[Solved] Can't Install Anything with Software Manager

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

[Solved] Can't Install Anything with Software Manager

Postby jinxella on Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:56 pm

Well, this is my first day with Linux Mint. (Some experience prior, enough to get myself in trouble, apparently.) Trying to get my wireless to work, I found a video that said to install a few things from the software manager. Click 'install' nothing happens. Searched the internet for help, found two solutions.

First solution (from viewtopic.php?f=90&t=112444):
sudo mv /var/lib/dpkg/info/install-info.postinst /var/lib/dpkg/info/install-info.postinst.bad

It didn't help. More searching led me here: viewtopic.php?f=90&t=93776
At the end of the thread, someone suggested this:
sudo mv /var/lib/apt/lists /var/lib/apt/lists.old
sudo mkdir -p /var/lib/apt/lists/partial
sudo apt-get update

Now, in software manager, I can't see any of the not installed packages. Where it was some 35000 packages available, there are now 1916.

If you help me, I promise not to just randomly type things I find online without making sure I know exactly what I'm doing in the future. ^_^
Last edited by jinxella on Sun Jan 27, 2013 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jinxella
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:48 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Can't Install Anything with Software Manager

Postby viking777 on Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:56 am

Well the commands to reverse what you have done are quite simple so lets start there.

Code: Select all
sudo mv /var/lib/dpkg/info/install-info.postinst.bad  /var/lib/dpkg/info/install-info.postinst

sudo rm -rf /var/lib/apt/lists

sudo mv /var/lib/apt/lists.old  /var/lib/apt/lists

sudo apt-get update
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Can't Install Anything with Software Manager

Postby jinxella on Sat Jan 26, 2013 8:45 pm

Thank you! That absolutely worked. I promise not to do anything that I can't figure out how to undo on my own from now on.

I feel like I probably have more reading to do to figure out why I can't install anything. But if anyone has ideas, those would be welcome as well. I've only tried to install broadcom-sta-common and broadcom-sta-source, because I read somewhere that I needed those to get my wifi working.

Lots to learn still. :)
jinxella
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: Can't Install Anything with Software Manager

Postby viking777 on Sun Jan 27, 2013 5:25 am

There are two alternatives to the Software Manager, Synaptic (the package manager) and the command line so try those. Synaptic is just a gui you should be able work that out without me explaining it, the command to install broadcom-sta-common would be:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install broadcom-sta-common


If you try that and get some errors paste them here that might give us a clue.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Can't Install Anything with Software Manager

Postby jinxella on Sun Jan 27, 2013 1:07 pm

So, yes, that worked. Also, connecting to the internet helped. I don't know why I was under the impression that the packages were there, just not 'installed', but I was. Things work quite differently when you can actually access the things you are trying to install. :)

Thank you!!!
jinxella
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:48 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mute Ant and 43 guests