Installation with two existing RAID arrays

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Installation with two existing RAID arrays

Postby kernelpanic on Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:59 pm

I want to install Linux Mint KDE on my Desktop, while keeping the RAID setup I have untouched.
I use linux on other computers - my skill level is medium, but I've never used RAID on it before.
I currently have two SSDs on RAID 0, and three HDDs on RAID 5. The first one currently has Windows 7, and the second one has all my personal files.
If possible, dual booting Windows and Linux on the first array would be great, but if not it doesn't matter.

Relevant specs:
64-bit AMD CPU
16 GiB RAM
MSI 990FXA-GD65 Motherboard (AMD 990FX + SB950 chipset)
2x 60 GB OCZ SATA II SSD
3x 2TB WD SATA II HDD

Thanks!
kernelpanic
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:37 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Installation with two existing RAID arrays

Postby catweazel on Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:36 am

I don't know if it will work or not but you can try to assemble the arrays using mdadm. You can do this from the LiveCD.

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install mdadm
sudo mdadm --assemble --scan

If mdadm returns two /md devices, one for each RAID set then it worked.

You won't be able to install linux directly to a RAID set. You'll have to install it preferably to a separate drive, or to a partition, then rsync the install to a partition on the RAID set. You will also have to configure GrUB to get it to boot.

In addition, because your RAID0 set already exists, you will find that you can't install anything to it without backing up, making separate partitions for linux and Windwoes, then restoring Windwoes from the backup into the now smaller Windwoes partition.

This is a link to a tutorial I put together for RAID0 from scratch. You may find it useful.
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Installation with two existing RAID arrays

Postby kernelpanic on Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:53 pm

Thanks - I tried mdadm before but not --assemble. Maybe this will work.
kernelpanic
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:37 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andrejfavia, incoggnito, PatH57, semicolon, sumitra and 11 guests