Installing VMware Tools

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Installing VMware Tools

Postby lapetite66 on Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:48 pm

Hi:

I am a newbie to this forum and to linux anything.

I managed to install the Linuxmint KDE version 14 on my Vmware player but I'm having MAJOR problems installing VMware tools.

I did a search on this forum and found the link http://install-climber.blogspot.com.au/2012/02/vmwaretoolslinuxmint12visual.html but that isn't helping me because certain things seem to be missing from my Mint desktop. For instance in the above links tutorial they show a desktop with the following icons "computer, home and CDrom but none of those icons are on my KDE desktop. My KDE desktop is totally iconless :( Is that normal for KDE version??? I managed to find the vmware tools but how can I mount it if I can't find the CDrom icon to mount it too? How do I get the icons to show up on the desktop period??? :cry:

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
lapetite66
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:21 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Installing VMware Tools

Postby usbtux on Tue Feb 12, 2013 3:17 pm

You need to download them via, devices>install guest additions it should then be available via devices>/cd/dvd devices and it should auto run.

Icons - in cinnamon they are toggled in cinnamon settings>desktop. I'm sure there's something similar in kde.
http://goo.gl/DXKgM LinuxMint tutorials.
Running LinuxMint 17 Cinnamon/KDE/XFCE
http://goo.gl/WFu0u Installing Mint - the screen cast videos.
linuxcounter #368850
User avatar
usbtux
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 971
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:37 am

Re: Installing VMware Tools

Postby lapetite66 on Tue Feb 12, 2013 9:37 pm

usbtux wrote:You need to download them via, devices>install guest additions it should then be available via devices>/cd/dvd devices and it should auto run.

Icons - in cinnamon they are toggled in cinnamon settings>desktop. I'm sure there's something similar in kde.


Hi usbtux:

Thanks for replying to my post.

Are you saying that I need to download a CDrom? If so the only things I see in software manager are AcetoneISO and gmountISO. I installed AcetoneISO but the vmwaretools is still only showing up in the CD/DVD software of the VMware(vmware toolbar at the top of the vmware virtual machine) and that is NOT showing up on the desktop.

I have figured out how to add the various icons to the desktop or at least some of them. I think "Dolphin" is the linuxmint version of "My Computer" which I've managed to add to the desktop. Once I clicked on "install vmware tools" and go to Dolphin I see the CDrom under the "Devices" heading in that folder and although I can add the vmwaretools.tar.gz folder to the desktop I can't add the CD/DVD icon to the desktop nor can I found the actual software. :(
lapetite66
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:21 pm

Re: Installing VMware Tools

Postby usbtux on Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:19 am

Sorry, I gave you info for virtual box which is not vmwareplayer. I seem to remember that its roughly the same, download the iso and point the virtual cd device at the iso. You do not mount the iso in the virtual machine - it runs in the the vmware prog. - clear as mud, I know; but google should help.
http://goo.gl/DXKgM LinuxMint tutorials.
Running LinuxMint 17 Cinnamon/KDE/XFCE
http://goo.gl/WFu0u Installing Mint - the screen cast videos.
linuxcounter #368850
User avatar
usbtux
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 971
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:37 am

Re: Installing VMware Tools

Postby lapetite66 on Thu Feb 14, 2013 11:30 pm

usbtux wrote:Sorry, I gave you info for virtual box which is not vmwareplayer. I seem to remember that its roughly the same, download the iso and point the virtual cd device at the iso. You do not mount the iso in the virtual machine - it runs in the the vmware prog. - clear as mud, I know; but google should help.


usbtux:

Okay so the previous information was for virtualplayer I got that part.

What ISO are you talking about downloading? Vmware tools???

The problem I'm having is trying to install vmware tools. I've search and found numerous instructions; case and point this tutorial http://install-climber.blogspot.com.au/2012/02/vmwaretoolslinuxmint12visual.htmlbut nothing is working and as far as the vmware patch that doesn't seem to be for vmware but instead for the following:

Patches are available for:
- ESX: Patch bundle for ESX Classic
- ESXi: Patch bundle for ESX Embedded and Installable
- VEM: Patch bundle for Cisco Nexus Virtual Ethernet Module for ESX/ESXi
- vCenter Server 5.x Patches

You say that you don't mount the iso in the virtual machine it runs in the vmware program. Well, when I've attempted to install vmware tools I see that it's showing up in LinuxMint KDE's in/on the cdrom. I've unzipped it to the desktop and then tried installing it using the various sudo commands for vmware but nothing works. :x

I'll keep trying but if I don't figure this out soon I'm going to give up.
lapetite66
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:21 pm

Re: Installing VMware Tools

Postby usbtux on Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:35 am

I don't use vmware I use virtual box. You dont need to use the tools on mint when its a guest OS in virtual box.

Picture 4 of your link shows that the iso is mounted in the virtual machine and that it is available to the guest OS (mint).

I seem to remember ( things may have changed) that there was a install.sh ( or something like that) on the iso

Patch? Dunno! what does it do??



As you are struggling to use vmware you might find Virtual box easer to use.
I have win xp and win 7, several versions of mint and other linux's working really well on Virtual box.

To install see viewtopic.php?f=90&t=125761&p=687640#p687640
http://goo.gl/DXKgM LinuxMint tutorials.
Running LinuxMint 17 Cinnamon/KDE/XFCE
http://goo.gl/WFu0u Installing Mint - the screen cast videos.
linuxcounter #368850
User avatar
usbtux
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 971
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:37 am

Re: Installing VMware Tools

Postby lapetite66 on Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:21 pm

usbtux wrote:I don't use vmware I use virtual box. You dont need to use the tools on mint when its a guest OS in virtual box.

Picture 4 of your link shows that the iso is mounted in the virtual machine and that it is available to the guest OS (mint).

I seem to remember ( things may have changed) that there was a install.sh ( or something like that) on the iso

Patch? Dunno! what does it do??



As you are struggling to use vmware you might find Virtual box easer to use.
I have win xp and win 7, several versions of mint and other linux's working really well on Virtual box.

To install see viewtopic.php?f=90&t=125761&p=687640#p687640


usbtux:

I don't have any idea about what the patch is supposed to do either that I just included that link as example of the various tutorials I've found.

No, I'm not struggling using vmware at all I just wanted to know how to install vmware tools on Linux but if it isn't needed then there's no need for me to stress myself about trying to install it on my vmware player.

Thanks for trying to help and responding to my posts. :)
lapetite66
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:21 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 30 guests