Big bug with shutdown

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Big bug with shutdown

Postby davidMint on Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:44 am

I have a fresh install of Linux Mint KDE 14.
My first surprise is that I can not simply shutdown the system by clicking on the button "power off" : I have just two option : "suspend to RAM" or "suspend to disk". But where is the normal shutdown !?!

And the bug is : when I choose "shutdown" and wait the countdown, then it stops and never power on at all (neither the Bios is unreachable !). I fix temporary the problem when I put off the RAM and put it again...

So now I have to open a terminal and write shutdown -h now" to power off.

What can I do ?
davidMint
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 3:44 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Big bug with shutdown

Postby Armstrong on Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:51 pm

I just upgraded from Mint 13 KDE to Mint 14 KDE, and I am getting the same thing two boxes [Suspend to Ram and Suspend to Disc]. At this time, I am simply letting the timer count down to "0", at which point the system does shut down. Hopefully, someone will post a fix for this soon.
Slainte,
Hunter
Armstrong
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: Big bug with shutdown

Postby bigj231 on Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:01 pm

a (not great, but servicable) fix to try is just make an executable file with the shutdown command in it.
Running on a 4-slot toaster @ 60Hz
User avatar
bigj231
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 793
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:16 am
Location: Middle of Nowhere

Re: Big bug with shutdown

Postby davidMint on Sun Feb 17, 2013 4:36 am

bigj231 wrote:a (not great, but servicable) fix to try is just make an executable file with the shutdown command in it.

I will try but the shutdown command has to be launch as do: then what can I write ?
davidMint
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 3:44 am


Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests