Lock screen (SOLVED! Thanks proxima_centauri!)

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Lock screen (SOLVED! Thanks proxima_centauri!)

Postby jdanfor1 on Tue Jan 29, 2013 5:31 pm

I have the newest version of Linux on my computer, but I am lost as to how I can add a "lock screen" on my computer so when I turn it on, I need to put in my admisistrative password before being able to access all of my files/internet. I was able to do this on an older version of linux on another computer of mine, but I don't know how (or if it's possible) to put a "lock screen" on this computer with this new version.

Could someone help me out?
Last edited by jdanfor1 on Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jdanfor1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:49 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Lock screen

Postby proxima_centauri on Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:17 pm

What edition of Linux Mint are you using? With the main edition using Cinnamon desktop, you can get a lockscreen from the menu above shutdown and logout, or use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+Alt+L
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Lock screen

Postby jdanfor1 on Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:10 pm

I have Linux Mint 13. And I found what you are talking about. I was thinking more of, like, as soon as you turn the computer on, you have to use your password before being able to use the computer. Does that make any sense?
jdanfor1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:49 pm

Re: Lock screen

Postby proxima_centauri on Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:11 pm

Make sure Automatic Login is turned off in User Settings, found under Administration in the menu.
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Lock screen

Postby proxima_centauri on Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:13 pm

Actually that might not do the trick in Cinnamon.

Go to Login Window under Administration in the menu. Go to the security tab and uncheck automatic login.
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Lock screen

Postby jdanfor1 on Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:55 pm

That second tip helped! Thank you for helping me out :D
jdanfor1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:49 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests