TOR - running or not

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

TOR - running or not

Postby zkab on Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:52 am

I have LMDE (3.0.0-1-amd64) and installed TOR according to instructions from www.torproject.org
When I start Vidalia it tells me TOR is running OK (green onion) and the message log looks OK to me:

jan 09 15:23:06.850 [Notice] Tor v0.2.2.35 (git-73ff13ab3cc9570d). This is experimental software. Do not rely on it for strong anonymity. (Running on Linux x86_64)
jan 09 15:23:06.850 [Notice] Initialized libevent version 1.4.13-stable using method epoll. Good.
jan 09 15:23:06.850 [Notice] Opening Socks listener on 127.0.0.1:9050
jan 09 15:23:06.850 [Notice] Opening Control listener on 127.0.0.1:9051
jan 09 15:23:06.851 [Notice] Parsing GEOIP file /usr/share/tor/geoip.
jan 09 15:23:07.388 [Notice] OpenSSL OpenSSL 0.9.8o 01 Jun 2010 looks like version 0.9.8m or later; I will try SSL_OP to enable renegotiation
jan 09 15:23:07.388 [Notice] We now have enough directory information to build circuits.
jan 09 15:23:07.388 [Notice] Bootstrapped 80%: Connecting to the Tor network.
jan 09 15:23:07.388 [Notice] New control connection opened.
jan 09 15:23:08.314 [Notice] Bootstrapped 85%: Finishing handshake with first hop.
jan 09 15:23:08.609 [Notice] Bootstrapped 90%: Establishing a Tor circuit.
jan 09 15:23:09.204 [Notice] Tor has successfully opened a circuit. Looks like client functionality is working.
jan 09 15:23:09.204 [Notice] Bootstrapped 100%: Done.

but check.torproject.org tells me that I am not connected to TOR and also my IP is not changed
When I hit 'View the Network' in Vidalia it shows me a bunch of TOR servers.

As I understand I am connected to TOR - but why is my IP not changed and why does check.torproject.org show me that I am not connected ... hmmm
zkab
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 7:46 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: TOR - running or not

Postby Roken on Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:39 am

Because your web browser hasn't been told to use the tor proxy. You can set it up manually, but the easier way is to use the tor button (https://www.torproject.org/torbutton/)

I note that they say tor button is no longer supported as an add on for Firefox (though it's working fine here in Iceweasel 8) but you can download their build of the tor browser bundle which comes pre-configured.
Kernel Linux Tex 3.2.2-1 (64 bit) xfce , burg
Arch
ATI Radeon HD 4670, 1GB
OSS4
AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked)
8Gb RAM
Image
User avatar
Roken
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Oldham, UK

Re: TOR - running or not

Postby zkab on Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:27 pm

Thanks - I set it up manually in Firefox (Pref/Adv/Netw/Settings) as follows:

SOCKS Host:127.0.0.1 Port:9050
SOCKS v5 (checked)
No Proxy for: localhost, 127.0.0.1

and now I have green onions everywhere.
But message log gives me:

jan 09 18:01:28.425 [Warning] Your application (using socks5 to port 443) is giving Tor only an IP address. Applications that do DNS resolves themselves may leak information. Consider using Socks4A (e.g. via privoxy or socat) instead. For more information, please see https://wiki.torproject.org/TheOnionRou ... OCKSAndDNS.

Is this something I should worry about ?
How do I 'Consider using Socks4A (e.g. via privoxy or socat) instead.' ?
zkab
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 7:46 pm

Re: TOR - running or not

Postby xenopeek on Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:51 pm

You can use the self-contained Tor Browser Bundle as an alternative. Just extract, and running it will give you Firefox connected to Tor. I managed to get Tor working in the past, without the Tor Browser Bundle, and IIRC I indeed had to setup Privoxy as a local proxy between Firefox and Tor.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15464
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: TOR - running or not

Postby zkab on Mon Jan 09, 2012 7:06 pm

Yes - Tor Browser Bundle seems the most convenient way to go.
But when I run the script start-tor-browser it gives me following:

Qt: Session management error: None of the authentication protocols specified are supported

Should that be a concern ?
And how can I make Firefox that is launched automatically to start with maximized window ?
zkab
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 7:46 pm

Re: TOR - running or not

Postby Myself on Sun Mar 18, 2012 8:35 am

I installed Tor in LMDE as specified on the Tor website and it works well with Iceweasel.

I have tried the bundle using ./start-tor-browser but it never starts only gives and error message, or opens in gedit.

I can get the tor bundle to work in some other distributions by just double clicking on the start-tor-bundle script and I was using Ubuntu 10.04 last night and after doing updates, and installing some extra software, I found that I could double click on the start-tor-browser bundle script, and other scripts and they worked. Have no idea what software I installed that allows this to happen but wish I did.

In LMDE I have noticed using Vidalia gives same error as shown above but when opening Iceweasel, set to use Tor, it goes to the check.tor page and shows that Tor is active and working but it doesn't show up in Task Manager. This must mean that Tor is constantly running as a hidden service. Does anyone know how to stop it when not required?
CPU = U9300, 4GB RAM, Intel GM45 Graphics @ resolution 1366x768, 128GB internal drive, 6TB external storage, Main OS = LMDE Xfce 64bit UP4. 2nd OS = LMDE Xfce 64bit UP4, Other installed OSs = Bodhi 1.4.0, Ubuntu 10.04 & 12.04, Mandriva & Windows.
Myself
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:42 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: TOR - running or not

Postby craigevil on Sun Mar 18, 2012 4:38 pm

torbutton works great with Firefox 11. Vidalia starts when KDE loads. You can also set tor at the desktop level using Network Settings in system settings. I use polipo rather than privoxy.

Sent from my MOTWX435KT using Tapatalk
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole

Re: TOR - running or not

Postby Sammaul on Sun Mar 18, 2012 6:54 pm

I also use Privoxy, I like the option to turn TOR on and off easily in Firefox. I do occasionally use TOR desktop wide, but only rarely. There are some excellent proxy services out there, and easily set up, but they are all pay services. I find I do not have such a need for proxies that paying for one would be an option however.
Sammaul
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:48 pm

Re: TOR - running or not

Postby dedanna1029 on Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:08 pm

zkab wrote:Thanks - I set it up manually in Firefox (Pref/Adv/Netw/Settings) as follows:

SOCKS Host:127.0.0.1 Port:9050
SOCKS v5 (checked)
No Proxy for: localhost, 127.0.0.1

and now I have green onions everywhere.
But message log gives me:

jan 09 18:01:28.425 [Warning] Your application (using socks5 to port 443) is giving Tor only an IP address. Applications that do DNS resolves themselves may leak information. Consider using Socks4A (e.g. via privoxy or socat) instead. For more information, please see https://wiki.torproject.org/TheOnionRou ... OCKSAndDNS.

Is this something I should worry about ?
How do I 'Consider using Socks4A (e.g. via privoxy or socat) instead.' ?

For future reference, in this case Tor is not running in Firefox. You need to check Socks 4. Tor/Vidalia will not work with Socks 5.
dedanna1029
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:01 pm

Re: TOR - running or not

Postby dedanna1029 on Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:31 pm

Myself wrote:In LMDE I have noticed using Vidalia gives same error as shown above but when opening Iceweasel, set to use Tor, it goes to the check.tor page and shows that Tor is active and working but it doesn't show up in Task Manager. This must mean that Tor is constantly running as a hidden service. Does anyone know how to stop it when not required?

TBH, you don't really want to go start-for-browser. Vidalia has its own Stop button for Tor, and this is the kind of thing that Vidalia is for. It's a GUI for Tor, nothing more, and is the reason it's bundled with Tor:

Image

You could conceivably try:
Code: Select all
/etc/init.d/tor stop

However, it doesn't work for me.

Edit: If you're just referring to within the browser, what I do is have one browser that runs Tor for safe browsing, then use another one that doesn't for regular/routine browsing..
dedanna1029
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:01 pm

Re: TOR - running or not

Postby xtra5 on Sat Jan 26, 2013 9:56 pm

dedanna1029 wrote:
zkab wrote:Thanks - I set it up manually in Firefox (Pref/Adv/Netw/Settings) as follows:

SOCKS Host:127.0.0.1 Port:9050
SOCKS v5 (checked)
No Proxy for: localhost, 127.0.0.1

and now I have green onions everywhere.
But message log gives me:

jan 09 18:01:28.425 [Warning] Your application (using socks5 to port 443) is giving Tor only an IP address. Applications that do DNS resolves themselves may leak information. Consider using Socks4A (e.g. via privoxy or socat) instead. For more information, please see https://wiki.torproject.org/TheOnionRou ... OCKSAndDNS.

Is this something I should worry about ?
How do I 'Consider using Socks4A (e.g. via privoxy or socat) instead.' ?

For future reference, in this case Tor is not running in Firefox. You need to check Socks 4. Tor/Vidalia will not work with Socks 5.


tor work prefectly on socks5 just edit your browser to use remote dns
about:config then lookup for "proxy remote dns" to enable it,i think this step not have much security concern,correct me if i wrong.
xtra5
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:18 am

Re: TOR - running or not

Postby zkab on Sun Jan 27, 2013 5:01 am

OK - thanks
zkab
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 7:46 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests