network controller believes me - with or without a cable plugged.

No idea, but I suspect pm-utils behind this problem.

Have you found further information about this issue?
I will (probably) report this bug, if it hasn't been done yet.
stuXnet
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:29 am

Re: LAN don't work after wake up from sleep/stand-by

Postby Marsjanin on Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:31 pm

Unfortunately I'm plugging my netbook on few locations, that all has DHCP, so I cannot set constant IP now. Well, it's strange behaviour, and it doesn't touch wifi neither USB HSPA modem.
--
Pozdrawiam,
Marsjanin
User avatar
Marsjanin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 9:00 am
Location: Poznań


Return to Ethernet

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests