Rsync GUI for backup not mounted error

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Rsync GUI for backup not mounted error

Postby amarumayo on Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:03 pm

Hi all,

I am on Mint14 and I am trying to get a backup working with luckyBackup which is an Rsync GUI. I have selected the source and destination however when I try to run the backup it tells me my external HD is not mounted even though I am sure that it is mounted. The command that it is running is below. Can anyone see what is the problem or what I may do to fix this.

rsync -h --progress --stats -r -tgo -p -l -D --update --delete-after /home/bird/test_backup /media/bird/My\ Passport/test_backup/

and the error I get is:

Destination directory: /media/bird/My Passport/test_backup/
is not mounted.
This task will be skipped.

When I run the command from the terminal it works fine.

Thanks in advance,
Chris
amarumayo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 6:06 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Rsync GUI for backup not mounted error

Postby usbtux on Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:48 pm

I had a very similar prob - I think I had to rename my WD - "My Book" to My_Book that is put an underscore (shift minus) in place of the space.
In Cinnamon use disk utility to rename volume label.


Make sure to Empty rubish bin or via /home/YOURNAME/.local/share/Trash
Here's mine -

time rsync -r -t -v --progress -u -z -s --exclude VirtualBox* --exclude Dropbox --exclude Downloads --exclude .wine --exclude .Play* /media/MY_BOOK/mint13backup/home/
http://goo.gl/DXKgM LinuxMint tutorials.
Running LinuxMint 17 Cinnamon/KDE/XFCE
http://goo.gl/WFu0u Installing Mint - the screen cast videos.
linuxcounter #368850
Image
User avatar
usbtux
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 963
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:37 am

Re: Rsync GUI for backup not mounted error

Postby kyphi on Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:56 pm

Your destination path is puzzling: /media/bird/My Passport/test_backup

Should it not be: /media/nameofdrive/test_backup

Since USB drives automount, what is the name of the external drive given on your Desktop? If it is My Passport then enclose the name in quotation marks.
User avatar
kyphi
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 832
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 1:14 am
Location: Australia

Re: Rsync GUI for backup not mounted error

Postby amarumayo on Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:35 am

Thanks for the replies, I decided to use GRsync instead as it works flawlessly. Usbtux's solution may very well work, but I have not tried it. @ kyphi, the mount destination I listed for my external HD is the correct one.

Thanks again for your suggestions.
amarumayo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 6:06 pm

Re: Rsync GUI for backup not mounted error

Postby Vortice104 on Mon Jul 15, 2013 2:44 pm

Hi,

I had the same problem you had, and I think I solved it calling the "source folder" with the same name of the "destination folder".

When I change the name, it gives me the error, so I guess that it is a bug or maybe it has been made for safety reasons (?).

Cheers,
Vortice104
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 2:37 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], bmb0205, Google Adsense [Bot], I2k4, killer de bug, mandoman, mtzlplex and 44 guests