Dual monitors ? is it working ?

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Dual monitors ? is it working ?

Postby Samiel on Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:44 pm

hello everybody, I am new here and also with linux. ok maybe not with linux. I know few basic commands and edit something. Also I tried Ubuntu, and I know what linux means..read, read and again read.. "still trying", compileing and so on :).

But I don' t know that much, that I could start my second monitor works. I looking for solutions almost everywhere. but nothing works for me. I already give up and you are my last chance. so I ask you. can anybody help me ?

Problem specification: how to edit Xorg.conf or where or which driver install for dual monitors could works.
Info about monitors, system notebook which I can provide:

Notebook: Compaq pressario CQ60, with graphic card: Nvidia GeForce 8200m g, 4GB RAM, 2 CPU.
Monitor: LG 24" with HDMI cable connected to notebook.

lspci | grep VGA - Told me this.
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation C77 [GeForce 8200M G] (rev a2)
driver version is; 310.14
system: Release 14 (nadia) 32-bit, Kernel Linux 3.5.0-17-generic, GNOME 3.6.0
if I remember corectly ... dual monitors works in Ubuntu with default Ubuntu driver. After I installed the newest, second monitor shows me only black screen.
I hope this is exhaustive information I could give you. oou Last thing: I am really sorry for my English, I am not native speaker but I do my best.
Samiel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:42 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Dual monitors ? is it working ?

Postby joezorry on Thu Jan 17, 2013 2:07 pm

I'm quite new too but have an Nvidia graphics card with multiple monitors and find that my monitor started working when I installed the current versions of the Nvidia graphic driver.
I followed the instructions here: http://www.noobslab.com/2012/10/install ... buntu.html
joezorry
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 7:23 am

Re: Dual monitors ? is it working ?

Postby Samiel on Thu Jan 17, 2013 2:46 pm

no :( it's not working. I read somewhere that could be problem with frequencies... but dont know which frequencies or for what monitors.

Here is my xorg.conf for help.

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 304.51 (buildd@aatxe) Fri Oct 12 12:54:02 UTC 2012

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Seiko/Epson"
HorizSync 30.0 - 75.0
VertRefresh 60.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
Driver "vesa"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 8200M G"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "Configured Video Device"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "Stereo" "0"
Option "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
Option "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1366+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection
Samiel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:42 pm

Re: Dual monitors ? is it working ?

Postby BRAAB on Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:43 am

I don't have a laptop but a Dell desktop with a NVidia 9800GT here with a dual screen (LG Flatron) HDMI setup running here and it is fine. I too encountered problems when I was on Maya though. I got dual screens running in the KDE version, but not with CInnamon. However, I've now migrated to Mint 14 Cinnamon and all works brilliantly out of the box. Don't forget to set your screens and in my case I had to disable the screen mirror.

If that doesn't work, don't forget NVidia also offers Linux drivers; quick search gave me this for your specifications --> http://www.geforce.co.uk/drivers/results/58608

Hope this helps

Rita
=============================================================================
I don't know who invented high heels, but all women owe him a lot.
Marilyn Monroe
User avatar
BRAAB
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:50 am
Location: Monaco


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RitxPT and 13 guests