Bug in tomboy ?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Bug in tomboy ?

Postby mark1mint on Sat Dec 08, 2012 8:15 am

Whilst playing around with Easystroke and trying to add a new gesture for opening a new Tomboy note,I've discovered that the tomboy --new-note command only works if tomboy itself is not running yet,otherwise it brings up the main search window again (from the minimized state),the terminal output looks like that:
Code: Select all
tomboy --new-note

(Tomboy:6447): libtomboy-WARNING **: Binding '<Alt>F11' failed!


(Tomboy:6447): libtomboy-WARNING **: Binding '<Alt>F12' failed!

[INFO 13:13:07.401] Initializing Mono.Addins
[ERROR 13:13:07.750] Tomboy is already running.  Exiting...


whilst the output when successfully opening a new note (when Tomboy is not launched yet) gives the following warning :
Code: Select all
 tomboy --new-note
[INFO 13:13:25.084] Initializing Mono.Addins

(Tomboy:6452): GdkPixbuf-WARNING **: GdkPixbufLoader finalized without calling gdk_pixbuf_loader_close() - this is not allowed. You must explicitly end the data stream to the loader before dropping the last reference.


I may be wrong but that seems a buggy behavior to me,any idea on what is actually going on ?
Should I file a bug on Launchpad?
mark1mint
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 4:36 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Bug in tomboy ?

Postby xenopeek on Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:58 am

There's no point in submitting this bug on Launchpad, assuming you mean Linux Mint's Launchpad. Upstream bugs you should submit upstream. Please only use Linux Mint's Launchpad to submit bugs in Linux Mint developed software (though use GitHub for Cinnamon), not for software developed in other projects. Tomboy bugs go here: https://live.gnome.org/Tomboy/Bugs. Note that Tomboy also has an IRC and a mailing list (https://live.gnome.org/Tomboy), you might want try to those before submitting a bug. And of course search their bug database for existing similar bugs first.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14735
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Bug in tomboy ?

Postby mark1mint on Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:21 pm

Ok,there was no bug reported for this,it is reproducible easily both on my LMDE installation and in a virtualbox,so I've filed one.
It looks a bit weird to submit a bug to Gnome for a bug actually happening in MATE,I don't know how well they will play along with a fork of a dismissed version of their own desktop,but I'm maybe overthinking this ;).
mark1mint
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 4:36 pm

Re: Bug in tomboy ?

Postby lunatico on Thu Mar 14, 2013 11:09 am

Same issue happens when doing:
tomboy --open-note "Some Note"
User avatar
lunatico
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:00 pm

Launch Tomboy from Panel.

Postby GeneC on Thu Mar 14, 2013 11:51 am

I am not sure if this is any help to anyone or not but I keep 'Tomboy' icon on my panel.
As you can see it will lauch notes, search, and create new ones.

Image

To get the icon on the panel. Set it to auto-launch. I am using XFCE so adjust for your particular DE.

The command is
Code: Select all
tomboy --icon


Image
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon/XFCE)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
Sparky Cin 2.2 (SID)
OpenSUSE 13.1 (Gnome)
Evolve OS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1559
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Bug in tomboy ?

Postby mark1mint on Fri Mar 15, 2013 3:14 pm

https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=689964

I see the same behavior in Mint 13 Mate,too.
mark1mint
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 4:36 pm

Re: Bug in tomboy ?

Postby jcoles on Sun Jan 26, 2014 8:05 am

Has any solution been found? As GeneC illustrated, the Tomboy menu was available in Mint 14 (MATE), integrated into the Notification Area. It functioned exactly the same as it does in the Windows version of Tomboy. In 16, there is no Tomboy icon in the Notification Area. You can add Tomboy to a panel, of course. But this always opens the Search window, making access to existing notes less convenient. Has anyone figured out a hack that restores the functionality we have lost?
jcoles
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:22 pm

Re: Bug in tomboy ?

Postby mark1mint on Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:19 am

Exactly,that's really annoying-and,having also tried Debian stable with Mate,I can see that the exact same bug is still there.
mark1mint
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 4:36 pm

Re: Bug in tomboy ?

Postby jcoles on Wed Feb 26, 2014 8:27 pm

Success! I added "Indicator Applet" to the panel. The tomboy pin icon appeared if Tomboy was running. The Dropbox icon also appears in this applet. Then I added tomboy to the Startup Applications list. Don't use the --panel-applet option, just "tomboy".

For me, the problem is likely due to me re-using my /home folder from Mint 14. Just today, I tried creating a new user account and found that the new user got the tomboy pin icon. The Indicator Applet is default but was not part of my old panel. In Mint 14, the Notification Area included tomboy.
jcoles
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:22 pm

Re: Bug in tomboy ?

Postby mark1mint on Tue May 13, 2014 11:04 am

Do you mean that after adding "tomboy" to Startup Applications,this issue is solved?
I mean,if you give the
Code: Select all
tomboy --new-note
command (either from terminal or by mouse gesture) when tomboy is already running,you don't get the
Code: Select all
Tomboy is already running.  Exiting...
error?
mark1mint
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 4:36 pm

Re: Bug in tomboy ?

Postby mark1mint on Wed Jun 18, 2014 9:26 am

I've tried to add tomboy to startup applications,I don't think we're talking about the same issue,as this hasn't solved the bug I've originally reported.
mark1mint
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 4:36 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests