Where are Compiz packages in LMDE UP6 ?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Where are Compiz packages in LMDE UP6 ?

Postby mark1mint on Wed Mar 13, 2013 6:32 am

I've just booted the LMDE UP6 CD to see what's what,and I haven't been able to find in the repos the Compiz packages I'm currently using in my disk installation of LMDE:what gives ? Has Compiz been removed from the LMDE repo ?
mark1mint
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 4:36 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Where are Compiz packages in LMDE UP6 ?

Postby zerozero on Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:01 am

i believe you are talking about the new lmde 201303 rc iso, right?
yes, compiz was removed from debian testing, it's on sid tho
http://packages.debian.org/search?suite ... rds=compiz
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6485
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Where are Compiz packages in LMDE UP6 ?

Postby mark1mint on Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:25 pm

Yes,that 201303 rc iso exactly...I kinda suspected that something had changed in Debian,but I asked to make sure I wasn't missing something obvious...
So,if you don't mind the next dumb question,the only way to currently use that Compiz packages in LMDE would be to modify the software sources to track sid,or can it be done in some other way ?
Like,say,downloading and installing every single package with dpkg -i ?
mark1mint
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 4:36 pm

Re: Where are Compiz packages in LMDE UP6 ?

Postby GeneC on Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:56 pm

Mark

You dont have to track SID, per se. Just temporarily enable it, install Compiz (and extras), then delete or comment out the SID repo.

Code: Select all
deb http://http.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free

Its what I did many moons ago.
Code: Select all
gene@lmdeup6:~$ apt-cache policy compiz
compiz:
  Installed: 0.8.4-5.2
  Candidate: 0.8.4-5.2
  Version table:
 *** 0.8.4-5.2 0
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Where are Compiz packages in LMDE UP6 ?

Postby mark1mint on Thu Mar 14, 2013 3:27 am

Excellent,thanks for the suggestion.
mark1mint
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 4:36 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests