nVidia NV 4200M and color temperature

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

nVidia NV 4200M and color temperature

Postby Talegolas on Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:55 pm

Hi,

been having issues trying to make flux work so i decided to uninstall it and give it a try to changing the actual color myself through the nVidia X Server Settings.

Problem is, that no matter what i change, it does not get reflected!.. any idea why this might be happening? I try to change each of the color channels separatedly, no chnge.. all together..no change..i even try to change the brightness through cinammon preferences "brightness and lock" and it does not change!.

Please help as my eyes are already burning from having too much brightness on my laptop.

thanks

PS: FFS!, not even the function key and brightness option on my lap's keyboard works..
Talegolas
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:31 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: nVidia NV 4200M and color temperature

Postby catweazel on Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:02 am

flux

Rubbish app, only good for Windwoes. Use redshift.
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install redshift gtk-redshift


Run startup apps and create a command line:

gtk-redshift -l <LAT>:<LONG>

where <LAT>:<LONG> is the latitude and longitude of your location. Google will give it to you.
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: nVidia NV 4200M and color temperature

Postby Talegolas on Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:50 am

Thanks.

i did see the redshift option out there while googling for an answer. I thought that regardless of the tool it would still fail as even the Mint tool to reduce brightness is failing.

I'll give it a try and let you know the outcome.
Talegolas
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:31 pm

Re: nVidia NV 4200M and color temperature

Postby Talegolas on Wed Mar 06, 2013 7:09 pm

excellent.. it worked.

now, not sure what you meant by creating a start up command, and i did not have to use the parameter as it uses geoclue to find out my current location...scary.

interestingly enough, the Redshift item was added to the accessories menu, but when i run it, it does not do a thing. I had to run the command line from a terminal gtk-redshift for my screen to turn redish.. any thoughts here?...

further testing... i quit the command line program and (obviously) the redish went away... so then i re-run the application added in the accessories menu and now it works. so i am all set i guess

Thank you!
Talegolas
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:31 pm

Re: nVidia NV 4200M and color temperature

Postby catweazel on Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:41 am

You're welcome.

about the startup command. Check in the menu for Startup Applications. You can run gtk-redshift from there so you don't have to manually start it.
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: nVidia NV 4200M and color temperature

Postby Talegolas on Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:50 am

Thank you.

I got it last night.. was not sure i was following your instructions but that migth been what you meant. I added gtk-redshift to the "startup applications" and created a config file for it too.

The automatic checking for location does not seem to always work even from the same network!. the gtk part should have some type of feedback in the GUI to tell the user "no, i cannot locate your place".. or something telling the user that it failed to start. I was scratching my head wondering why it just did nothing the first times i launched gtk from the accesories menu.

anyway, i love it. thanks again!
Talegolas
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:31 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests