Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?

Postby proxima_centauri on Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:22 pm

Regarding popular usage of the term "gnome3", I think it should refer to gnome-shell desktop, as it is the "defining technology of the GNOME3 user experience". When you use the term "GNOME3", without further explanation, the default desktop you are using is should be gnome-shell. Anything else is not distributed or provided by GNOME.

Unity, cinnamon, consort, etc, may all be built on GNOME3, but only in the sense of shared applications or libraries. The core user or desktop experience is something different, and not GNOME in the sense of the desktop environment it provides. I don't think it makes sense to call these other desktops GNOME3 since they've removed the core technology of what the GNOME3 experience is.

Or that's just my thoughts. :lol:
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?

Postby bimsebasse on Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:28 pm

It just adds confusion, though. Gnome has given a specific name to the shell, might as well use that when talking about it. And you might use default out of the box Gnome 3, but log into a classic session, in which case you are using Gnome 3 certainly, but not Gnome Shell.
Thank you for this thread. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this forum into something special. You clearly know what you are doing, you’ve covered so many bases. Thanks!
User avatar
bimsebasse
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1709
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?

Postby proxima_centauri on Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:01 pm

Perhaps. There is the differentiation between the GNOME3 base of libraries and applications (and desktops build from that); and the actual desktop environment provided under the GNOME brand. But as they say life is too short to care about trivial details like this. :D
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?

Postby MALsPa on Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:15 pm

bimsebasse wrote:And you might use default out of the box Gnome 3, but log into a classic session, in which case you are using Gnome 3 certainly, but not Gnome Shell.


To me, that point alone is enough reason not to say "GNOME 3" when you mean "GNOME Shell."
User avatar
MALsPa
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2030
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:17 pm
Location: albuquerque

Re: Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?

Postby raymerjacque on Tue Jan 29, 2013 3:22 pm

i did not install gnome onto cinnamon or onto unity. I installed it on a clean mate edition that had no gnome on it. it is to my knowledge the default classic gnome3 desktop enviroment complete. or am i wrong ?

And yes i have quite alot of extensions installed, the extensions is what makes gnome, its same as firefox, without extensions its the worst browser in the world, but add few extensions and its a master piece...

I think im going to make a better video, more in depth about mate, compiz, gnome, cinnamon etc etc and compare them all.

Cinnamon is not bad, but it is not without bugs either. I run a laptop with a Core I5 2.67ghz ( turbo boost to 2.93ghz), 2 cores, 4 threads, 17" display, 6GB Ram, ATI 5650 1GB dedicated Gfx card. it can play any game that is available, run maya, autocad, blender, Daz studio, photoshop and all the other utilities i use without problems. So its not my fault that cinnamon has glitches with this GFX card, it is a bug that was around in mint13 as well and still is not fixed. I had a nvidia card with my old PC, and i had endless issues with having to edit the xorg file to get that working, hence i rather went ATI route, and now i find it has issues with ATI too. Gnome3 runs out the box, without issues...
MakuluLinux - The Big chief has spoken !.
check this out : http://www.makululinux.com
User avatar
raymerjacque
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:22 am
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?

Postby cwwgateway on Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:20 pm

I've been trying lots of distros lately (openSUSE, Arch, Fedora, Ubuntu, etc.), and I have installed gnome shell on a few of them. AFAIK all of the distros' Gnome Shell packages are called "gnome-shell" (although I believe arch has a group called "gnome", but I think gnome-shell is still a package), so I think gnome shell is the appropriate term, especially when considering how Gnome 3 without the shell is used in Cinnamon, Gnome Classic, Consort, etc. As for using it, the last time I gave it a big try was on Ubuntu 12.04 with Gnome 3.4 right after 12.04 was released (and I used it for at least a week non-stop). I've tried Gnome Shell 3.6 in Fedora and 3.4 in Debian (which I also have installed right now, but I don't use it). I find 3.4 to be solid and, while I prefer Cinnamon and Xfce, I find it very usable. 3.6 seems to be less functional and intuitive, although I haven't given it a fair shot (I've only tried it briefly). Personally I see no improvements in 3.6 that particularly interest me, and it has gotten worse in some areas (I'm thinking nautilus specifically). Distros that I actually install are mostly Debian based (and 3.6 is still in experimental and will be for a while), and I keep a Mint LTS for steam and netflix. None of these distros have 3.6 yet, so I can't try it as thoroughly as 3.4.
Dell XPS 15 l502x - Debian Testing 64-bit NetInst Xfce, SolydX 64-bit Debian Testing, SolydK 64-bit SolydXK Testing
Old Gateway Pentium 4 Desktop - Arch Linux 64-bit Xfce and SolydX 32-bit Sid
cwwgateway
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:44 pm

Re: Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?

Postby jungle_boy on Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:46 pm

raymerjacque wrote:here is an updated vid clip of my Gnome3 running on Mate Edition : http://youtu.be/PG567W2OMQk

set quality to HD to get nice full effects in fullscreen.


Beautiful!

Did you try colored plastic icons with Gnomishgray theme, or faenza dark icons with Gnomishdark theme?

There are (in my opinion), nice options too.
LM17 Cinnamon (PC and Notebook) with AMD Catalyst
HP Pavilion g4-1316br, AMD Quad Core, 1,5 GHz, Radeon 6520G/7450M,
Image
Linuxcounter Registered User #506065 (2008)
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1215
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest, Brazil

Re: Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?

Postby raymerjacque on Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:51 pm

ill try that :)
MakuluLinux - The Big chief has spoken !.
check this out : http://www.makululinux.com
User avatar
raymerjacque
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:22 am
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: Steam should be included in the software Manager of Mint

Postby Zorba on Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:53 pm

By the way I have been following your thread "Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?" and thought maybe you should take a look at http://cinnamon.linuxmint.com/ :D :D
Image
User avatar
Zorba
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2280
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:12 pm
Location: Tunisia

Re: Steam should be included in the software Manager of Mint

Postby raymerjacque on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:01 pm

yip saw that and i tried some of the aplets, quite impressive considering how new cinnamon still is. but my problem still exists, i cannot autohide the bottom panel ( and i cant work with it not hidden ). if i auto hide it and mouse over to bring it up there is some really ugly tearing that happens on screen, i have tried tweaks in catalyst panel, tried all the different drivers including ones from ati site. nothing works. So until that is fixed i cant run Cinnamon :( i found many topics on the issue and so far no one has a solution, i have even tried editing files as possible fixes suggested, none of that worked either.

But i am happy with how my Gnome3 is setup, i have changed it again since i posted that clip, i think i have it feeling nice and comfortable now so for time being im good, ill check cinnamon on version 15 again :)

Im gonna make a new vid clip of how it looks now, just to shows how much it can be changed with simple few clicks :D
MakuluLinux - The Big chief has spoken !.
check this out : http://www.makululinux.com
User avatar
raymerjacque
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:22 am
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: Steam should be included in the software Manager of Mint

Postby Zorba on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:11 pm

"Auto-hide panel" works outa box here. But if you think its a bug report at https://launchpad.net/. I think they should include an "intellihide" option just like in cairo dock!! IIt would be great I think :roll: :roll: BTW since you are anew user I think you should know of http://linuxmint-art.org/ :D
Image
User avatar
Zorba
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2280
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:12 pm
Location: Tunisia

Re: Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?

Postby raymerjacque on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:29 pm

new clip is here, its a much more standard look, just tweaked a bit to make it feel more "windows like". But can you see how different the 2 clips look from just a few tweaks ?

its a pitty VLC doesnt show the mouse while recording, but keep your eyes on the bottom panel, you will see the mouse over highlights alot in this clip, specialy when alot of previews are flashing across the screen.

Remember for best quality to see full effects set quality to 720p HD

link : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fp22ac935Gk
MakuluLinux - The Big chief has spoken !.
check this out : http://www.makululinux.com
User avatar
raymerjacque
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:22 am
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: Steam should be included in the software Manager of Mint

Postby raymerjacque on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:29 pm

just posted a second clip in that thread :)
MakuluLinux - The Big chief has spoken !.
check this out : http://www.makululinux.com
User avatar
raymerjacque
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:22 am
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: Steam should be included in the software Manager of Mint

Postby Zorba on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:35 pm

Image
User avatar
Zorba
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2280
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:12 pm
Location: Tunisia

Re: Steam should be included in the software Manager of Mint

Postby raymerjacque on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:36 pm

nope, the gnome thread : viewtopic.php?f=205&t=124056&start=20

check bottom of page 2.
MakuluLinux - The Big chief has spoken !.
check this out : http://www.makululinux.com
User avatar
raymerjacque
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:22 am
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?

Postby Zorba on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:39 pm

If you wanna make Linux Mint look like Windows follow my tutorial at http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/1173 :D
Image
User avatar
Zorba
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2280
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:12 pm
Location: Tunisia

Re: Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?

Postby raymerjacque on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:40 pm

lol, you get around alot it seems :)
MakuluLinux - The Big chief has spoken !.
check this out : http://www.makululinux.com
User avatar
raymerjacque
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:22 am
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?

Postby Zorba on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:48 pm

I have seen your video athttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fp22ac935Gk. Why do you call Mate gnome 3 :shock: :shock: It's not :shock: :shock:BTW is that MGCE!!
Image
User avatar
Zorba
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2280
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:12 pm
Location: Tunisia

Re: Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?

Postby raymerjacque on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:51 pm

no, its gnome3 desktop enviroment running on linuxmint mate edition.
MakuluLinux - The Big chief has spoken !.
check this out : http://www.makululinux.com
User avatar
raymerjacque
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:22 am
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: Anyone tried Gnome3 lately ?

Postby Zorba on Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:01 pm

My tips 'n tricks for you today are:

1 Add effects to your Mate at http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/1148
2- Find Mintconky themes at http://linuxmint-art.org/content/show.php/Mintconky-Olivia?content=156511 or http://linuxmint-art.org/content/show.php/Mintconky?content=155428
3- Fix the delayed loading of your splash screen at http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/1149
all homemade bro. :D :D Enjoy Linux Mint :D
Image
User avatar
Zorba
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2280
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:12 pm
Location: Tunisia

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Others

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests