Bose USB speakers work intermittently

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Bose USB speakers work intermittently

Postby jlr1701 on Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:42 pm

Hey everybody,

I have some really nice Bose USB speakers that take a long time to start working in Mint. After I boot the system up I have to keep messing with the sound settings and testing the speakers to get them to work. Or... maybe it's just a matter of time until they kick in. What could be taking so long to initialize so the speakers work? What can we check and fix? :)

Thanks,

Jeff
Last edited by jlr1701 on Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:42 am, edited 3 times in total.
Asus Sabertooth X79 mobo/i7-3930k/Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM/Nvidia GTX670/Crucial 128GB SSD/Samsung 540GB SSD/ 2 1TB WD hard drives
User avatar
jlr1701
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:22 am
Location: Anchorage, AK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Bose USB speakers take a long time to start working

Postby jlr1701 on Thu Feb 07, 2013 3:52 pm

I found the fix for this issue here:

http://www.josephcrawford.com/2010/09/b ... nd-ubuntu/

But... choose Pulse Audio instead of ALSA.
Asus Sabertooth X79 mobo/i7-3930k/Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM/Nvidia GTX670/Crucial 128GB SSD/Samsung 540GB SSD/ 2 1TB WD hard drives
User avatar
jlr1701
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:22 am
Location: Anchorage, AK

Re: Bose USB speakers take a long time to start working

Postby jlr1701 on Sun Feb 10, 2013 12:01 am

This issue is actually NOT solved. I am still researching this on my own and have found this topic:

viewtopic.php?f=90&t=123702&p=680390&hilit=pulse+audio&sid=fbd9570e76058ad84cca498b51e4bc7e#p680390

Also, I have set the sound to work through ALSA instead of Pulse Audio. It's not really a fix since whether the speakers will work or not is a crapshoot every boot. I have also tried these fixes with limited success.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=11553513

I am considering removing Pulse Audio and just using ALSA. Is that possible to do without hosing my Mint installation?

Thanks,

Jeff
Asus Sabertooth X79 mobo/i7-3930k/Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM/Nvidia GTX670/Crucial 128GB SSD/Samsung 540GB SSD/ 2 1TB WD hard drives
User avatar
jlr1701
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:22 am
Location: Anchorage, AK


Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jamesc359 and 5 guests