[SOLVED] yoono-desktop not working on Mint 14

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] yoono-desktop not working on Mint 14

Postby mikicat on Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:11 pm

Hi all!!! I'm a absolute newbie so please forgive me if my question is too dumb :P Ok, the thing is that I'm trying to run yoono-desktop in my laptop/Mint 14, but I can't get the executable to work, even with root privileges. The weird thing is that when I ran the exec from the terminal it gives me the message: bash: exec: yoono-desktop: not found!!! Please any help will be appreciated
Regards
Last edited by mikicat on Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mikicat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 9:45 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: yoono-desktop not working on Mint 14

Postby CupOfCoffee on Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:25 pm

Wait-do you mean a DOS executable file (.exe)? :o I think you need to get Wine http://www.winehq.org/download/ or a program that can support DOS/WIndows executables. Is this "yoono" file on your desktop? You may need to enter the location that leads to the file. Don't forget that I am a beginner too, and that you may need to search online for help on this. You could also try opening it from a file manager. :wink:
My Rusty and Trusty Old PC: Compaq Presario C500 (widescreen) - 2.5GB RAM, 1TB Solid State Hybrid, 1.86 GHz Intel Celeron M 440.

New PC (using): Lenovo G505s - 6GB RAM, 1TB HHD, AMD A10-5750M Crossfire Graphics.
User avatar
CupOfCoffee
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:51 pm

Re: yoono-desktop not working on Mint 14

Postby mikicat on Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:50 pm

Thank you CupOfCoffee, the executable is not an .exe file, I downloaded the linux version from yoono's website, I do not know what extension it has, but it is recognized as executable (I looked at the Properties of the file in Dolphin). I placed the yoono-desktop folder almost everywhere and it still does not work. I've been googling this for 3 days :( I'm getting tired... I think I'm going to give up
mikicat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 9:45 pm

Re: yoono-desktop not working on Mint 14

Postby nomko on Sun Feb 10, 2013 9:07 pm

What you have downloaded is a .tar.bz2 file, also called a tarball. This is a compressed file which needs to be unzipped and installed manually. You can right click on the file and select "Unzip here" in the pop-up menu. It will create a new directory and in this directory you find a file called yoono-desktop. This file can be normally executed. I just downloaded the file myself and it seems that it doesn't need to be installed. At least for Linux...

The screenshot shows the content of the folder.
Attachments
Selectie_002.png
Selectie_002.png (20.61 KiB) Viewed 650 times
ASUS P5KPL-AM SE*Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8200*4 GiB ram*nVidia GeForce 9500GT*Realtek RTL8101/8102E*Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7200A*HDD:Samsung HD501LJ/HD103SI*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)

Visit my website:
My personal website
nomko
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2772
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: yoono-desktop not working on Mint 14

Postby mikicat on Sun Feb 10, 2013 9:18 pm

Thank you nomko! I did the same thing but nothing happens. I have Linux Mint 14, I can see you have Ubuntu??? I am wondering if it has something to do with the executable, it can run in ubuntu but it has some issues with mint 14?!?
mikicat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 9:45 pm

Re: yoono-desktop not working on Mint 14

Postby TheDynamicHamza21 on Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:55 am

mikicat wrote:Thank you nomko! I did the same thing but nothing happens. I have Linux Mint 14, I can see you have Ubuntu??? I am wondering if it has something to do with the executable, it can run in ubuntu but it has some issues with mint 14?!?



Just download it,no problem on mint 13. Maybe you need to change permissions and allow it to executed by right click>properties>Permissions> make sure you check the box that says allow executing file as program.
Linux Registered User: # 573034

www.domeshotsandfatlaces.com
User avatar
TheDynamicHamza21
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:24 pm
Location: California

Re: yoono-desktop not working on Mint 14

Postby nomko on Mon Feb 11, 2013 4:12 am

mikicat wrote:Thank you nomko! I did the same thing but nothing happens. I have Linux Mint 14, I can see you have Ubuntu??? I am wondering if it has something to do with the executable, it can run in ubuntu but it has some issues with mint 14?!?


I have Mint 14 + Cinnamon. And you probably should set the permissions right like TheDynamicHamza21 said.
ASUS P5KPL-AM SE*Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8200*4 GiB ram*nVidia GeForce 9500GT*Realtek RTL8101/8102E*Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7200A*HDD:Samsung HD501LJ/HD103SI*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)

Visit my website:
My personal website
nomko
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2772
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: yoono-desktop not working on Mint 14

Postby mikicat on Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:48 am

Hi! Thanx for the answers. Yes I have all permissions set to ownership. Today I downloaded it again and the version changes from 8.32 to 9.08 but I still have the same issue :'( I'm using Mint 14 KDE. I'm using the Chrome floating extension for now but is not the same thing, no pop up or sound notifications :| not the same at all.

Image
mikicat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 9:45 pm

Re: yoono-desktop not working on Mint 14

Postby mikicat on Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:48 pm

HEY!!! SOLVED!!! it was my 64 bits machine!!! It works flawless after installing ia32-libs!!! (btw it was just luck, I installed the ia32-libs so I can get Android SDK to work LOL) Thank you nomko, CupOfCoffee and TheDynamicHamza21!!!
Regards,
miki
mikicat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 9:45 pm

Re: [SOLVED] yoono-desktop not working on Mint 14

Postby CupOfCoffee on Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:22 pm

Yay! Happy to see that it's working for you! :D
My Rusty and Trusty Old PC: Compaq Presario C500 (widescreen) - 2.5GB RAM, 1TB Solid State Hybrid, 1.86 GHz Intel Celeron M 440.

New PC (using): Lenovo G505s - 6GB RAM, 1TB HHD, AMD A10-5750M Crossfire Graphics.
User avatar
CupOfCoffee
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:51 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SJLPHI and 15 guests