SOLVED Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

SOLVED Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby jocemint201302 on Thu Feb 14, 2013 10:26 am

I'm a french people, then excuse my english. I love linux's distributions and I have tried some but I'm prefering Mint. That for what I use Linux Mint 14 KDE on my computers. On my desktop I have installed Mint and Windows 8. My problem is: I never be able to connect my computers to the other. I need your help to do this.

As requested there are the results for this command "sudo /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintWifi/mintWifi.py" :
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
-- Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter (rev 01)
==> PCI ID = 10ec:8176 (rev 01)
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:"Jo Ni St Al Ca"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: 84:C9:B2:4A:14:BE
Bit Rate=72.2 Mb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr=2347 B Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=63/70 Signal level=-47 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:92 Missed beacon:0

lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 5c:26:0a:1b:c3:cf
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Packets reçus:0 erreurs:0 :0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
Octets reçus:0 (0.0 B) Octets transmis:0 (0.0 B)

lo Link encap:Boucle locale
inet adr:127.0.0.1 Masque:255.0.0.0
adr inet6: ::1/128 Scope:Hôte
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
Packets reçus:2203 erreurs:0 :0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2203 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:0
Octets reçus:136208 (136.2 KB) Octets transmis:136208 (136.2 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 1c:65:9d:39:32:1b
inet adr:192.168.0.105 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Masque:255.255.255.0
adr inet6: fe80::1e65:9dff:fe39:321b/64 Scope:Lien
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Packets reçus:27767 erreurs:0 :0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:17130 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
Octets reçus:37005935 (37.0 MB) Octets transmis:2687184 (2.6 MB)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
Rather than invoking init scripts through /etc/init.d, use the service(8)
utility, e.g. service smbd reload

Since the script you are attempting to invoke has been converted to an
Upstart job, you may also use the reload(8) utility, e.g. reload smbd
RTNETLINK answers: File exists
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
Server: 192.168.0.1
Address: 192.168.0.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.40
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.32
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.46
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.39
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.37
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.38
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.41
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.33
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.35
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.34
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.36

Thank you for your help.
Last edited by jocemint201302 on Sun Feb 17, 2013 9:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jocemint201302
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:58 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby lmarmisa on Thu Feb 14, 2013 3:35 pm

Hi jocemint201302,

you are unable to connect desktop to laptop. Have you tested communication protocols using the command ping?. What kind of connection do you wish?. Do you want to access to remote shared folders?. Perhaps remote desktop connection?.

Could you give more details?.

Best regards,

Luis
User avatar
lmarmisa
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:22 am
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby jocemint201302 on Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:34 pm

Thank you. I do "ping" on each computer and no errors. My desktop see my laptop. I just whant to access a repertory on the other computer to open or copy a file. I had read something for "Samba" but I don't understand how to share folders or repertories.
jocemint201302
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:58 am

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby lmarmisa on Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:40 pm

jocemint201302 wrote:Thank you. I do "ping" on each computer and no errors. My desktop see my laptop. I just whant to access a repertory on the other computer to open or copy a file. I had read something for "Samba" but I don't understand how to share folders or repertories.


Yes. Samba is a good choice for sharing folders.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samba_%28software%29

Other option could be protocols like sftp or scp integrated in ssh.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SSH_File_Transfer_Protocol

Where are the files you want to share?. Are they in Mint or in Windows?. Please, tell us the type of operating system of sever and client.
User avatar
lmarmisa
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:22 am
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby jocemint201302 on Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:49 pm

Normally I want connect from my laptop (Mint 14) to a partition named "Data" on my desktop running Windows 8. This partition was shared to everyone but on my laptop I can't see my desktop. It is same when my Desktop is under Mint 14. Mint 14 to Mint 14 and I can't see the other computer. I dont know why.

Sorry I am a 'newbee' ...
jocemint201302
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:58 am

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby lmarmisa on Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:59 pm

jocemint201302 wrote:Normally I want connect from my laptop (Mint 14) to a partition named "Data" on my desktop running Windows 8. This partition was shared to everyone but on my laptop I can't see my desktop. It is same when my Desktop is under Mint 14. Mint 14 to Mint 14 and I can't see the other computer. I dont know why.

Sorry I am a 'newbee' ...


Do you see some computer in network?.

01.png
01.png (79.39 KiB) Viewed 1183 times


What is the name of the workgroup defined in Windows 8?.
User avatar
lmarmisa
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:22 am
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby jocemint201302 on Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:03 pm

Dolphin.network1.png
The second where I see nothing after clic on "Network"
Dolphin.network1.png (81.71 KiB) Viewed 1179 times
Dolphin.network.png
First screen for network
Dolphin.network.png (92.33 KiB) Viewed 1179 times
I see nothing; my workgroup is "WORKGROUP"

I enclose two (2) printscreen.
jocemint201302
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:58 am

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby lmarmisa on Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:11 pm

OK. WORKGROUP is the default value.

Open a terminal and type this command (this is the install command for samba):

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install samba


Reboot the system and check if, after restart, you are able to detect the windows desktop computer.
User avatar
lmarmisa
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:22 am
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby jocemint201302 on Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:27 pm

Thanks but SMB was installed by default. See the Terminal's picture.

Terminal Samba.png
As you see Samba was already installed.
Terminal Samba.png (73.39 KiB) Viewed 1178 times
jocemint201302
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:58 am

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby jocemint201302 on Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:41 pm

Now I can see on network my iPhone and my laptop but I can't access when I'm cliking on.
Network indicate iPhone and Local machine.png
I see but I don't have access
Network indicate iPhone and Local machine.png (87.74 KiB) Viewed 1178 times
jocemint201302
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:58 am

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby lmarmisa on Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:43 pm

Yes. I see that samba was installed.

I suppose that one or more shared folders are defined in desktop.

Check that desktop computer is responding to ping:

Code: Select all
ping -c5 desktopname


and type this command:

Code: Select all
smbtree -N
User avatar
lmarmisa
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:22 am
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby jocemint201302 on Thu Feb 14, 2013 10:06 pm

Thank you very much for your patience lmarmisa

See theses pictures:

Ping and smbtree.png
your commands
Ping and smbtree.png (105.28 KiB) Viewed 1177 times


Windows 8.png
Windows 8 properties
Windows 8.png (73.84 KiB) Viewed 1177 times
jocemint201302
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:58 am

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby lmarmisa on Thu Feb 14, 2013 10:17 pm

No shared resources are detected at the moment.

I suppose you defined at least one shared folder in desktop. Did you define this shared folder with the privileges of your user account in Windows 8?. So, is the access to the shared folder protected with username/password?.

Try this command:

Code: Select all
smbclient -U usernamewindows8 -L inspiron537
User avatar
lmarmisa
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:22 am
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby jocemint201302 on Thu Feb 14, 2013 10:46 pm

I can't connect to my Desktop. I have two (2) accounts: "Jocelyn Boisvert" and "jocelyn"
Attachments
Smbcclient.png
Smbcclient.png (89.19 KiB) Viewed 1176 times
jocemint201302
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:58 am

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby lmarmisa on Thu Feb 14, 2013 10:58 pm

Hmmm. Not sure about diagnostic but I see that the hostname inspiron537 is being resolved with a public IP address (look at the capture of ping). This is odd.

Fortunately I have no experience with windows 8 :lol: . I would like to know the IP address of your desktop. Try to open a terminal in Windows 8 and type the comand:

Code: Select all
ipconfig


I would like that you could repeat the last command smbclient using the internal IP address of your desktop machine and not the hostname inspiron537.
User avatar
lmarmisa
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:22 am
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby jocemint201302 on Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:08 am

ipconfig on my Desktop=192.168.0.102

Win8 ipconfig.png
192.168.0.102 and users info by Win8
Win8 ipconfig.png (70.33 KiB) Viewed 1164 times


Smbcclient.png
command smbclient
Smbcclient.png (118.83 KiB) Viewed 1164 times
jocemint201302
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:58 am

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby lmarmisa on Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:00 am

The problem seems related to the translation of the hosname inspiron537 to its numeric IP address.

Traslation should be the private IP address 192.168.0.102 but it is translated to your public IP address. This is wrong.

If you type the private IP address of desktop, the command smbclient shows the correct shared resources of your desktop. But if you type the hostname, the command does not show any shared resource and the connection to the SMB server of your desktop is not correct.

I am not sure if the problem is related to the field "Suffixe DNS prope à la conexion". The origin of the problem could be your router.

I recommend this workaround.

Edit the file /etc/hosts with your prefered editor (change nano if you prefer a different editor):

Code: Select all
sudo nano /etc/hosts


and add this line at the end of file:

Code: Select all
192.168.0.102 Inspiron537 INSPIRON537 inspiron537


Reboot your system and check if you are able to connect to remote shared folders.

You can check the new tanslation for inspiron537 with command ping:

Code: Select all
ping -c5 Inspiron537
User avatar
lmarmisa
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:22 am
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby jocemint201302 on Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:26 pm

You are a great master. I'm doing all you wrote.

There are the file "Hosts" modified and the new "ping".

I had reboot my laptop and after I try to connect at network but I just see "Inspiron1018" (my laptop).

Hosts.png
new contents of the file "Hosts"
Hosts.png (97.49 KiB) Viewed 1141 times


Ping.png
new command "ping"
Ping.png (91.3 KiB) Viewed 1141 times
jocemint201302
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:58 am

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby lmarmisa on Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:45 pm

Are you using WIFI?.

I see some problems there too. Take a look to both commands ping.

The first ping message was lost in your last message. And the the two initial packages have very long round trip delays (about 400ms, 600ms and even 1000 ms!!!). This is not good. Is the strength of Wifi signal good?.

Please, repeat the command:

Code: Select all
smbclient -U Jocelyn -L inspiron537


Is the output correct now?.
User avatar
lmarmisa
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:22 am
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Unable to connect Desktop to my Laptop

Postby jocemint201302 on Fri Feb 15, 2013 8:15 pm

My laptop is wifi; my desktop is wired.

Smbcclient.png
Is the result ok ?
Smbcclient.png (98.86 KiB) Viewed 1132 times
jocemint201302
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:58 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests