can't configure docky

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

can't configure docky

Postby oscar279 on Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:35 pm

hey guy i installed docky from the terminal.
I used this dock before on xubuntu and didnt have problems, now when i install this dock i cant configure it. The options appeared to be disable , so i can modify the dock (3d look, hide when there is an open windows)

i just wanted to know if i did well or i just have to intall the ppa of the developer??

what do u suggest ???
oscar279
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:29 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: can't configure docky

Postby jungle_boy on Sat Feb 23, 2013 6:19 pm

I suggest you cairo-dock.
LM16 Cinnamon (PC); LM14 Cinnamon with AMD Catalyst (notebook)
HP Pavilion g4-1316br, AMD Quad Core, 1,5 GHz, Radeon 6520G/7450M,
Image
Linuxcounter Registered User #506065 (2008)
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest, Brazil

Re: can't configure docky

Postby excollier on Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:27 pm

+1
Registered Linux user #557695
Here's a snippet of real excitement:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kAPlnPtF ... 2cwvDhF-aw
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QflahNQMOgM
excollier
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Way off centre.

Re: can't configure docky

Postby oscar279 on Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:44 am

i tried it too, i installed it and it wasnt working well either

almost the same problem, when the cairo-dock appeared with all the icons i tried to eliminate one of them and the icon kept sticked to the screen , and there was a black rectangle that doesn't erase from the wallpaper so i uninstalled it

do u think that mint xfce doesnt have compatibility with this docks???

i was thinking on plank , but it is based on docky so maybe it would bring some problems too. Installing and configuring docky on xubuntu was so easy , i dont know what is this happening on linux mint 13 xfce, this distro is awesome but its very weird this docks issue.

Everything works well , got compiz effects , qjoypad , synapse ,caffeine, netflix, wine , pcsx, all this apps have no problems. I really like this distro but maybe i just use synapse to execute apps or the icons on the desktop to keeping it simple.
oscar279
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:29 pm

Re: can't configure docky

Postby jungle_boy on Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:58 pm

I am using cairo-dock with xfce14 in my netbook (see my signature); it works perfectly...

Remember that it is necessary a video graphic card working to run cairo-dock with openGl.
LM16 Cinnamon (PC); LM14 Cinnamon with AMD Catalyst (notebook)
HP Pavilion g4-1316br, AMD Quad Core, 1,5 GHz, Radeon 6520G/7450M,
Image
Linuxcounter Registered User #506065 (2008)
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest, Brazil

Re: can't configure docky

Postby usbtux on Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:02 pm

jungle_boy wrote:Remember that it is necessary a video graphic card working to run cairo-dock with openGl.


There's the answer
http://goo.gl/DXKgM useful tutorials for installing mint on USB drives.
http://www.usbtux.hostzi.com/
http://goo.gl/WFu0u Installing Mint - the screen cast videos.
linuxcounter #368850
Image
User avatar
usbtux
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:37 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: buytick, fusionex and 37 guests