firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Chat about just about anything else

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby viking777 on Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:36 pm

Strange. Absolutely no problems for me with FF18 and Cinnamon ( and I have got 14 extensions on it).

Chrome/Chromium otoh has been so bad for so long (like ever since it first came out) that I have given up on it for ever.

YMMV as they say :?
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby caf4926 on Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:29 pm

YMMV as they say
It does. On every machine I have and every install FF has become slower. Not dramatically but slower. Chromium OTOH is light and quick as is Chrome.
I use Mint on this eeepc that I'm on now and 3 other machines with a whole range of Linux OS's and DE's. Same story in all cases.
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby raymerjacque on Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:42 pm

Firefox has become slower, noticeably slower.

I prefer Opera over firefox. It is WAY faster and just feels so much more comfortable in the layout, and quite a few essential addons for firefox is built into opera.

Anyway, Atleast its nice to have options and browser is always a users preference.
MakuluLinux - The Big chief has spoken !.
check this out : http://www.makululinux.com
User avatar
raymerjacque
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:22 am
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby lexon on Wed Jan 30, 2013 9:15 pm

I just installed Opera and it is a little faster but it needs some help like flash blocker, ad block and download helper. Looks like quite a learning curve.

L
Lindows, Linspire, Freespire, Ubuntu, Mint 15 Cinnamon, Mint 16 XFCE, Mint 17 Cinnamon 64 bit.
lexon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 730
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:53 pm
Location: MA USA

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby TheKernel on Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:36 pm

WOW and here I am as a newbie thinking how much faster Firefox is on Mint than Windows!! No problems with FF at all.
With age comes knowledge
User avatar
TheKernel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 6:40 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby raymerjacque on Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:38 am

lexon wrote:I just installed Opera and it is a little faster but it needs some help like flash blocker, ad block and download helper. Looks like quite a learning curve.

L


Opera has extensions just like firefox and chrome. there is a button in the menu to add extensions or click here : https://addons.opera.com

the 4 extensions i use are :

adblock - https://addons.opera.com/en/extensions/details/adblockforopera/?display=en ( its the same adblock FF uses )
exchange - https://addons.opera.com/en/extensions/details/exchange/?display=en ( shows the currency in my own, right on webpage , i use this for buying on ebay )
Gmail checker - https://addons.opera.com/en/extensions/details/gmail-checker/?display=en ( it puts a little gmail icon on search bar and shows message count )
Fbook notifications - https://addons.opera.com/en/extensions/details/facebook-notifications/?display=en ( same as the gmail above ).
I also downloaded a nice Black skin that goes with the gnome desktop im using. https://addons.opera.com/en/themes/details/o_12/

the REALLY nice thing about opera is the speed dial, if you open new page you will see the big blocks in the page, you can add all your favorite sites there and it will show them with previews. now when you want to go to a site you simply click on a speed dial and walla... its also nice when you busy on a web page, you just click new tab and see dials right there and click on desired one. quick and easy...

You can also customise opera alot, go to "opera/apearance/toolbars" and set progress bar to pop up at bottom. you can tick "show hidden toolbars" and drag and drop the toolbars as you want the layout to be, set placements and so forth. Opera is FAR more customisable then any of the other browsers ( in both FF and chrome you can download preset customisations, in opera you can drag and drop and change it how YOU want it to be ). the speed is also much faster and you can add alot of the same extensions as the other browsers.

Im sorry, but after i moved over to Opera it was like heaven... Ill never go back to FF or chrome ever again.
MakuluLinux - The Big chief has spoken !.
check this out : http://www.makululinux.com
User avatar
raymerjacque
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:22 am
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby LindseyD. on Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:26 am

I've been having terrible problems with FF 18 on KDE. I'm about to try Opera but wanted to search the forums first to see if anyone's having problems, and found this thread.

The CPU usage is bad enough--a show-stopper in itself, but on top of that, it drives my desktop crazy--letters disappear from words, windows become blank ... FF is a hog even when opened in safe-mode.
Mint17 KDE
LindseyD.
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:35 pm

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby yuri21 on Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:33 pm

Hmm, it's so much faster for me than on Windows(on this pc and someone elses').

However, it does get kinda really slow when viewing History.
yuri21
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 4:11 am

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby homerscousin on Tue Feb 05, 2013 12:38 am

I'm surprised at the problems, sorta. Just installed Mint 14 KDE 64bit a few days ago. Had some minor problems, so I did all the sys updates, including the FF that I almost unchecked. No problems at all. Just as fast as it has been since they started going nuts with the numbering scheme. FF will still use 100-150 Mb ram average but only 1-3% CPU at idle speed of 1.6 Ghz, not full speed of 3.4.
i5 3570k, ASRock z77 Extreme 4, 8 Gb Ripjaws 1600, Antec 430w psu, HVR 1600 tv tuner, custom case- marble top, oak face. Carver & DCM Time Window sound system. Mint 14 KDE.
homerscousin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Somewhere on planet Earth (mostly)

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby podagee on Tue Feb 05, 2013 1:44 pm

firefox 18.0.2 is out so hopefully they got everything sorted out....we'll see
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit
User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby FireSoul on Wed Feb 06, 2013 11:49 am

viking777 wrote:Strange. Absolutely no problems for me with FF18 and Cinnamon ( and I have got 14 extensions on it).

Chrome/Chromium otoh has been so bad for so long (like ever since it first came out) that I have given up on it for ever.

YMMV as they say :?


We have different computers and there different components,so all not working well,but my laptop works fine with Linux Mint 14.1 Cinnamon and FireFox 18.01.

My laptop HP625 Vision pro.
Motherboard 32 bit and 64 bit processor.
AMD Athlon(tm) II P320 Dual-Core Processor × 2 (2.1MHz).
Grafic Gallium 0.4 on AMD RS880
RAM installed 4G ,used 3,7G.
User avatar
FireSoul
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:15 am

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby wyz on Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:02 pm

Sorry you've had some problems Podagee. I've been running Linux Mint 14 KDE 64 bit since it was released late in December, and Firefox has been my default browser. Whether it's version 17.0.2, 18, 18.0.1, or 18.0.2 I can honestly say Firefox has run rock solid stable for me, and this is with 65 extensions (59 enabled and 6 disabled).
wyz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:13 pm

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby viking777 on Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:11 pm

I am wondering if the different experiences with FF are due to available memory. Even the biggest fan of FF will not argue with the fact that is does hog memory. For me it is consistently the highest memory user of any running program. OTOH in percentage terms I am only using 13.6% of my installed memory right now (all these figures are available from the System Monitor utility). Maybe if you are already using a high percentage of available memory FF has to start using swap and then begins to have problems?

Just a thought.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby grizzler on Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:35 pm

podagee wrote:firefox 18.0.2 is out so hopefully they got everything sorted out....

Not in my experience. It appeared to be a little less slow immediately after I fired it up, but after a bit of serious browsing it started to crawl again. Back to 17.0.1... :(
grizzler
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: The Hague, NL

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby grizzler on Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:39 pm

viking777 wrote:I am wondering if the different experiences with FF are due to available memory.

Memory management, possibly. Or that new JavaScript engine isn't working properly.

On my machine the first thing that goes down the drain is the bookmark menu. I mean, five seconds to just open it up...?
grizzler
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: The Hague, NL

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby viking777 on Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:56 pm

It has to be machine specific, I have never had any trouble opening the bookmark menu with any version at any time. Memory availability/management is one candidate for the cause but there are probably hundreds of others.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby podagee on Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:51 pm

firefox 18.0.2 seems a lot better.no lags here on my mint 13 partition.
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit
User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby podagee on Wed Feb 06, 2013 7:23 pm

spoke a bit too soon.firefox...out.gonna go back to my nightly build.
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit
User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby menta13 on Sun Feb 10, 2013 3:01 pm

the BEST browser for equipment with few memo: http://twotoasts.de/index.php/midori//
menta13
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:51 pm

Re: firefox in mint 14 is a bad idea

Postby cwwgateway on Sun Feb 10, 2013 5:27 pm

I've been testing firefox 18.0.2 on two different linux installs, and on both they work fine (I've been using them fairly extensively). The two distros were Arch Linux and Debian Sid with iceweasel (Debian's firefox) from experimental, which is interesting considering both are bleeding edge rolling distros and I pulled iceweasel from Debian experimental, which is for very beta-ish software (although Debian is going for ESRs only in their other branches, and the Debian Mozilla team works fairly hard to maintain stability in all of the branches). I'm keeping my main linux install on 17 ESR (pulled from the mozilla.debian.net repo), and it's working fine also. On Windows 17 ESR works perfectly, but 18(.0.2) still is not working (and this is on the same laptop as the Debian Sid install). I doubt it's memory availability in my specific case because, while my laptop has 8 GB, the other desktop I tried 18.0.2 on has only 482 MB of RAM, and it ran smoothly. Anyways, on linux I am having no trouble on any of my hardware
Dell XPS 15 l502x - Debian Testing 64-bit NetInst Xfce, SolydX 64-bit Debian Testing, SolydK 64-bit SolydXK Testing
Old Gateway Pentium 4 Desktop - Arch Linux 64-bit Xfce and SolydX 32-bit Sid
cwwgateway
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:44 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Open chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 3 guests