Problems with Wi-Fi and Lenovo G580 (Broadcom 4313)

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Problems with Wi-Fi and Lenovo G580 (Broadcom 4313)

Postby MajorPain931 on Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:56 am

Hi guys,

I got a problem with my Lenovo G580 (Broadcom 4313) and Linux.
On Windows I can see about 10 different wifis in my room.
On Linux I dont see any. When I'm sitting directly next to my router I have about 50% signal quality but at least it works with +10mb/s.
When I'm moving away I still can see my wifi with 30%+ but he has problems on connecting. He says he's connecting for 10 seconds and then I get an error, that I've been disconnected. After 4 or 5 metres I can't see it anymore.
The driver (bcma) seems to work but the signal quality is really bad, like if the networks card is restricted to 10% of the power or something like that...
I've read, that the proprietary driver from broadcom seems to work fine for the 4313, so I checked it out.
I've already read (In the ubuntu wiki), that I have to deactivate bcma and two different drivers and I did it as described in the wiki. But the sta-driver still seems to have a conflict with a driver, so it doesn't start.
Does anybody know, what I still can do, either get bcma to work fine or get the sta-driver to work? And yes, I already tryed google...
I'm still relatively new to Linux, so plz be tolerant ^.^

PS: Sorry for my bad english

mintWifi output (When the router is REALLY next to my laptop):

Code: Select all
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
  -- Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller (rev 01)
      ==> PCI ID = 14e4:4727 (rev 01)
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
lo        no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:"XXXXXXXXX" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.422 GHz  Access Point: DC:9F:DB:00:C4:03   
          Bit Rate=52 Mb/s   Tx-Power=19 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=52/70  Signal level=-58 dBm 
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:26705  Invalid misc:4092   Missed beacon:0

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436XXXXXXXXXXX  Metric:1
          RX packets:1654 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1654 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:168896 (168.8 KB)  TX bytes:168896 (168.8 KB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr c0:14:3d:cc:27:cb 
          inet addr:172.31.254.244  Bcast:172.31.254.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::c214:3dff:fecc:27cb/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:244349 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:153692 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:350152440 (350.1 MB)  TX bytes:15322547 (15.3 MB)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
Rather than invoking init scripts through /etc/init.d, use the service(8)
utility, e.g. service smbd reload

Since the script you are attempting to invoke has been converted to an
Upstart job, you may also use the reload(8) utility, e.g. reload smbd
RTNETLINK answers: File exists
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
Server:      208.67.222.222
Address:   208.67.222.222#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.44.4
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.44.1
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.44.0
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.44.14
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.44.2
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.44.9
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.44.8
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.44.7
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.44.6
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.44.3
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.44.5
MajorPain931
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:44 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Problems with Wi-Fi and Lenovo G580 (Broadcom 4313)

Postby bigj231 on Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:13 am

What is the output of:
Code: Select all
iwconfig
and
Code: Select all
inxi -S

Just type that into the terminal and post the output back here.

Also, have you searched Google for something along the lines of "Broadcom 4313 ubuntu"

EDIT: I found this link in another thread on this very forum:http://www.howopensource.com/2012/10/install-broadcom-sta-wireless-driver-in-ubuntu-12-10-12-04/
Running on a 4-slot toaster @ 60Hz
User avatar
bigj231
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 793
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:16 am
Location: Middle of Nowhere

Re: Problems with Wi-Fi and Lenovo G580 (Broadcom 4313)

Postby MajorPain931 on Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:37 am

The output of iwconfig already is in the code in my first post, but I can do it again:
When I have wi-fi:
Code: Select all
wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:"XXXXXXXXXXX" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.422 GHz  Access Point: DC:9F:DB:00:C4:03   
          Bit Rate=58.5 Mb/s   Tx-Power=19 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=57/70  Signal level=-53 dBm 
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:400  Invalid misc:219   Missed beacon:0

When I can see it but it doesn't connect:
Code: Select all
wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:off/any 
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Power Management:off   

And inxi -s:
Code: Select all
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 54.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A


And I am pretty sure, that when I follow the steps on the page you've posted, I have a driver conflict again...
Last time I didn't manage to get my old settings back and I had to reinstall Linux... So plz tell me, when I have the driver conflict again, how I can get rid of the broadcom driver, because I dont want to reinstall again :( ... Last time "sudo apt-get remove broadcom-sta-common" (That was the driver I tryed) didnt work, the driver still was in my system and caused the conflict...
I have to ask before I do it, because when I do it and I have a driver conflict, I don't have any internet to ask it :D
And unfortunately I don't have my usb stick with Linux at the moment (For reinstallation). At about 19:00 I have it back

IMPORTANT EDIT: My usb stick returned earlier so I gave it a try and that driver worked for me! Thank you very much. Seems like the other driver was bugged somehow.
the thread can be closed
MajorPain931
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:44 pm


Return to Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests