The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Chat about Linux in general

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby tdockery97 on Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:06 pm

I have a question I didn't see above. If it's been asked already I apologize in advance. Is it possible to port the xfapplet mint menu thingy to LMDE Xfce?
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
Registered Linux User #520972
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4844
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby Schoelje on Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:26 pm

tdockery97 wrote:I have a question I didn't see above. If it's been asked already I apologize in advance. Is it possible to port the xfapplet mint menu thingy to LMDE Xfce?


xfapplet mint menu thingy?
I lost you after "thingy" :D
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby tdockery97 on Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:31 pm

:lol: :lol: I think it's actually called xfce4-applet-plugin. It's what is used to add Mint Menu in Mint 13-14 Xfce.
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
Registered Linux User #520972
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4844
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby Schoelje on Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:51 pm

tdockery97 wrote::lol: :lol: I think it's actually called xfce4-applet-plugin. It's what is used to add Mint Menu in Mint 13-14 Xfce.


It seems an Ubuntu "thingy", but I'll have a look at it when I have some time.
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby zerozero on Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:05 pm

Gene will have to confirm this :lol: but the xfce-applet-plugin-thingy :lol: tdockery is mentioning might work as per his post here
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=118890&p=671817#p671809
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6467
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby tdockery97 on Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:55 pm

Well, I tried the latest iso from the live DVD and video performance (YouTube and similar sites) was absolutely horrid for me. As I spend probably 25% of my computer time watching streaming video, that's a deal breaker. Other live DVD's work just fine on video. I may have to stick to Mint 14 Cinnamon (not a bad thing; it's working great for me).
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
Registered Linux User #520972
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4844
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby GeneC on Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:09 pm

tdockery97 wrote::lol: :lol: I think it's actually called xfce4-applet-plugin. It's what is used to add Mint Menu in Mint 13-14 Xfce.


I don't know why Clem doesn't supply it with LMDE? Its now actually a Mate Applet, and available here.
http://packages.linuxmint.com/pool/main ... et-plugin/

It does work with Mint Menu... in LMDE/XFCE... :)
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon/XFCE)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
LMDE Cin 2.2 (SID)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1538
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby cwsnyder on Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:12 pm

@GeneC: One thing I have found which blanks the screen is if xrandr or another similar program is run which attempts to find your monitor and allowed resolutions.

I am still using xrandr to fix my monitor's resolution to native, and nearly every time xrandr runs, it blanks the screen.
LMDE Mate 64-bit, LM16 Mate 64-bit
Debian Xfce 64-bit, Xubuntu 13.10 64-bit, Xubuntu Trusty Tahr 64-bit, Antergos Xfce 64-bit, PCLinuxOS LXDE 64-bit
cwsnyder
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Nappanee, IN, USA

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby zerozero on Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:17 pm

GeneC wrote:I don't know why Clem doesn't supply it with LMDE?

i'm still looking for the quote :lol: but as far as i recall it needs 4.10
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6467
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby GeneC on Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:35 pm

Yes, I believe that's it...

-------------

Reported sound not working, but I lost it on other OS's on this computer at well. Might have left something unconnected when I changed the power supply last week.... :(

-------------

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1
by cwsnyder on Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:12 pm

@GeneC: One thing I have found which blanks the screen is if xrandr or another similar program is run which attempts to find your monitor and allowed resolutions.

I am still using xrandr to fix my monitor's resolution to native, and nearly every time xrandr runs, it blanks the screen.


Thanks, Thinking it might just be a power savings "thingy" that is built into the monitor (that I can't control).. :evil:

Today, is just one of those days, that computers are ticking me right off.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon/XFCE)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
LMDE Cin 2.2 (SID)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1538
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby cpatrick08 on Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:27 am

Schoelje wrote:
tdockery97 wrote::lol: :lol: I think it's actually called xfce4-applet-plugin. It's what is used to add Mint Menu in Mint 13-14 Xfce.


It seems an Ubuntu "thingy", but I'll have a look at it when I have some time.


I got it to work in a VM just have to do the following steps to get it to work
1. install xfce4-xfappletplugin from http://packages.linuxmint.com/pool/main ... et-plugin/
2. open terminal and cd to location you downloaded .deb to and run sudo dpkg -i xfce4-xfapplet-plugin_0.1.0-4mint2_amd64.deb or i386 if running 32 bit
3. it will complain about some mate package errors, to fix it run sudo apt-get -f install to get the packages it needs.
4. install mintmenu sudo apt-get install mintmenu
5. right click on bottom panel go to panel and go to add new items and add the Xfapplet to panel
6. move the Xfapplet to where you want it before adding the mentmenu applet as it cannot be moved after adding it.
7. right click on applet and select properties and select mintmenu
8. enjoy mintmenu on your LMDE Xfce Unofficial machine
Attachments
Mintmenu_LMDE_Xfce_Unofficial.png
Mintmenu on LMDE Xfce Unofficial
Mintmenu_LMDE_Xfce_Unofficial.png (138.64 KiB) Viewed 1426 times
cpatrick08
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 2:17 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby webworker on Wed Jan 23, 2013 6:19 am

viele Grüße
vom webworker
webworker
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Germany - Deutschland - Gunzenhausen

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby Schoelje on Wed Jan 23, 2013 6:45 am

webworker wrote:Hello Schoelje,

the mirror for the xfce up6sr1 is up to date :)

http://erwin-reichel.de/lmde/lmdexfce32 ... 201301.iso
http://erwin-reichel.de/lmde/lmdexfce64 ... 201301.iso


Thanks, webworker!
I've updated the download section at the beginning of the thread.

Btw, can you see how often the iso's are downloaded from your site?
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby webworker on Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:14 am

Schoelje wrote:Btw, can you see how often the iso's are downloaded from your site?


/lmde/lmdekde64_up6sr1_201212.iso 64
/lmde/lmdekde32_up6sr1_201212.iso 60
/lmde/lmdexfce64_up6_201301.iso 44

total 168
viele Grüße
vom webworker
webworker
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Germany - Deutschland - Gunzenhausen

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby Schoelje on Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:32 am

webworker wrote:
Schoelje wrote:Btw, can you see how often the iso's are downloaded from your site?


/lmde/lmdekde64_up6sr1_201212.iso 64
/lmde/lmdekde32_up6sr1_201212.iso 60
/lmde/lmdexfce64_up6_201301.iso 44

total 168


Not bad for an unofficial distro.
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby GeneC on Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:19 am

GeneC wrote:-------------

Reported sound not working, but I lost it on other OS's on this computer at well. Might have left something unconnected when I changed the power supply last week.... :(

-------------



It wasn't a hardware problem. Sound worked fine on my SID installations.
Probably peculiar to my hardware (I added an aux. sound card, in additon to the built in card, that had problems .)
I haven't seen anyone else complain of sound problems, but just in case some have...

I am using the Soundblaster card. (Card-2)

Code: Select all
gene@lmdeup6:~$ inxi -A
Audio:     Card-1: NVIDIA GF104 High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.24
           Card-2: Creative Labs CA0106 Soundblaster driver: snd_ca0106
           Card-3: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver: snd_hda_intel


Could only get sound to work by installing.

Pulse Audio Volume Control (pavucontrol)
Code: Select all
pavucontrol (1.0-1)
pulseaudio-esound-compat (2.0-6)
pulseaudio-module-gconf (2.0-6)
pulseaudio-module-zeroconf (2.0-6)


And adjusting settings=
Image
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon/XFCE)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
LMDE Cin 2.2 (SID)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1538
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby ukbrian on Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:20 am

Best Wheezy I've tried so far, well done!

Running on an AMD 4 core desktop

With a fresh install and immediately installing the PAE kernel when I boot up after selecting in the grub menu and before the login screen I get this error
Code: Select all
process(283) Glib-warning  getpwuid-r() failed due to unknown user id (0)
I don't know if it matters as it seems to run OK

I would suggest with the live desktop you set the desktop settings>Icons Icon-size to 40, use a Custom font size of 8 and untick Filesystem and removable drives for a better desktop with the icon labels fully displayed.

I would also add pavucontrol(PulseAudio Volume Control)
User avatar
ukbrian
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:03 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby GeneC on Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:58 am

Hi Brian.

Long time...
Nice to see another XFCE fan here... :wink:
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon/XFCE)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
LMDE Cin 2.2 (SID)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1538
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby GeneC on Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:42 am

ukbrian wrote:...................
With a fresh install and immediately installing the PAE kernel when I boot up after selecting in the grub menu and before the login screen I get this error
Code: Select all
process(283) Glib-warning  getpwuid-r() failed due to unknown user id (0)
I don't know if it matters as it seems to run OK
............


Known Bug! (Plymouth related)
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/532984
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon/XFCE)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
LMDE Cin 2.2 (SID)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1538
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: The unofficial LMDE Xfce UP6 SR1

Postby ukbrian on Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:06 pm

GeneC wrote:Hi Brian.
Long time...
Nice to see another XFCE fan here... :wink:
Hi Gene
Yea, I can't see me leaving Xfce I'm liking all the improvements that have been added during the last 2 years.
I'm still using my xfce custom menus that live on my data partition, it's been 2 years now and I still love them.

I'm always about on the forum, just nothing of consequence to say.

I've been following/installing Schoelje's fine efforts since the start, incredibly fast, solid development and a good end product, I'm just a bit nervous of when the freeze ends.
User avatar
ukbrian
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:03 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Chat about Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: acermint and 7 guests