[Solved]Getting this error msg when updating...

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

[Solved]Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby robert.thompson on Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:09 pm

ErrorMsg.jpeg
ErrorMsg.jpeg (21.82 KiB) Viewed 347 times


Can not update my system.

Does anyone know what I need to do to fix this?

Thanks,

Rob.
Last edited by robert.thompson on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Rob.
"Action is the universal solution; do the inevitable immediately!"

Lenovo ThinkPad T520 - 8Gb ram. Intel CORE i7 vPro , Mint 16 Cinnamon, windows 7
http://www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com
robert.thompson
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:28 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby viking777 on Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:13 pm

Make sure you don't have any update utilities running then

Code: Select all
sudo rm /var/lib/apt/lists/lock
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby robert.thompson on Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:38 pm

Thank you, I'll give it a try! :)
Rob.
"Action is the universal solution; do the inevitable immediately!"

Lenovo ThinkPad T520 - 8Gb ram. Intel CORE i7 vPro , Mint 16 Cinnamon, windows 7
http://www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com
robert.thompson
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:28 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Re: Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby robert.thompson on Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:37 pm

I think that my Update Manager is toast.

Is there something wrong with the repositories?

The manager starts to down load updates and then hangs.
Rob.
"Action is the universal solution; do the inevitable immediately!"

Lenovo ThinkPad T520 - 8Gb ram. Intel CORE i7 vPro , Mint 16 Cinnamon, windows 7
http://www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com
robert.thompson
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:28 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Re: Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby robert.thompson on Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:51 pm

Is there a way to re-install the Update Manager using get-app?

Thanks,

Rob
Rob.
"Action is the universal solution; do the inevitable immediately!"

Lenovo ThinkPad T520 - 8Gb ram. Intel CORE i7 vPro , Mint 16 Cinnamon, windows 7
http://www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com
robert.thompson
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:28 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Re: Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby Zorba on Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:56 pm

Run these 2 commans and you'll be fine :D :D
Code: Select all
sudo rm /var/lib/apt/lists/* -vf
sudo apt-get update
Image
User avatar
Zorba
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2308
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:12 pm
Location: Tunisia

Re: Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby robert.thompson on Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:37 am

Thank you.

I guess that there is something else broken - the command just hangs when executed:

Terminal1.jpeg
Terminal1.jpeg (124.93 KiB) Viewed 295 times


Does anyone know what is wrong?

Thanks,

Rob.
Rob.
"Action is the universal solution; do the inevitable immediately!"

Lenovo ThinkPad T520 - 8Gb ram. Intel CORE i7 vPro , Mint 16 Cinnamon, windows 7
http://www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com
robert.thompson
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:28 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Re: Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby robert.thompson on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:16 am

I gave up.

I decided to trash my 64 bit installation and install the 32 bit version instead.

Rob.
Rob.
"Action is the universal solution; do the inevitable immediately!"

Lenovo ThinkPad T520 - 8Gb ram. Intel CORE i7 vPro , Mint 16 Cinnamon, windows 7
http://www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com
robert.thompson
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:28 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, scoint and 29 guests