A real challenge, LMDE 64 bit 4Gb RAM detected

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

A real challenge, LMDE 64 bit 4Gb RAM detected

Postby Rayeta76 on Sun Mar 03, 2013 9:37 pm

Hi all;
I return again to the fray with something I do not like is that my LMDE does not recognize my 4GB of RAM.
Whit command down verification the system is 64 bits.
Code: Select all
javier@lmde ~ $ inxi -F
System:    Host lmde Kernel 3.7.0-8.dmz.1-liquorix-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro LinuxMint 1 debian
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core2 6400 (-MCP-) cache 2048 KB flags (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 vmx) bmips 8573.62
           Clock Speeds: (1) 1600.00 MHz (2) 1600.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card NVIDIA GT216 [GeForce GT 220] X.Org 1.12.4 Res: 1280x1024@75.0hz
           GLX Renderer GeForce GT 220/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version 3.3.0 NVIDIA 313.18 Direct Rendering Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver snd_hda_intel BusID: 00:1b.0
           Card-2 NVIDIA High Definition Audio Controller driver snd_hda_intel BusID: 01:00.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version k3.7.0-8.dmz.1-liquorix-amd64
Network:   Card Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI at port a000 BusID: 04:00.0
Disks:     HDD Total Size: 1370.3GB (11.0% used) 1: /dev/sda OCZ 120.0GB
           2: /dev/sdb MAXTOR_STM325082 250.1GB 3: /dev/sdc WDC_WD10EADS 1000.2GB
Partition: ID:/ size: 29G used: 6.2G (23%) fs: rootfs ID:/ size: 29G used: 6.2G (23%) fs: ext4
           ID:/home size: 80G used: 22G (29%) fs: ext4 ID:swap-1 size: 2.10GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 49.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:29C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes 153 Uptime 22 min Memory 1095.3/3009.1MB Runlevel 2 Client Shell inxi 1.4.23


Code: Select all
javier@lmde ~ $ uname -a
Linux lmde 3.7.0-8.dmz.1-liquorix-amd64 #1 ZEN SMP PREEMPT Fri Feb 15 22:48:18 UTC 2013 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Code: Select all
javier@lmde ~ $ free -m
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          3009       1838       1170          0         57        675
-/+ buffers/cache:       1106       1902
Swap:         1999          0       1999
javier@lmde ~ $


For me the problem is the bios motherboard, read this note of manual the motherboard:

Due to standard PC architecture, a certain amount of memory is reserved for system usage
and therefore the actual memory size is less than the stated amount. For example, 4 GB of
memory size will instead be shown as 3.xx GB memory during system startup.


My motherboard:
GA-945P-S3
Intel®CoreTM2 Extreme / CoreTM2 Duo Intel®Pentium®D / Pentium®
4 LGA775 Processor Motherboard
Link manual motherboard: ftp://download.gigabyte.ru/manual/mothe ... p_s3_e.pdf

The version bios is the ultimate official. ¿ It's possible upgrade bios unofficial ?
Image
User avatar
Rayeta76
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:02 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: A real challenge, LMDE 64 bit 4Gb RAM detected

Postby autocrosser on Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:22 pm

I only know about the "unofficial" Gigabyte thread on TweakTown: http://forums.tweaktown.com/gigabyte/28 ... ios-2.html

Take a look at the bottom & you will find a beta bios for your board.....

I hope this will help you.

Cheers!!!!
Autocrosser
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests