[solved] Where is Wine

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

[solved] Where is Wine

Postby KeesA on Sun Jan 13, 2013 3:37 pm

Hallo forum,

I want to make a batchfile to start wxDev-cpp from a terminal.
To do so, I have to locate Wine.
I now have:

#!/bin/bash

cd ~/.wine/drive_c/ProgramFiles/Dev-Cpp/
./devcpp.exe

I found this in a tutorial on a website, but it don't work.
I downloaded Wine from the software center of Mint14 but I don't know where it is and what I must do to make the batchfile open the program.

tnx
Last edited by KeesA on Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
KeesA
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:47 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: where is Wine

Postby KeesA on Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:26 pm

I deinstalled Wine from the softwarecenter and installed it out of the terminal.
with: sudo apt-get install wine
Then: chmod +x ./devcpp
Don't know why but the turorial said so.
Now it works!
Note that ProgramFiles is without a space in my Wine/Windows.
User avatar
KeesA
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:47 pm

Re: where is Wine

Postby bigj231 on Sun Jan 13, 2013 5:23 pm

To find where a program is stored, use the 'which' command. it will make your scripting infinitely less painful.

The syntax is:
Code: Select all
which wine
Running on a 4-slot toaster @ 60Hz
User avatar
bigj231
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 793
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:16 am
Location: Middle of Nowhere

Re: where is Wine

Postby KeesA on Sun Jan 13, 2013 7:13 pm

Thank you, I would never find out myself.
How do people know all this?
Is there a book for or something online?
User avatar
KeesA
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:47 pm

Re: where is Wine

Postby bigj231 on Fri Jan 18, 2013 5:01 pm

I actually found it by googling for a solution to a problem I was having. I was trying to make a script, and it had the same problem yours had.
Running on a 4-slot toaster @ 60Hz
User avatar
bigj231
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 793
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:16 am
Location: Middle of Nowhere

Re: where is Wine

Postby Essexraptor on Fri Jan 18, 2013 8:05 pm

KeesA wrote:Thank you, I would never find out myself.
How do people know all this?
Is there a book for or something online?



Google it.... try several different search wordings

join and read forums like this ! (also use the search box)

:)
Essexraptor
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:29 am

Re: where is Wine

Postby KeesA on Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:36 pm

I found a site explaining and teaching the use of the terminal and made some progress.
User avatar
KeesA
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:47 pm

Re: where is Wine

Postby Gandalf the White on Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:58 pm

As a fellow Newbie, I have just installed Wine.

Here is how I did it (no offense to the local Gurus).

I assume you have updated and upgraded all your Cinnamon files via your Terminal.
Open your Synaptic Package Manager.
Click on the Search button.
Enter wine in the new popup window.
Click on this new window's Search button.
You might have to slide down the window containing all the packages since the "w" in wine will be at the bottom of the list.
Chick on the S column next to wine package.
You'll want to install all the associated packages.
You should be able take it from here. :P

Sorry, if this procedure is a little off. My memory is not what it used to be. :oops:


Good luck...Gandalf
OS -LinuxMint 64-bit, Release 17, DE: Cinnamon
Image
Reminder: Add [SOLVED] at the beginning of your original subject header.
User avatar
Gandalf the White
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Middle Earth

Re: where is Wine

Postby KeesA on Sat Jan 19, 2013 6:22 am

Hallo Gendalf,
Thanks for the suggestion.
When I found the Wine-packages in Synaptic, I saw that I wanted to delete 1 associated package (the one with the Microsoft Browser) and wanted to install 1 package (the one with the debugger)
Al the associated Wine packages are of the most recent version 1.4.
What I don't understand is that when I click the green field on the left, the options are limited to:

re-install
remove
remove completely

Mark for upgrade is grey and I cannot give it the focus to select this option.
Why is this so, and does it mean I can't upgrade Wine anyhow in the future?
User avatar
KeesA
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:47 pm

Re: where is Wine

Postby Gandalf the White on Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:45 am

KeesA wrote:Hallo Gendalf,
Thanks for the suggestion.
When I found the Wine-packages in Synaptic, I saw that I wanted to delete 1 associated package (the one with the Microsoft Browser) and wanted to install 1 package (the one with the debugger)
Al the associated Wine packages are of the most recent version 1.4.
What I don't understand is that when I click the green field on the left, the options are limited to:

re-install
remove
remove completely

Mark for upgrade is grey and I cannot give it the focus to select this option.
Why is this so, and does it mean I can't upgrade Wine anyhow in the future?

When re-install is selectable, I think that means that wine is already available on your system.
Worse come to worse, you can always reinstall it. Can't see that that would hurt anything, but I am a newbie. :wink:
I think you can find wine in your Menu by selecting All > Winetricks (Install applications on Wine).

As for that last part I have not idea.

Good Luck
OS -LinuxMint 64-bit, Release 17, DE: Cinnamon
Image
Reminder: Add [SOLVED] at the beginning of your original subject header.
User avatar
Gandalf the White
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Middle Earth

Re: where is Wine

Postby TheDynamicHamza21 on Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:22 am

KeesA wrote:Mark for upgrade is grey and I cannot give it the focus to select this option.
Why is this so, and does it mean I can't upgrade Wine anyhow in the future?


Yes you can upgrade. There are two ways to upgrade a program; wait until it becomes available in repositories,which can take weeks to months or never. The second way is to add a ppa to your software sources to upgrade. Here's how to install the lastest version of wine on Mint.

http://www.noobslab.com/2012/12/install ... buntu.html
Linux Registered User: # 573034

www.domeshotsandfatlaces.com
User avatar
TheDynamicHamza21
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:24 pm
Location: California

Re: where is Wine

Postby Gandalf the White on Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:33 am

Today, I found an upgrade available via Synaptic. Version 1.5, I think.
OS -LinuxMint 64-bit, Release 17, DE: Cinnamon
Image
Reminder: Add [SOLVED] at the beginning of your original subject header.
User avatar
Gandalf the White
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Middle Earth

Re: where is Wine

Postby KeesA on Mon Jan 21, 2013 6:49 am

I think I will wait for an official upgrade.
All works fine, so their is no special need to upgrade but I was wondering why this option is not checkable at the moment in Synaptic.
The use of ppa's is on some Linux-boards discouraged.
Some say that ppa's are not always enough tested and can not always be trusted.

Kind regards,

Kees
User avatar
KeesA
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:47 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], expat_tony, Google Adsense [Bot], JWK1, Shunjoss and 24 guests