think HUD will ever land on cinnamon?

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint

think HUD will ever land on cinnamon?

Postby vayth on Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:52 am

or maybe some 3rd party/optional like KDE's Appmenu runner? or maybe it's something I miss that already exist?

just curious, since that's the only thing I miss from unity.. :roll:
vayth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:09 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: think HUD will ever land on cinnamon?

Postby viking777 on Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:21 pm

Do you really mean the HUD? :shock: I use Unity every minute that I can, I'm using it now, and I love it, but even as a confirmed fan I can find no earthly use for a HUD, and it is not for the want of trying, I have spent hours staring at the thing thinking "What on earth can I do with this?" but I never get an answer. Are you sure you don't mean the Dash? That is useful right enough (provided you disable the Amazon search results :evil: ), but not particularly more useful than the Cinnamon menu. What really makes Unity so good is the launcher, and more specifically the launcher quicklists. But I must say even that could be dramatically improved by reinstating the 'Dodge Windows' option the removal of which must count as the biggest own goal in the history of Linux.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: think HUD will ever land on cinnamon?

Postby vayth on Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:17 am

well, it came to me when I was trying libre office. since I'm used to ribbon and haven't touch old menu style, I think it would help to have a HUD with formatting or something.
although, the only thing I can think of is for office and other heavy menu oriented.. it's rather useless with something like browser.
and, yeah, Dash would be awesome too..

launcher... well, it's a bit hard to customize when I used 12.04 (having to edit .desktop and all. maybe it's just me who was unaware of the easy way if there's any), and look so.. square block.. a border.. I admit that quicklist is interesting, but I prefer cairo dock or something as I use in my mint for that..
vayth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:09 am

Re: think HUD will ever land on cinnamon?

Postby viking777 on Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:03 am

I see your point, but my problem with the Hud is that it can never replace menus for me because it requires you to remember what is in a particular programs menus before you can search for it - my memory is not good enough for that! The most heavily menued program I use regularly is Abiword, in order to search for an Abiword menu item in the Hud I first have to search through Abiword's menus to see what it is I want to find and then type it into the Hud. When I do that it works, certainly, but it all seems kind of pointless as I could have just clicked that menu item when I first found it. There is no way I will - ever - remember all the menu items in Abiword so if the menus disappeared (and I think that is what Canonical are looking at) my only option would be to write them all down like I do for the command line - or use another desktop environment. The whole idea just doesn't make sense to me.

As for it landing on Cinnamon, I wouldn't think it is on the horizon, but you should never say never :)
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: think HUD will ever land on cinnamon?

Postby Dngrsone on Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:50 am

Viking777, I am imagining a terrible yet elegant solution for your problem. Yet implementation would be difficult, I think-- have some form of key word list, such as that used by WordPress, where most used words (or in your case, commands) show larger than the litle used ones and have that overlay the background on your desktop.
User avatar
Dngrsone
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:18 pm

Re: think HUD will ever land on cinnamon?

Postby viking777 on Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:57 am

I appreciate you thinking of me Dngrsone, but as yet I have no need of such a solution, the menus are still there and I can still look through them. Should they ever disappear for good I think just not using Unity would be an easier solution. A shame because I like it, but without menus afaiac Unity would be dead. Luckily Cinnamon is a pretty good alternative and has no plans to remove menus that I am aware of. :)
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: think HUD will ever land on cinnamon?

Postby tdockery97 on Sun Mar 03, 2013 9:32 am

@viking777: Fortunately there are plenty of talented individuals out there that are willing to provide us with nifty items such as putting the global menu back into things like LibreOffice, Abiword, and such.

And by the way, depending on which verstion of launcher you are using, there is a fix for the launcher dodging windows. It even worked in the latest development version until a few days ago. I'm sure they'll catch up with it again soon.
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4916
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: think HUD will ever land on cinnamon?

Postby dee. on Sun Mar 03, 2013 9:43 am

Isn't the HUD closely integrated with Unity?
dee.
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:29 pm

Re: think HUD will ever land on cinnamon?

Postby viking777 on Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:19 am

And by the way, depending on which verstion of launcher you are using, there is a fix for the launcher dodging windows. It even worked in the latest development version until a few days ago. I'm sure they'll catch up with it again soon.


Tell you what Todd, if you know something that I don't about this I would dearly love you to share it with me. I only know of 2 ppa projects that supposedly restore this behaviour, unity-revamped which works with dual monitors but doesn't work with Ubuntu 12.10 and unity-dodge-windows which works with 12.10 but not with dual monitors. I have both 12.10 and dual monitors and therefore still have no solution that works for me, I would love to find one is you know something different.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Chat about Linux Mint

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests