Resolving URLs to IP addresses (SOLVED)

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Resolving URLs to IP addresses (SOLVED)

Postby pmanger on Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:46 pm

I am running Linux Mint 14 Cinnamon 64-bit in a dual-boot configuration with Windows 7 Pro 64-bit. The computer is part of a local area network. Another computer on the network is a Windows XP (32-bit) machine that is running an Apache 2 server, which I use to serve several test webpages. Here is my problem: I need to be able to access these webpages from a web browser running on Linux Mint, but I have to access them by URL. If I use the IP address, I only get the first webpage listed in the other machine's Apache vhosts.conf file. When I am running off of Windows in my dual-boot machine, this is no problem. To access a webpage on another computer on the LAN by URL, all I have to do is add (for example) a line to the C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts file:

192.168.1.9 pmtest.com

where the first term is the local IP address and the second is the URL. If I do the same thing in the /etc/hosts file in Linux Mint, it has no effect.
So, what am I missing?
Last edited by pmanger on Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
pmanger
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 6:30 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Resolving URLs to IP addresses

Postby DrHu on Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:15 pm

Well, the hosts file should work..
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hosts_(file)

http://www.accs-net.com/hosts/hostsforlinux.html
http://practice.chatserve.com/hosts.html
http://www.brighthub.com/computing/linu ... 72007.aspx

I would recheck the contents and see that it is the same or very similar to the windows one, except of course the paths will be different as the Linux client is not goring in exactly the same direction and with the same names as the windows client..
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6292
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: Resolving URLs to IP addresses (SOLVED)

Postby pmanger on Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:19 pm

My bad! All I had to do was reboot after adding the lines to the /etc/hosts file.
Sorry for wasting everyone's time. (And thanks for the quick response! This forum ROCKS!)
pmanger
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 6:30 pm


Return to Other networking topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests