Core 2 Duo T6600 seems slow

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Core 2 Duo T6600 seems slow

Postby 1251 on Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:49 am

After running Mint's benchmark utility, the results seem unusual to me.

    CPU Blowfish
    ------------

    -CPU Blowfish-
    <big><b>This Machine</b></big> 2200 MHz 7.835
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor 1.50GHz (null) 26.1876862
    PowerPC 740/750 (280.00MHz) (null) 172.816713

    CPU CryptoHash
    --------------

    -CPU CryptoHash-
    <big><b>This Machine</b></big> 2200 MHz 177.082

    CPU Fibonacci
    -------------

    -CPU Fibonacci-
    <big><b>This Machine</b></big> 2200 MHz 3.464
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor 1.50GHz (null) 8.1375674
    PowerPC 740/750 (280.00MHz) (null) 58.07682

    CPU N-Queens
    ------------

    -CPU N-Queens-
    <big><b>This Machine</b></big> 2200 MHz 11.371

    FPU FFT
    -------

    -FPU FFT-
    <big><b>This Machine</b></big> 2200 MHz 3.766

    FPU Raytracing
    --------------

    -FPU Raytracing-
    <big><b>This Machine</b></big> 2200 MHz 6.250
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor 1.50GHz (null) 40.8816714
    PowerPC 740/750 (280.00MHz) (null) 161.312647

Is this normal? Here are some hardware specs.

    System: Host lap Kernel 3.2.0-2-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Debian Edition
    CPU: Dual core Intel Core2 Duo T6600 (-MCP-) cache 2048 KB flags (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 ssse3) bmips 8777.64
    Clock Speeds: (1) 2200.00 MHz (2) 2200.00 MHz
    Graphics: Card ATI Device 9488 X.Org 1.11.4 Res: 1280x800@60.0hz
    GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on AMD RV730 GLX Version 2.1 Mesa 7.11.2 Direct Rendering Yes
    Audio: Card-1 ATI RV710/730 HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 4000 series] driver snd_hda_intel BusID: 01:00.1
    Card-2 Intel 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller driver snd_hda_intel BusID: 00:1b.0
    Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.24
    Network: Card-1 Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI at port e800 BusID: 06:00.0
    Card-2 Atheros AR928X Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) driver ath9k BusID: 03:00.0
    Disks: HDD Total Size: 320.1GB (-) 1: /dev/sda ST9320423AS 320.1GB
    Partition: ID:/ size: 292G used: 9.7G (4%) fs: rootfs ID:/ size: 292G used: 9.7G (4%) fs: ext4
    ID:swap-1 size: 6.24GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
    Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 63.0C mobo: N/A
    Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
    Info: Processes 139 Uptime 2:04 Memory 562.4/3967.9MB Runlevel 2 Client Shell inxi 1.4.23

I am very new to this btw.
1251
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:25 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Core 2 Duo T6600 seems slow

Postby catweazel on Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:54 am

1251 wrote:I am very new to this btw.

Type this in a terminal:
Code: Select all
uname -a

Post the output here. Also state what flavour and version of Mint you have.
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Core 2 Duo T6600 seems slow

Postby 1251 on Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:26 am

Linux lap 3.2.0-2-amd64 #1 SMP Sun Mar 4 22:48:17 UTC 2012 x86_64 GNU/Linux

The ISO stated to be 201204 64-bit MATE. Is this what you are referring to?
1251
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:25 am

Re: Core 2 Duo T6600 seems slow

Postby zerozero on Sun Feb 24, 2013 7:37 am

first of all the system is not fully updated: 3.2.0-2-amd64 is 2 releases behind the latest kernel available in lmde.
please update
Code: Select all
apt update && apt dist-upgrade
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6472
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Core 2 Duo T6600 seems slow

Postby 1251 on Sun Feb 24, 2013 8:20 am

During updating, it's asking me about `/etc/bash.bashrc': install the package maintainer's version or keep your currently-installed version, the default option.

Is it ok to proceed with this update??
1251
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:25 am

Re: Core 2 Duo T6600 seems slow

Postby zerozero on Sun Feb 24, 2013 8:23 am

you're going to have several of those questions: if you chose keep it will be ok
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6472
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Core 2 Duo T6600 seems slow

Postby 1251 on Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:28 am

The update appeared successful :D . I rebooted, then selected 3.2.0-4 under GRUB. Retested benchmark, with results indicating no improvement. Should I get out while I'm ahead? :lol:
1251
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:25 am

Re: Core 2 Duo T6600 seems slow

Postby zerozero on Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:42 pm

1251 wrote:Should I get out while I'm ahead? :lol:
:lol:
the only thing that i wonder is if those benchmarks can be considered reliable?
i think i used that some looong time ago so my memory re: the subject is not the best but don't you have a note next to the results saying "less is better" or something in that wording?
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6472
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Core 2 Duo T6600 seems slow

Postby 1251 on Mon Feb 25, 2013 1:30 am

Well, would you look at that. I didn't even see that. Hehe. :roll: I just compared the results to my 8+ year old Anthlon 64 3300+ and it didn't differ in some tests so that's why I was a little confused. I guess I should only take the results with a grain of salt. I learned a couple of things and I updated my system so I'm happy. :mrgreen: Thanks for the help!
1251
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:25 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TurnitinBot [Bot] and 3 guests