1920*1080 resolution

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

1920*1080 resolution

Postby dxtiger on Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:57 am

Hello,

I recently installed Linux Mint 14 to dual boot with windows 7, I did all the updates and installed the ATI drivers for my card (HD5750) from AMD site and the problem is that I'm able to set to 1920*1080 but it doesnt cover my full screen i get thick black borders on all sides.

If anyone knows a solution plz post.

Thank you
dxtiger
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:51 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: 1920*1080 resolution

Postby grimdestripador on Sat Jan 26, 2013 7:01 am

Not a user of ATI myself, But is there a setting to go from "Center" to "Stretch"

If not; see my other post about stretching using the command xrandr

viewtopic.php?f=46&t=70124&p=407765&hilit=xrandr#p407765
User avatar
grimdestripador
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:26 am

Re: 1920*1080 resolution

Postby dxtiger on Sat Jan 26, 2013 7:11 am

Im new to this linux wolrd can you explain step by step how I do that?
And if I scale wouldn't i loose quality?
dxtiger
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:51 am

Re: 1920*1080 resolution

Postby dxtiger on Sat Jan 26, 2013 3:36 pm

Bump
dxtiger
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:51 am

Re: 1920*1080 resolution

Postby grimdestripador on Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:14 pm

I'm assuming that since your chose 1920*1080 resolution you want this resolution in particular. If it is not your monitor's native resolution, then yes. you would loose quality, as the comptuer must scale some pixiles. You monitor will automatically rescale, if perhaps you gave it 1024x768, but since its 1980x1080 it seems that it wants to continue to use your monitors native (perahps a bit bigger since you have black borders).

My suggestions to remove the black borders.
1) Switch to the native resolution of your monitor
2) If you still want to be 1920x1080, then you would need to scale.
User avatar
grimdestripador
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:26 am

Re: 1920*1080 resolution

Postby dxtiger on Sun Jan 27, 2013 6:24 am

Yes my screen native resolution is 1920*1080, can you explain me how I scale then ?
And if I scale will it save or I will have to do it every time I login?
dxtiger
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:51 am

Re: 1920*1080 resolution

Postby exploder on Sun Jan 27, 2013 8:07 am

I found the 304 drivers do the best job of getting my screen resolution right. I have an HP 25" wide screen monitor and my default screen resolution is 1920 x 1080.
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5912
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: 1920*1080 resolution

Postby dxtiger on Sun Jan 27, 2013 8:20 am

304 drivers? arent thoose for Nvidia? I have an ATI HD5750
dxtiger
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:51 am

Re: 1920*1080 resolution

Postby exploder on Sun Jan 27, 2013 8:27 am

304 drivers? arent thoose for Nvidia? I have an ATI HD5750


My apologies, it's early here and I have not had enough coffee yet... Sorry. :oops:

Edit: Have you tried any of the drivers in the software sources? My laptop is using ATI graphics. I had trouble installing the proprietary drivers, had to install them twice and it said the install failed but the drivers are working just fine. I have the exact same ATI card as you but it is currently not installed in any of my machines.
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5912
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: 1920*1080 resolution

Postby AlbertP on Sun Jan 27, 2013 8:32 am

Please run inxi -Gx in terminal and post the output.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6522
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 1920*1080 resolution

Postby pluraldave on Sun Jan 27, 2013 8:34 am

Sounds more like standard ati underscan. I think you'll want to look at http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Configuring. I would guess the command you want is:

Code: Select all
sudo aticonfig --set-pcs-val=MCIL,DigitalHDTVDefaultUnderscan,0


If that doesn't help (after reboot?) keep reading from the above link.

Alternatively you may or may not have an over/underscan slider in the ati configuration tool, it seems it depends on how it recognises the monitor.
User avatar
pluraldave
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 8:05 am

Re: 1920*1080 resolution

Postby dxtiger on Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:37 am

pluraldave wrote:Sounds more like standard ati underscan. I think you'll want to look at http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Configuring. I would guess the command you want is:

Code: Select all
sudo aticonfig --set-pcs-val=MCIL,DigitalHDTVDefaultUnderscan,0


If that doesn't help (after reboot?) keep reading from the above link.

Alternatively you may or may not have an over/underscan slider in the ati configuration tool, it seems it depends on how it recognises the monitor.


It worked.
Thank you all.
dxtiger
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:51 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: IMH, JeremyB, kr0mka and 17 guests