[Solved]Getting this error msg when updating...

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

[Solved]Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby robert.thompson on Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:09 pm

ErrorMsg.jpeg
ErrorMsg.jpeg (21.82 KiB) Viewed 367 times


Can not update my system.

Does anyone know what I need to do to fix this?

Thanks,

Rob.
Last edited by robert.thompson on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Rob.
"Action is the universal solution; do the inevitable immediately!"

Lenovo ThinkPad T520 - 8Gb ram. Intel CORE i7 vPro , Mint 16 Cinnamon, windows 7
http://www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com
robert.thompson
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:28 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby viking777 on Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:13 pm

Make sure you don't have any update utilities running then

Code: Select all
sudo rm /var/lib/apt/lists/lock
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby robert.thompson on Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:38 pm

Thank you, I'll give it a try! :)
Rob.
"Action is the universal solution; do the inevitable immediately!"

Lenovo ThinkPad T520 - 8Gb ram. Intel CORE i7 vPro , Mint 16 Cinnamon, windows 7
http://www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com
robert.thompson
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:28 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Re: Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby robert.thompson on Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:37 pm

I think that my Update Manager is toast.

Is there something wrong with the repositories?

The manager starts to down load updates and then hangs.
Rob.
"Action is the universal solution; do the inevitable immediately!"

Lenovo ThinkPad T520 - 8Gb ram. Intel CORE i7 vPro , Mint 16 Cinnamon, windows 7
http://www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com
robert.thompson
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:28 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Re: Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby robert.thompson on Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:51 pm

Is there a way to re-install the Update Manager using get-app?

Thanks,

Rob
Rob.
"Action is the universal solution; do the inevitable immediately!"

Lenovo ThinkPad T520 - 8Gb ram. Intel CORE i7 vPro , Mint 16 Cinnamon, windows 7
http://www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com
robert.thompson
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:28 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Re: Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby Zorba on Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:56 pm

Run these 2 commans and you'll be fine :D :D
Code: Select all
sudo rm /var/lib/apt/lists/* -vf
sudo apt-get update
Image
User avatar
Zorba
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:12 pm
Location: Tunisia

Re: Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby robert.thompson on Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:37 am

Thank you.

I guess that there is something else broken - the command just hangs when executed:

Terminal1.jpeg
Terminal1.jpeg (124.93 KiB) Viewed 315 times


Does anyone know what is wrong?

Thanks,

Rob.
Rob.
"Action is the universal solution; do the inevitable immediately!"

Lenovo ThinkPad T520 - 8Gb ram. Intel CORE i7 vPro , Mint 16 Cinnamon, windows 7
http://www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com
robert.thompson
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:28 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Re: Getting this error msg when updating...

Postby robert.thompson on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:16 am

I gave up.

I decided to trash my 64 bit installation and install the 32 bit version instead.

Rob.
Rob.
"Action is the universal solution; do the inevitable immediately!"

Lenovo ThinkPad T520 - 8Gb ram. Intel CORE i7 vPro , Mint 16 Cinnamon, windows 7
http://www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com
robert.thompson
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:28 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], tellymandeus and 32 guests