Maya totally freezes: upgrade kernel or wait?

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Maya totally freezes: upgrade kernel or wait?

Postby tarverator on Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:33 pm

I have experienced periodic hard lockups (random total freeze -- only the power button responds -- every couple of weeks) on my Linux Mint Mate Maya 32-bit installation on a Lenovo ThinkPad X230 with the HD 4000 graphics. Apparently this has something to do with a problem with the 3.2 kernel not playing nicely with the graphics hardware, and upgrading to the 3.4 kernel fixes it. I am reluctant to upgrade, however, because I really hate those long chains of broken dependencies that invariably appear in these situations. Can someone help me figure out when (or if) a fix for this hard freeze issue is expected in the supported kernel? Am I better off rolling up my sleeves and doing some tinkering, or am I better off just waiting for a fix?

Thanks.
tarverator
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:43 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Maya totally freezes: upgrade kernel or wait?

Postby d00med on Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:58 pm

It might be related to this thread (it's marked solved, but it isn't, actually). Though that you're using Mint 13 and having freezes may mean it's a different issue. I'd go ahead and try upgrading. I've never had dependency issues after upgrading per se, but I don't do very much compiling either. And you can always hold down shift while booting to get to the grub menu, and choose your previous kernel, if you have problems.
d00med
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:55 am

Re: Maya totally freezes: upgrade kernel or wait?

Postby homerscousin on Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:02 pm

I'm not sure how much help I can be, but I am running HD4000 graphics. I was running a non-mint distro with the 3.2 kernel. I was getting random hard freezes 5-10 times per day. I decided rather than try fixing it I'd try other distros. I did read some bug reports on launchpad. Tried Mint 13 KDE, same kernel, and it worked fine. Don't know enough about Linux to really know why. It just seems to be more time efficient to try another distro or same distro, different desktop. Both were 64 bit distros by the way. If you have HD4000 you must have an Ivy Bridge CPU. You probably have 8 Gb ram? I think a 64 bit distro would be better just to start.

I did a fresh install of Mint 14 KDE-64 yesterday, 3.5.0-17 kernel. No freezes, just some minor whackies, half of them fixed by now.
i5 3570k, ASRock z77 Extreme 4, 8 Gb Ripjaws 1600, Antec 430w psu, HVR 1600 tv tuner, custom case- marble top, oak face. Carver & DCM Time Window sound system. Mint 14 KDE.
homerscousin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Somewhere on planet Earth (mostly)


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests