installing xfce on dualboot, I lose win 7 on grub menu

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

installing xfce on dualboot, I lose win 7 on grub menu

Postby dduran1210 on Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:43 pm

Hello, I installed xfce 64bit on my primary computer with no problems. But I installed it on my second computer (which is identical to primary computer)
then on reboot, I only see xfce, recovery, memtest twice. no windows 7 option. so I deleted the xfce partition and swap partition, re-installed again
and still no windows 7 shows up on dualbooting. I compared the grub line for line on both computers and they are identical.
when installing from the dvd...does xfce "retain" any data from a prior install ? Do I need to download a new xfce copy?
dduran1210
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:47 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: installing xfce on dualboot, I lose win 7 on grub menu

Postby jungle_boy on Sun Feb 24, 2013 8:16 pm

Did you tried in terminal?

Code: Select all
sudo update-grub


Reboot.
LM17 Cinnamon (PC and Notebook) with AMD Catalyst
HP Pavilion g4-1316br, AMD Quad Core, 1,5 GHz, Radeon 6520G/7450M,
Image
Linuxcounter Registered User #506065 (2008)
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1215
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest, Brazil

Re: installing xfce on dualboot, I lose win 7 on grub menu

Postby dduran1210 on Sun Feb 24, 2013 8:34 pm

yes, did that both times after going into grub
dduran1210
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:47 am

Re: installing xfce on dualboot, I lose win 7 on grub menu

Postby bigj231 on Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:14 pm

You might have to edit your GRUB menu.
Code: Select all
sudo gedit /etc/default/grub
Look for tutorials online on how to setup the file.
Running on a 4-slot toaster @ 60Hz
User avatar
bigj231
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 793
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:16 am
Location: Middle of Nowhere


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: azizsader, Google Adsense [Bot], mbohets, OldWhiteBeard and 40 guests