<SOLVED> Wacom intous5 touch medium in mint 14 kde x64

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

<SOLVED> Wacom intous5 touch medium in mint 14 kde x64

Postby bent95kr on Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:47 pm

Hi, I just installed linux mint 14 x64 kde, and everything is working quite well, except from some problems with my wacom intous5 touch medium tablet. The tablet works, and the pressure sensitivity as well, however, the settings under the “pad buttons” tab doesn't at all match a intous5 tablet. I can't configure any express keys, since none are shown, and my tablet doesn't have a touch strip nor a wheel. Also, under the “general” tab, the tablet shows up as “unknown Waltop device 0x27”, even though the input devices shows that it's a wacom intous5, which I think is a bit odd. Does anybody here know how to fix this? And also, today's my first day using linux, so please take that into consideration when answering. Thanks in advance!
Bent
Last edited by bent95kr on Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
bent95kr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:05 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Wacom intous5 touch medium problem on mint 14 x64 kde.

Postby Favux on Sun Feb 10, 2013 4:29 pm

Hi bent95kr,

Welcome to Mint forums!


That sounds like a problem with the Wacom tablet KDE system tool. Looks like they started implementing libwacom support just a few days ago. Before they were using their own tablet database and that may be where the problem is. So you'd want to contact the developer: http://kde-apps.org/content/show.php/wa ... ent=114856

You can do it manually with xsetwacom commands.
http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/l ... figuration
See part IV. and attached sample scripts: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=110408
Favux
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 1:20 am

Re: Wacom intous5 touch medium problem on mint 14 x64 kde.

Postby bent95kr on Sun Feb 10, 2013 4:46 pm

Thanks! I'll contact the developers first thing tomorrow.
bent95kr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:05 pm

Re: Wacom intous5 touch medium problem on mint 14 x64 kde.

Postby bent95kr on Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:27 am

Okay, so I filed a bug-report about it, and the person answering me said that if you have an older release of the wacom tablet kcm, like the one that comes with mint 14 kde, you need to add your device to the database at /usr/share/kde4/apps/wacomtablet/data/wacom_devicelist

Add The following section:
[0027] model=PTH-650/K
layout=bl_4
name=Wacom Intuos5 touch M
padbuttons=9
wheel=no
touchring=yes
touchstripl=no
touchstripr=no

That worked perfectly for me.
bent95kr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:05 pm

Re: <SOLVED> Wacom intous5 touch medium in mint 14 kde x64

Postby Favux on Mon Feb 11, 2013 6:31 pm

Awesome. :)

Thanks for sharing the Intuos5 database entry.
Favux
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 1:20 am


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bemundolack and 14 guests