Probable dunce type question

Forums for the KDE Edition
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Probable dunce type question

Postby gregr1969 on Sat Jan 26, 2013 2:43 am

If I'm running LM 14 Xfce, can I actually do an in place upgrade to KDE or would it have to be a new install?


Greg
gregr1969
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:13 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Probable dunce type question

Postby caf4926 on Sat Jan 26, 2013 2:47 am

It's just a matter of installing the kde desktop meta package from software manager
It's not an upgrade, you are just installing additional software
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Probable dunce type question

Postby caf4926 on Sat Jan 26, 2013 2:49 am

caf4926 wrote:It's just a matter of installing the kde desktop meta package from software manager
It's not an upgrade, you are just installing additional software


I should add though
I much prefer kde installed clean with the kde DVD
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Probable dunce type question

Postby gregr1969 on Sat Jan 26, 2013 3:10 am

OK...so if I have drive 1 that is sytem/boot etc
drive 2 that is just home
and drive 3 that is a data drive

could I just install KDE clean from the DVD and point it at drive 1 for sys and boot new install and point it at drive 2 for my home directory with no changes to data when it installs?

Thanks so much in advance
gregr1969
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:13 am

Re: Probable dunce type question

Postby caf4926 on Sat Jan 26, 2013 3:53 am

gregr1969 wrote:OK...so if I have drive 1 that is sytem/boot etc
drive 2 that is just home
and drive 3 that is a data drive

could I just install KDE clean from the DVD and point it at drive 1 for sys and boot new install and point it at drive 2 for my home directory with no changes to data when it installs?

Thanks so much in advance

Correct
Just be sure not to set /home for format. But you must set the mount point /home
see: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/Mint_ ... deshow.mkv
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Probable dunce type question

Postby caf4926 on Sat Jan 26, 2013 3:57 am

Be sure you use exactly the same username to access your data in /home
or might think it all got nuked :-)
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Probable dunce type question

Postby gregr1969 on Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:39 pm

thanks Tony

Got it sorted now. Just have the ubiquitous Executing 'grub-install /dev/sda' failed. Fatal Error. problem now :)
gregr1969
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:13 am

Re: Probable dunce type question

Postby caf4926 on Sun Jan 27, 2013 1:03 am

gregr1969 wrote:thanks Tony

Got it sorted now. Just have the ubiquitous Executing 'grub-install /dev/sda' failed. Fatal Error. problem now :)

You need to tell us more about what exactly you have done.
What HD's and partitions... etc.....
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests