<SOLVED> Getting my BCM43227 Working in Cinnamon

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

<SOLVED> Getting my BCM43227 Working in Cinnamon

Postby QuotidianMe2 on Fri Mar 08, 2013 1:49 pm

I've installed Cinnamon 14 today. When I had switched from LMDE 13 to the main XFCE 13 edition, I used the advice I had gotten here http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=194&t=111716&p=624711#p624711 and it worked. However, trying to do the same today failed for me. All seemed to go well till I got to
Code: Select all
# modprobe wl
whereupon I was told I had no wl, reconfirmed by
Code: Select all
# iwconfig
.

So, where've I gone astray?

Oh, here's the output from inxi -fx, as that seemed to be helpful previously.

Dual core Intel Core i5-2430M CPU (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB bmips: 9577.46
Clock Speeds: 1: 800.00 MHz 2: 800.00 MHz 3: 800.00 MHz 4: 800.00 MHz
CPU Flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts
acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good
nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1
sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx lahf_lm ida arat epb xsaveopt pln pts dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority
ept vpid


Thanks in advance!
Last edited by QuotidianMe2 on Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
QuotidianMe2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:23 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Getting my BCM43227 Working in Cinnamon

Postby QuotidianMe2 on Fri Mar 08, 2013 4:00 pm

I suppose I could just dump Nadia and go back to xfce 13 --- since that worked until I borked it following an incomplete tut about installing NVidia drivers found elsewhere on this forum.

So, no one has any advice on fixing this?
QuotidianMe2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Getting my BCM43227 Working in Cinnamon

Postby AlbertP on Fri Mar 08, 2013 4:09 pm

Could you post the output of inxi -N? The network data was not shown in your output since you used a lowercase f instead of a capital F.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Getting my BCM43227 Working in Cinnamon

Postby QuotidianMe2 on Fri Mar 08, 2013 4:26 pm

Albert, yes, absolutely. Unfortunately I'll have to wait to use my parents (only) ethernet cable to get online in linux, so it will be within the hour, I expect. (I'm helping my dad scan his mal-ware ridden Windows box.) I'm using my Win7 partition to get on the wireless at the moment ... actually, let me try getting that info and saving it on a thumbdrive or this partition in a text file.
QuotidianMe2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Getting my BCM43227 Working in Cinnamon

Postby QuotidianMe2 on Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:13 pm

Here ya go Albert.

~ $ inxi -n
Network: Card-1: Broadcom BCM43227 802.11b/g/n
IF: N/A state: N/A mac: N/A
Card-2: Broadcom NetLink BCM57785 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe driver: tg3
IF: eth0 state: down mac: b8:70:f4:f0:f8:10
QuotidianMe2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Getting my BCM43227 Working in Cinnamon

Postby AlbertP on Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:28 pm

Ok, so you already installed the Broadcom STA driver for your device? If not please connect to ethernet and install it from Software Sources on the last tab.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Getting my BCM43227 Working in Cinnamon

Postby QuotidianMe2 on Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:02 pm

I have broadcom-sta-dkms installed, should I have broadcom-sta-common?
QuotidianMe2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Getting my BCM43227 Working in Cinnamon

Postby QuotidianMe2 on Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:43 pm

Ahhhh, I see what you're saying. Its a bit buried, but the path is

Menu > System Tools > System Settings > System > Software Sources

And LO! There it is Broadcom Corporation's driver. It appears to be the sort of thing that used to automatically come up to announce this or that driver could be used. (Bit buried isn't it?)

Nevertheless, yes, that has fixed it! A hearty thank you, indeed.
QuotidianMe2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:23 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests