Linux mint 14 Nadia Mate and Compiz cube etc

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Linux mint 14 Nadia Mate and Compiz cube etc

Postby PeDr0 on Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:37 am

I'm having problems with setting up compiz effects like the cube.. fire etc. I have the number of desktops set to 4 in the Desktop size under general options. I also have a Workspace switcher added to my taskbar. If I press ctr+alt and move the mouse to switch workspaces I Just get a sort of 2D plane that rotates in 3D but I don't get a 3D Cube. I don't think water effects are working and fire effects aren't working. If I switch to another workspace and open a window it just switches me back to my first workspace and dumps it there infront of all my other windows and it seems as if it is not working correctly. I get wobbly windows but that is about all that is working properly.

Also when I click on windows in control centre I get the error message: Cannot start the preferences application for your windows manager. Windows manager "compiz" has not registerd a configuration tool.

There doesn't seem to be anywehre to set transparent windows either, on older versions of gnome and Compiz you could have more effects I'm sure.

I have followed the following links:http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/1148 [url]and http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/919[/url] The only problem I have is on the first link where it says"Then press ALT + F2 and run: "dconf-editor", navigate to org > gnome > desktop > vm > preferences and change the "theme" value from "Adwaita" to any other installed theme you want. "

When I press ALT+F2 nothing seem to happen and when I run dconf-editor I don't get anything under the org tree at all so I can't change the value.

Also when I change the windows decoration under apperance preferances nothing happens and I appear stuck with the stock Mint OS brushed aluminium look and Icons.

I am running a SOny Vaio laptop (VGN-AR51M) with a Nvidia Geforce 8400M GT GPU
PeDr0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:57 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux mint 14 Nadia Mate and Compiz cube etc

Postby PeDr0 on Tue Jan 15, 2013 2:58 pm

Does Compiz and emearld etc run better in linux mint 13 (Maya)?
PeDr0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:57 am

Re: Linux mint 14 Nadia Mate and Compiz cube etc

Postby w201 on Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:52 am

make sure you also enable rotate cube
w201
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:34 pm

Re: Linux mint 14 Nadia Mate and Compiz cube etc

Postby PeDr0 on Wed Jan 16, 2013 2:32 am

w201 wrote:make sure you also enable rotate cube


Rotate cube is enabled. Switching between desktops is broken. Switching with mouse or keyboard shortcuts only flips the screen (Not cube animation) and does not change location on workspace switcher. Clicking manualy on workspace switcher does not flip screen. All new open windows open on workspace 1.
PeDr0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:57 am

Re: Linux mint 14 Nadia Mate and Compiz cube etc

Postby qwizzer on Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:51 am

firstly install CCSM

then:
you havent set your desktops in CCSM "general options" properly.
four desktops - set the other options to 1.
qwizzer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:51 pm

Re: Linux mint 14 Nadia Mate and Compiz cube etc

Postby PeDr0 on Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:57 am

qwizzer wrote:firstly install CCSM

then:
you havent set your desktops in CCSM "general options" properly.
four desktops - set the other options to 1.



You mean Compiz Configuration Settings Manager? Allready installed. Have now changed it to settings above. Still broken. Infact now it won't even switch with keyboard shortcuts or manually with the mouse (By pressing ctrl+alt+left click+mouse movent). Only by clicking on the workspace switcher does it appear that I switch workspaces (ALthough I'm not sure I do as I get no animation). And still all windows open in workspace 1.
PeDr0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:57 am

Re: Linux mint 14 Nadia Mate and Compiz cube etc

Postby Detonate on Wed Jan 16, 2013 9:21 am

I also had a problem with the workspace switcher, but it disappeared when I changed the Desktop Size under General Options from 2 horizontal rows and 2 vertical rows to 4 horizontal and 1 vertical. My cube works fine and I don't have any of the special effects set.
Image
User avatar
Detonate
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 7:40 pm
Location: Ault, Colorado

Re: Linux mint 14 Nadia Mate and Compiz cube etc

Postby PeDr0 on Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:03 am

Detonate wrote:I also had a problem with the workspace switcher, but it disappeared when I changed the Desktop Size under General Options from 2 horizontal rows and 2 vertical rows to 4 horizontal and 1 vertical. My cube works fine and I don't have any of the special effects set.


It now looks slightly better i.e I get a sort of cube.. but ultimately workspaces still are not switching and the 3D windows effect is in overdrive, sending windows far into the foreground left and right on both sides and doesn't look right.. This is not Like I have had compiz running before. Special effects like fire/water etc still aren't working. Now when I run the cube I am getting like weid trace effects that don't look right. The whole thing feels kind of broken. Does compiz work better on LM13?
PeDr0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:57 am

Re: Linux mint 14 Nadia Mate and Compiz cube etc

Postby Detonate on Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:27 am

Cube2.png
Cube2.png (159.15 KiB) Viewed 3307 times

My cube screenshot. I never had Mint 13 so I can't comment on that. I'm using Mint 14 Mate.
Image
User avatar
Detonate
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 7:40 pm
Location: Ault, Colorado

Re: Linux mint 14 Nadia Mate and Compiz cube etc

Postby PeDr0 on Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:10 pm

Detonate wrote:
Cube2.png

My cube screenshot. I never had Mint 13 so I can't comment on that. I'm using Mint 14 Mate.


I can get a reasonable looking cube if I turn off 3D windows in effects, but still no special effects.. workspaces aren't switching.. feels kind of broken to me.

P.S. How do you take a screenshot in Linux..? :-)
PeDr0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:57 am

Re: Linux mint 14 Nadia Mate and Compiz cube etc

Postby Detonate on Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:21 pm

The screenshot program is in Accessories in the Menu. I put a launcher on my panel for it. To get a picture of the cube, you have to use the delay feature, then activate the cube and wait for the delay to run out while holding the cube still.
Image
User avatar
Detonate
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 7:40 pm
Location: Ault, Colorado

Re: Linux mint 14 Nadia Mate and Compiz cube etc

Postby qwizzer on Thu Jan 17, 2013 7:24 am

well firstly stop trying to get everything going at once, turn off the special effects till you get your desktops working.
i assume you have the rotate cube plugin on.
qwizzer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:51 pm

Re: Linux mint 14 Nadia Mate and Compiz cube etc

Postby PeDr0 on Thu Jan 17, 2013 7:55 pm

I have now installed Linux Mate 13 Maya and following this link http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/919 I have got compiz to work O.K. cube + effects everything seems to work as it should. :-) I think the compiz+mate combo in linux mint 14 is not working correctly. Anyway with a little research I feel happier running a distro based on Ubuntu 12.04 rather than 12.10 anyway.

The only thing that doesn't quite work properly is the workspace switcher panel. I mean I can get it to work by changing the preferences to 1 workspace on the switcher panel, as instructed in this link: http://forums.mate-desktop.org/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=340 but as soon as I restart it loses its way again. I guess I will just have to wait for Mate and Compiz to work that one out? Anyone know how I would go about reporting this bug and to whom? Perhaps there is some way of automatically switching the number of workspaces to 1 on re-boot. (However it should be 4 really) Hmmmmmmmm........
PeDr0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:57 am

Re: Linux mint 14 Nadia Mate and Compiz cube etc

Postby PeDr0 on Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:10 pm

O.K. pretty much solved

Run compiz fusion Icon, selcet mate as the window manager, then in terminal:

Code: Select all
mateconftool-2 --set /apps/marco/general/num_workspaces --type int 4


Then restart compiz using compiz fusion icon.. then.. (see this posthttp://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=219&t=114840)
Then, in CCSM > General Options > "Desktop Size" tab, make sure you have Horizontal Virtual Size = 4, Vertical Virtual Size = 1, and Number of desktops = 1.
That's how you get 4 workspaces horizontally, exactly like in MATE, but in Compiz.


Works still on reboot..

Then everything works nicely..cube effects.. workspace switching all good. Only problem is when you hover your mouse over the workspace switcher they all say currnet workspace: "Workspace 1"

Have to live with it for now I guess? Any Ideas how I can get in touch with Devs to work on this bug?
PeDr0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:57 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, leadwtZ and 31 guests