WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby ronmat on Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:30 am

Hi, I'm new to Linux so forgive me if the question I ask is stupid.
I have Wifi working without any problems on its own and my wired connection works fine on its own, the problem I have is if I want access both at the same time,
I can't seem to get this to work.
I have to disconnect the Wifi in order to access the wired connection which I use to connect 2 PC's for file access only. I have a static IP for the wired and have changed the subnet settings in case they were conflicting with the WiFi, all to no avail.

I am now at a loss as to what could be wrong, is it something I have done or not done? I don't have a great deal of knowledge with either Linux or networking so once again my apologies if this is a dumb question.

Any help would be appreciated.
ronmat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:11 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby xtreme on Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:58 am

First of all, no questions are dumb. You can do that, you need a Cisco router though...

Cisco routers are able to make two connections to one device, what you're looking for is either unequal cost path load balancing, or equal cost path load balancing. The router will transfer the data through both connections, if you want maximum speed you're best bet is getting a Cisco Gigabit router with wireless-N, or wireless-AC. Hope this helps.

source: http://superuser.com/questions/479654/
xtreme
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:35 am

Re: WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby AlbertP on Sat Feb 16, 2013 10:03 am

You don't need balancing features like Cisco has. You can just have two connections to the internet. The Cisco features are for using two connections like if they were one connection, which has absolutely no influence on Linux Mint software problems with two network devices.

Please run these commands in terminal and post the output:
Code: Select all
inxi -N
ifconfig
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6517
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby ronmat on Sat Feb 16, 2013 10:23 am

Hi AlbertP.

I have ran the commands in Terminal and it came out with the following:
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Card-2: Atheros AR5212/AR5213 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath5k

I only need the wired connection for accessing one pc from another for file sharing not for internet as the WiFi connection works that.

Thanks for your reply
ronmat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:11 am

Re: WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby ronmat on Sat Feb 16, 2013 10:26 am

Sorry I forgot to add the rest of the output:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:24:e8:18:06:70
inet addr:192.168.1.200 Bcast:192.168.1.203 Mask:255.255.255.252
inet6 addr: fe80::224:e8ff:fe18:670/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:309 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:366 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:54806 (54.8 KB) TX bytes:59890 (59.8 KB)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:514 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:514 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:54604 (54.6 KB) TX bytes:54604 (54.6 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0f:b5:83:8d:7d
inet addr:192.168.1.70 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20f:b5ff:fe83:8d7d/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:15569 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:9464 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:8965333 (8.9 MB) TX bytes:1496183 (1.4 MB)
ronmat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:11 am

Re: WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby AlbertP on Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:33 pm

The subnet of wlan0 is 192.168.1. 0 to 255, and the subnet of eth0 is 192.168.1. 200 to 203. These are overlapping each other. That may be causing your problem: 192.168.1.200 to 203 are reachable over both connections this way. Maybe you could consider putting one of them on 192.168.2.x instead of 192.168.1.x.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6517
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby ronmat on Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:02 pm

Thank AlbertP,

I`ll try that tomorrow and let you know the result.

Thanks for your help.
ronmat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:11 am

Re: WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby ronmat on Sun Feb 17, 2013 10:27 am

Hi AlbertP,

Tried all morning but no luck???

I can still connect with either WiFi or Wired but not but at the same time.

Is there any tutorials that take you through setting this up, had a look at one on http://maketecheasier.com/setting-up-a- ... 2012/06/05

but ssh refused to work on one of my pc's.

Connecting through windows server share?

Totally lost now...................arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
ronmat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:11 am

Re: WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby AlbertP on Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:07 am

You don't need to "build" a network, you already have two working networks (just not at the same time because of conflicting IPs).
If you change the IP of all computers on the wired network (but not the wireless one) to 192.168.2.xxx instead of 192.168.1.xxx then the network will still work but it will not conflict anymore. Any file sharing services that address the computers by their old IP address of course need to be set up to use the new IP.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6517
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby ronmat on Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:44 am

Just changed IP on PCs to 192.168.2.200 and 192.168.2.201 (wired) they work fine but I still can't connect to Wifi at the same time?

I don't know if I'm doing something wrong or I'm just plain thick :?


Helpppppppppppppppp
ronmat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:11 am

Re: WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby AlbertP on Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:09 pm

Ok, could you post the output of ifconfig again?
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6517
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby ronmat on Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:17 am

Hi AlbertP,

Here are the ifconfig you requested:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:24:e8:18:06:70
inet addr:192.168.2.200 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::224:e8ff:fe18:670/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:75 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:13573 (13.5 KB)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:98 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:98 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:12236 (12.2 KB) TX bytes:12236 (12.2 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0f:b5:83:8d:7d
inet addr:192.168.1.70 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20f:b5ff:fe83:8d7d/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:73 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:76 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:10596 (10.5 KB) TX bytes:12856 (12.8 KB)

Thanks
ronmat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:11 am

Re: WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby ronmat on Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:43 am

Well, it looks like a Cisco router is needed to solve this problem. :cry:

Thanks everyone for your input. :D
ronmat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:11 am

Re: WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby AlbertP on Sun Mar 10, 2013 10:15 am

@ ronmat: A Cisco router won't help at all here. That "Cisco" thing mentioned is for combining two network connections into one single link, which is absolutely not what you want, since your ethernet is connected to different computers than your wifi. This technology only increases bandwith, since connecting both wifi and wired to the same network is already working with Linux. Also Linux may not support this Cisco technology. What could help is connecting the computers to the same network, and then using one connection to the network instead of both wired + wireless.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6517
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby ronmat on Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:41 pm

Thanks Albertp,

Will have to seriously sit down and think what I want to do.

Nothing is simple but thanks anyways.
ronmat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:11 am

Re: WiFi and Wired won't work together?

Postby antibios on Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:27 am

I have the same issue with one difference. I am dual-booting with windows 8.1 and the same IP settings work on WIndows but not in Mint 15. My wireless works and when I plug in the wired connection the local intranet then works over the wire but it kills the wireless connection. It stays connected but I can no longer reach the internet. What appears to be happening is the wired connection is taking priority over the wireless. In windows there is a setting that sets adapter priority and I just had to set the wireless as 0 and the wired as 1(0 being before 1). Is there a way to set this in Mint?

EDIT: I figured it out. I had to go into "Routes" and set the IP addresses for my local machines and then set the box for "use this connection only for resources on this network"
antibios
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:22 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other networking topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests