start terminator on multiple workspaces

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

start terminator on multiple workspaces

Postby gennoveus on Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:05 am

Hi!

This is my first post here, I hope I have this post in the correct section. I`ve switched to mint from ubuntu - much better!!

Anyway, here's what I'd like to do:
I have several custom layouts for terminator (coding, compiling/testing, etc.) and I have each layout open across four workspaces.
Every time I boot my machine I have to go through all four workspaces and open up each terminator instance - how do I get these to open up on their respective workspaces automatically when I boot my machine?

gdevilspie looked promising but I couldn't figure out how to pass parameters to terminator (e.g. terminator -l mylayout) AND get it to load up once for each workspace.

Please help!
gennoveus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:56 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: start terminator on multiple workspaces

Postby gennoveus on Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:14 pm

I'm about to fall off the front page, I hope you guys don't mind if I bump this post!
gennoveus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:56 am

Re: start terminator on multiple workspaces

Postby Orbmiser on Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:29 pm

Nope waiting a day and bumping is fine here.

I would imagine it would require a script? And could be done.
Sorry no script writing here.

But maybe someone with more experience and skills and point you in the right direction
Only thing I found close to what you are wanting.
http://superuser.com/questions/232042/ubuntu-gnome-open-an-application-in-a-specific-workspace
.
User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1514
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: start terminator on multiple workspaces

Postby gennoveus on Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:44 am

Orbmiser wrote:Nope waiting a day and bumping is fine here.

I would imagine it would require a script? And could be done.
Sorry no script writing here.

But maybe someone with more experience and skills and point you in the right direction
Only thing I found close to what you are wanting.
http://superuser.com/questions/232042/ubuntu-gnome-open-an-application-in-a-specific-workspace
.


Thank you for the reply, Orbmiser!

I did try devilspie before I came here but I couldn't figure out how to run the application in whatever workspace while ALSO giving it extra parameters (i.e. the layout)

I will try again, maybe it's possible and I just missed something...
gennoveus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:56 am

Re: start terminator on multiple workspaces

Postby viking777 on Tue Feb 05, 2013 8:15 am

I think it will be a miracle if you get it going with devilspie. It is a good program but not that good. Getting it to consistently differentiate between 4 instances of the same program would be difficult enough, passing parameters through it - just about impossible.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: start terminator on multiple workspaces

Postby Flemur on Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:06 pm

FWIW, it's trivially easy with fluxbox because fluxbox was properly designed and implemented.
Mint 17/Xfce/fluxbox & Mint 16/Xfce/fluxbox
User avatar
Flemur
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 803
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm

Re: start terminator on multiple workspaces

Postby gennoveus on Wed Feb 06, 2013 4:12 am

viking777 wrote:I think it will be a miracle if you get it going with devilspie. It is a good program but not that good. Getting it to consistently differentiate between 4 instances of the same program would be difficult enough, passing parameters through it - just about impossible.


That's the impression I got. Even if it is possible, it's probably beyond me.

Flemur wrote:FWIW, it's trivially easy with fluxbox because fluxbox was properly designed and implemented.


Flemur, that looks very promising!! Thanks for the heads up. I've never heard of fluxbox, but it looks vaguely like 'awesome' (which I used to use) so hopefully it shouldn't take long to get used to. I'll download it now...
gennoveus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:56 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ajgreeny, ilax48, micksulley and 28 guests