(Q) How to make Plymouth work in LMDE?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

(Q) How to make Plymouth work in LMDE?

Postby roger64 on Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:06 pm

Hi

I have been a LMDE 64 user for over one year. I checked the new iso and realized I did not have Plymouth. I installed it but it told me something is missing (see screenshot):

I think I have multiarch:

Code: Select all
roger@lmde64:~$ dpkg --print-foreign-architectures
i386
roger@lmde64:~$


Plymouth is not working yet. I still enjoy many lines of text... :D
Any idea how to make Plymouth working?
Attachments
capture-09-43.png
capture-09-43.png (43.96 KiB) Viewed 599 times
roger64
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: (Q) How to make Plymouth work in LMDE?

Postby lmx on Tue Feb 26, 2013 3:47 am

well,
i haven't tested it...at the moment no spare time... :(, i think that the new images will be released in 03/2013.

Wait for someone that undestand french, i really don sorry. :(

regards
Regards
lmx
lmx
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 4:11 pm

Re: (Q) How to make Plymouth work in LMDE?

Postby zerozero on Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:15 am

this viewtopic.php?f=189&t=78495 might help you
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: (Q) How to make Plymouth work in LMDE?

Postby roger64 on Tue Feb 26, 2013 7:04 am

Hi

@zerozero

Thanks for the link. I had done everything and found the probable reason why it's not working for me:

Are you using smxi to install proprietary drivers?

SMXI activates the drivers after the bootscreen, so it won't work for proprietary drivers installed via smxi (I have an nvidia system with the same problem)


I do not remember exactly how I installed this proprietary driver but it could be I used SMXI... Too bad. I do not know how they did with the new iso that I tested on a free partition but Plymouth was working there. But OTOH to install everything on a new partition is a little too much work... LMDE is about NOT reinstalling.
roger64
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: (Q) How to make Plymouth work in LMDE?

Postby zerozero on Tue Feb 26, 2013 7:08 am

roger64 wrote: LMDE is about NOT reinstalling.
very true :D and in the end of the day is just a nice bootsplash that you see for some seconds :lol:
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests